Menu
Reply
worsley
  • 21
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
275 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Slow Speed

Hi All, 

What i'm about to say might sound a tad petty how ever i'm paying for something i'm yet to see.

My package is the ultimate oomph. When I signed up to virgin I did all the postcode tests etc and that told me I could get the M500 broadband, I signed up to that package but i'm yet to see anywhere near them numbers. so I run speed tests randomly through out the day or night mainly wired direct with a CAT 6 cable, I see numbers anywhere between 150 mbps and at the top end around the 350 mbps which again is not stable but still good. Wireless results are between 15 mbps and 30 mbps. I have since looked on the Virgin website to see if I can upgrade my internet speed as the cable to the house is brand new it was installed on the 23rd of January this year, when I checked what I could have in my house virgin is now telling me the m350 is the top package I can get which ties in with my top numbers. I've spoken to Virgin and I've had an engineer out to fix the poor wireless speed and check the wired speed, nothing was fixed and i'm left with something i'm paying for yet not receiving. I have done all the obvious fixes yet nothing fixes my slow speed. 

Tried so far, 

Restarting the rooter.

Resetting the rooter.

Disabling any traffic management tools such as Game first.

Checked the network adapter drivers and speed duplex settings

Checked router settings.

Everything I'm looking at seems correct and scrolling the forums I can't find anything else to try. I'm just thinking that something is going on with Virgin telling me I can now only get the M350 and not the M500. If anyone has anything I could try I will gladly. Failing this Virgin need to re evaluate my package and price accordingly. I've been told that its a glitch on the site. Going back to the fresh install I would of thought Virgin would of installed the best that's available currently to save them having to upgrade it in the future. ss (2021-02-01 at 09.34.57).pngss (2021-02-01 at 09.32.06).pngss (2021-02-01 at 09.30.21).pngss (2021-02-01 at 09.16.29).png

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media M500
0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 715
  • 64
  • 93
Superfast
233 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed

Are you using the router in modem mode or router mode?

What speed do you get on https://speedtest.samknows.com/ with direct wired connection from PC/Laptop to router using a Cat 5e cable or better with a 1Gbps capable Ethernet network card?

  1. Make sure the cable is Cat 5e or better
  2. Make sure your PC/laptop has a 1Gbps network card
  3. Make sure Hub is in router mode
  4. Disconnect all other Ethernet cables when running the test
***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
worsley
  • 21
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
221 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed

Hi and thanks for your response. I’ve ran hundreds of speed tests, I’ve provided a screen shot of one of them, the router is in router mode, I’m using a CAT 6 cable directly connected to my pc, my pc has a 1gb port on it. I have an ASUS Maximus hero XI with an i7 9700k and 32gb of 3600mhz Ddr4 ram so it’s not my pc bottle necking the speed. I’ve had Virgin for years and I’ve always had the best package I could, with every package I’ve always seen above the numbers I should be getting, with this m500 I’ve yet to see 500mbps. 

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media M500
0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 715
  • 64
  • 93
Superfast
213 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed

Can you please upload your router stats and we'll see if anything is amiss

Type 192.168.0.1 or (192.168.100.1 if you have your Hub in Modem mode) into your address bar at the top of your browser

For Hubs 2 & 3 - DO NOT LOG IN, just click “Check Router Status”

For Hub 4 - When the page appears LOG IN then click on:

Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Status.

Please copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs, if you get a yellow warning just click the Post button again. You can use more than one post for each item if needed.

If you get a warning when you hit “Post” just hit “Post” again and it should work ok!

Please do not use screenshots

Also can you please setup a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com. Just click on Create a new monitor.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here asap.

Under your graph you just created Click (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box and paste it on here

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
worsley
  • 21
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
153 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed

Hi, sorry for the late reply its been a busy day. I hope you can help me. 

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
13307500002.538256 qam25
22347500001.738256 qam13
32427500001.738256 qam14
42507500001.738256 qam15
52587500001.738256 qam16
6266750000238256 qam17
72747500001.938256 qam18
82827500002.438256 qam19
92907500002.538256 qam20
10298750000338256 qam21
113067500002.738256 qam22
123147500002.738256 qam23
133227500002.538256 qam24
143707500002.738256 qam26
153787500002.738256 qam27
163867500002.738256 qam28
173947500002.538256 qam29
184027500002.738256 qam30
19410750000338256 qam31
204187500002.938256 qam32
21426750000338256 qam33
22434750000338256 qam34
23442750000338256 qam35
244507500002.538256 qam36


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.66990
2Locked38.617970
3Locked38.916280
4Locked38.615910
5Locked38.613910
6Locked38.914060
7Locked38.612800
8Locked38.910280
9Locked38.68680
10Locked38.69010
11Locked38.98350
12Locked38.98050
13Locked38.98170
14Locked38.65170
15Locked38.65200
16Locked38.64860
17Locked38.95040
18Locked38.65030
19Locked38.94440
20Locked38.94760
21Locked38.64850
22Locked38.95280
23Locked38.94580
24Locked38.94860

Here is the first part of the info you have requested pal. BQM to follow. Thanks. 

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media M500
0 Kudos
Reply
worsley
  • 21
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
152 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940002541.8512064 qam6
25370022942.5512064 qam8
34619998042512064 qam5
43260018541.3512064 qam7



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID604048
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID604047
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

Network Log

Time Priority Description

01/02/2021 17:05:41noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 17:05:12Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/01/2021 23:03:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/01/2021 21:57:13ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/01/2021 18:24:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 13:12:12noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 13:11:54Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 12:04:58criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 12:02:41Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 12:02:37criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 12:02:37Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 12:02:37criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 12:02:36Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 11:58:56noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 11:55:52Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 01:53:59criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 22:03:58noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 22:03:48Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 22:02:56noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media M500
0 Kudos
Reply
worsley
  • 21
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
142 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/b4a759a4552f1a6fa27d5bb0d65ac83fa8bdd1c6
My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media M500
0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 715
  • 64
  • 93
Superfast
108 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed

Your router stats all look normal apart from quite a few errors in your network log on 27/01/2021. We'll let the BQM run for a while and see what it reveals over the next 24hrs.

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply