Menu
Reply
ItsMyVMService
  • 32
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
2,182 Views
Message 1 of 61
Flag for a moderator

Review my speeds + router status

Hi,

Can I get an opinion on my speeds and router status? For reference my broadband package is: M500 Fibre Broadband.

This was fine until O2 moved me into Volt, I'm now below 300mbps previously on 300Mbps I was getting 340-400Mbps down, O2 moved me to 500 and I now struggle to get 300.

My router gets about 40-70c operating temperature (the room is around 18-19c)

Speedtests:
In-game latency 40-120ms.

Spoiler
vmspeeds.png

Is this all okay/good? VM was meant to do work outside due to a faulty cable about 2 years ago but never carried it out (did turn up in a van but didn't get out - rain put the engineer off? Who knows).


--------------------------------------------------
Virgin Media Hub 5 - Gig1 - ASUS RT-AC88U (Asuswrt-Merlin) is disabled during upgrade testing (and VM troubleshooting).

My Broadband Ping - Home Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
ItsMyVMService
  • 32
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
2,181 Views
Message 2 of 61
Flag for a moderator

Re: Review my speeds + router status

Hub Info:

Spoiler
Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
267000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
53700000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
Spoiler

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1267000000038256 qam17
22750000000.538256 qam18
32830000000.538256 qam19
42910000000.538256 qam20
52990000000.538256 qam21
63070000000.538256 qam22
73150000000.738256 qam23
83230000000.738256 qam24
9331000000138256 qam25
103390000001.438256 qam26
113470000001.438256 qam27
123550000001.438256 qam28
133630000001.238256 qam29
143710000000.738256 qam30
153790000000.538256 qam31
163870000000.238256 qam32
173950000000.238256 qam33
184030000000.538256 qam34
194110000000.538256 qam35
204190000000.538256 qam36
214270000000.738256 qam37
224350000000.538256 qam38
23443000000038256 qam39
24451000000038256 qam40


Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.61480
2Locked38.61320
3Locked38.61090
4Locked38.6870
5Locked38.9860
6Locked38.9820
7Locked38.9950
8Locked38.6950
9Locked38.9960
10Locked38.91080
11Locked38.9890
12Locked38.9870
13Locked38.6770
14Locked38.6540
15Locked38.6780
16Locked38.9790
17Locked38.6700
18Locked38.9840
19Locked38.6740
20Locked38.6660
21Locked38.9550
22Locked38.9460
23Locked38.9690
24Locked38.9610

--------------------------------------------------
Virgin Media Hub 5 - Gig1 - ASUS RT-AC88U (Asuswrt-Merlin) is disabled during upgrade testing (and VM troubleshooting).

My Broadband Ping - Home Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
ItsMyVMService
  • 32
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
2,180 Views
Message 3 of 61
Flag for a moderator

Re: Review my speeds + router status

Spoiler

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
15370000042512064 qam2
26030026843512064 qam1
34620000041.8512064 qam3
43940000041.3512064 qam4


Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
Spoiler

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID836222
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0


Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID836221
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

No Ranging Response received and DHCP RENEW WARNING x100000000


--------------------------------------------------
Virgin Media Hub 5 - Gig1 - ASUS RT-AC88U (Asuswrt-Merlin) is disabled during upgrade testing (and VM troubleshooting).

My Broadband Ping - Home Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
Lee_R
  • 6.3K
  • 291
  • 656
Forum Team
Forum Team
2,046 Views
Message 4 of 61
Flag for a moderator

Re: Review my speeds + router status

Hi ItsMyVMService thanks for posting and welcome to our community.

Sorry to hear you're not getting your expected speeds, especially after an upgrade.  I would love to take a closer look on your behalf.  I am going to send you a private message. 

Regards


Lee_R

0 Kudos
Reply
risc19
  • 933
  • 31
  • 286
Well-informed
2,030 Views
Message 5 of 61
Flag for a moderator

Re: Review my speeds + router status

Nothing stand outs for your stats unless I've missed something.

Have you tried a pinhole reset?

 

My Broadband Ping - M500 Hub5 Router Mode
0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 1.68K
  • 134
  • 364
Super solver
2,018 Views
Message 6 of 61
Flag for a moderator

Re: Review my speeds + router status

Stats look fine, but you are running the tests via wireless. Virgin do NOT guarantee wireless speeds.

What speed do you get on https://speedtest.samknows.com/ with direct wired connection from PC/Laptop to Virgin Hub using a Cat 5e cable or better with a 1Gbps capable Ethernet network card?

  1. Make sure the cable is Cat 5e or better
  2. Make sure your PC/laptop has a 1Gbps or better network card
  3. Disconnect all other Ethernet cables from the Hub when running the test
***********************************************************************************************************************************
BT Full Fibre 900 FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U to Openreach ONT Box & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
0 Kudos
Reply
ItsMyVMService
  • 32
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
1,981 Views
Message 7 of 61
Flag for a moderator

Re: Review my speeds + router status

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. None of my tests are wireless they're all hard wired CAT 7 about 2M from router - the icon on the speedtest is multi-connection icon not WiFi (confusing I know).

Wireless is even worse under 70Mbps on 5GHz band and 20-30Mbps on 2.5GHz band.

SamKnows gives a latency of 72.5ms, 9.20ms Jitter, 182Mbps Download, 18.6Mbps upload.

 

Windows 10 Pro, Hard Wired, WIRELESS INTEL® Wi-Fi 6 AX200 2,400Mbps/5GHz, 300Mbps/2.4GHz PCI-E CARD + BT 5.0 (WiFi adapter is disabled).


--------------------------------------------------
Virgin Media Hub 5 - Gig1 - ASUS RT-AC88U (Asuswrt-Merlin) is disabled during upgrade testing (and VM troubleshooting).

My Broadband Ping - Home Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
ItsMyVMService
  • 32
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
1,980 Views
Message 8 of 61
Flag for a moderator

Re: Review my speeds + router status

@risc19 I have yes, when Virgin Media advised me to reset via WhatsApp tech support - no change. Even tried modem mode with my ASUS AC88U no improvement.


--------------------------------------------------
Virgin Media Hub 5 - Gig1 - ASUS RT-AC88U (Asuswrt-Merlin) is disabled during upgrade testing (and VM troubleshooting).

My Broadband Ping - Home Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
risc19
  • 933
  • 31
  • 286
Well-informed
1,970 Views
Message 9 of 61
Flag for a moderator

Re: Review my speeds + router status

Try setting up a broadband quality form think broadband, it may help us highlight a problem.

My Broadband Ping - M500 Hub5 Router Mode
0 Kudos
Reply
ItsMyVMService
  • 32
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
1,948 Views
Message 10 of 61
Flag for a moderator

Re: Review my speeds + router status

Hi @risc19,

I've just set up a BQM from ThinkBroadband (I think I've done it correctly).

These are from my ASUS RT-AC88U during testing:

40ed42ab378230da21b02170e309e8fc66afd3c8b796d67ccb598e4c87df36ac

 


--------------------------------------------------
Virgin Media Hub 5 - Gig1 - ASUS RT-AC88U (Asuswrt-Merlin) is disabled during upgrade testing (and VM troubleshooting).

My Broadband Ping - Home Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply