Menu
Reply
dsmars
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
396 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Slow Network speeds PA5 region

Hi

I noticed since the last month (23rd March) the speed drops constantly to an average of 50MB instead of the 250 it normally is. Sometimes this will then go back up an hour or 2 later other times it stays this way for days. 

currently after 20 tests each hour today I am averaging 63MB. the upload remains around the 20MB mark all the time, and the ping is an average of 25.

I am using this speedtest in docker https://github.com/henrywhitaker3/Speedtest-Tracker 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

131500000012.837256 qam23
220300000013.837256 qam9
321100000013.537256 qam10
421900000013.337256 qam11
52270000001337256 qam12
62350000001337256 qam13
72430000001337256 qam14
82510000001337256 qam15
92590000001337256 qam16
102670000001337256 qam17
112750000001337256 qam18
1228300000013.137256 qam19
132910000001337256 qam20
1429900000013.137256 qam21
1530700000012.637256 qam22
1632300000012.537256 qam24
1733100000012.637256 qam25
1837100000012.537256 qam26
1937900000012.337256 qam27
2038700000012.137256 qam28
2139500000012.337256 qam29
224030000001237256 qam30
2341100000012.337256 qam31
244190000001237256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked36.69320
2Locked37.360952
3Locked375520
4Locked37.35420
5Locked37.363028
6Locked37.36995
7Locked37.371237
8Locked37.396912
9Locked37.38350
10Locked37.376914
11Locked37.372716
12Locked37.369615
13Locked37.370327
14Locked36.684613
15Locked36.6127828
16Locked36.69610
17Locked37.365815
18Locked37.35894
19Locked37.3114545
20Locked37.356413
21Locked37.35530
22Locked37.661918
23Locked37.658241
24Locked37.354313

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000033.5512064 qam3
23940000033.5512064 qam4
32579989633512016 qam11
43260000033.3512064 qam5



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0030
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0010

 

Time Priority Description

22/04/2021 05:58:57ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/04/2021 23:39:23criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/04/2021 17:58:57ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/04/2021 13:16:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/04/2021 05:58:56ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/04/2021 09:27:32criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

any ideas?

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.13K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.6K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
355 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Network speeds PA5 region

I've flagged that for staff to advise - the power levels on your connection are all out, and that could be an area fault (in which case VM will already be working on it), or it could be unique to your connection, in which case they can book a technician visit for you.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
David_Bn
  • 4.91K
  • 226
  • 402
Forum Team
Forum Team
341 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Network speeds PA5 region

Good Afternoon dsmars,

 

Thanks for your post on our Community Forums and a very warm welcome to you!

 

Sorry to see you've been struggling with slow speeds.

 

I've looked into the account and can see that no outages are currently being flagged. I've also been able to run through a flow on our systems and haven't been able to identify a fault.

 

Is it possible to perform a pin hole reset on the hub and then run a speed test on the connection with the hub placed in modem mode and connected via a Cat 6 Ethernet cable, to see what speeds we can get running into your property?

 

It may also be worthwhile keeping tabs on the Service Status Checker to see if any outages are flagged in the not too distant future

 

Kindest regards,

 

David_Bn

 

0 Kudos
Reply
dsmars
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
316 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Network speeds PA5 region

Hi David_Bn

I tried this last night and left the tests running I am averaging only 34MB since then!

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 3.46K
  • 218
  • 343
Forum Team
Forum Team
309 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Network speeds PA5 region

Thank you for confirming that @dsmars

 

Are you able to let me know if you have managed to set up a BQM? 

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

0 Kudos
Reply
dsmars
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
304 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Network speeds PA5 region

hi Zak_M

 

no one asked for a BQM, I find it strange that Virgin would want/need me to sign up to a 3rd party service however to monitor your broadband connection this is something you should have if you need it the GDPR implications are immense and I wonder if your GDPR compliance officer knows about these requests?

I will have a review of the BQM site and once I am satisfied as to the handling of GDPR I will consider signing up.

In the mean time what else can Virgin do to fix the issue?

Thanks

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 3.46K
  • 218
  • 343
Forum Team
Forum Team
302 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Network speeds PA5 region

As advised previously, there are no issues showing up on your account.  I requested for you to set up a BQM as we are then able to look into seeing if its a networking issue. 

 

If you need us to provide you more information on GDPR then I will be more than happy to do so. 

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

0 Kudos
Reply
dsmars
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
300 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Network speeds PA5 region

Zak_M you never actually asked for a BQM to be setup, you asked if it was setup.

 

As it's a 3rd party site then yes I would like to see a copy of Virgin's GDPR policy in relation to ThinkBroadband including how the service agreement between both companies guarantees GDPR compliance.  

0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 3.46K
  • 218
  • 343
Forum Team
Forum Team
294 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Network speeds PA5 region

You can find all of our information on GDPR here. 

 

If you do require any further assistance then please do let me know. 

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

0 Kudos
Reply
cje85
  • 2.63K
  • 169
  • 693
Trouble shooter
290 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Network speeds PA5 region

Puzzled as to why Virgin seem to think everything is OK, the power levels the user has posted  are too high (downstream) and too low (upload). There are also T3 errors on all upstream channels.

A BQM would be helpful to see but if they're reluctant to set one up there's not much that can be done about that. 

0 Kudos
Reply