Menu
Reply
Joshayy
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
Joining in
654 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Slow Speed RH1

Evening all,

Currently have the M350 Fiber package and have had it installed for a couple of months, at first speeds were fine but now im getting max download speeds of 90mpbs when the minimum stated is 180mbps - I have done many things including re-set the router as well as followed all virgin guides. 

 

Its a suber hub 3.0 ethernetted to a desktop PC around 20M away with one other device connected via ethernet (Phillips hue)  and there are NO other devices connected to it.

Downstream Hz 203000000

Upstream Hz 60300014

 

To note this has been happening for well over a few days now and every time i try and call it puts me through to an automated message telling me to re-boot it then it hangs up (not helpful) any tips or advice would be useful. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
649 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed RH1

Could you access your router using http://192.168.0.1/ . Don't log in, select the 'Check Router Status' option and paste your 'Downstream', 'Upstream', and 'Network Log' tabs?

0 Kudos
Reply
Joshayy
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
Joining in
637 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed RH1

Network Log

09/07/2020 20:07:6noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/07/2020 20:04:34Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/07/2020 18:26:0criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/07/2020 16:29:16noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxl35016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/07/2020 16:29:16ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/07/2020 10:06:24ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Downstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12030000004.538256 qam9
22110000004.438256 qam10
32190000004.338256 qam11
4227000000438256 qam12
52350000003.738256 qam13
62430000003.538256 qam14
7251000000338256 qam15
82590000002.238256 qam16
92670000002.738256 qam17
102750000003.538256 qam18
112830000003.740256 qam19
122910000003.538256 qam20
132990000004.138256 qam21
143070000004.340256 qam22
153150000004.338256 qam23
163230000004.338256 qam24
173630000004.840256 qam25
183710000004.438256 qam26
193790000003.238256 qam27
203870000002.938256 qam28
213950000003.240256 qam29
224030000003.238256 qam30
234110000003.238256 qam31
24419000000338256 qam32

 

Upstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1603000144.375512064 qam1
2393999834.225512064 qam4
3462000074.375512064 qam3
4537000044.375512064 qam2
0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
634 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed RH1

Do you have the rest of the data in the Downstream tab?

0 Kudos
Reply
Joshayy
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
Joining in
627 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed RH1

Thats the tab below it.

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.960
2Locked38.950
3Locked38.950
4Locked38.650
5Locked38.660
6Locked38.950
7Locked38.9110
8Locked38.900
9Locked38.670
10Locked38.950
11Locked40.350
12Locked38.950
13Locked38.660
14Locked40.3190
15Locked38.650
16Locked38.900
17Locked40.300
18Locked38.950
19Locked38.600
20Locked38.960
21Locked40.300
22Locked38.950
23Locked38.960
24Locked38.950
0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
622 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed RH1

That all looks 'ok'.

Maybe it's oversubscribed in your area?

0 Kudos
Reply
Joshayy
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
Joining in
611 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Slow Speed RH1

Oversubcribed, if im guaranteed a minimum download speed then i guess they are in breach of contract and as such it can be terminated, thanks for looking at the data though had no idea what im looking at there.

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
609 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed RH1


@Joshayy wrote:

Oversubcribed, if im guaranteed a minimum download speed then i guess they are in breach of contract and as such it can be terminated, thanks for looking at the data though had no idea what im looking at there.


I'm only guessing as the router stats look ok!

It would still be worth troubleshooting with VM.

Try texting on 07533051809

8am - 8pm Monday to Friday, 8am - 5pm weekends.

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.32K
  • 1.88K
  • 4.03K
Alessandro Volta
601 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed RH1

A download speed of 90Mbps would indicate either a CAT5 Ethernet cable or a NIC Card only supporting 10/100 speeds, or a combination of both.

OP - can you confirm?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
John_GS
  • 8.7K
  • 476
  • 769
Forum Team
Forum Team
458 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Speed RH1

Hi Joshayy

 

Thanks for posting and welcome to the community. My apologies for the lower than expected speeds. I've checked our systems and can see no issues, all levels are in spec.

 

Can you confirm that the device you're using does have an NIC card that supports the speeds you're on and also what Ethernet cable you're using?

 

 

Kind regards,

John_GS
Forum Team

Need a helpful hand to show you how to make a payment? Check out our guide - "How to pay my Virgin Media bill"

0 Kudos
Reply