Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 22
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
419 Views
Message 1 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Resetting Hub3 multiple times each day, no internet to phones, daily

My son complains multiple times daily about our uselss internet, he is on PS4 ethnet cable. My phone constantly tells me I'm not connected to the Internet when on WiFi,  prime stick and TV upstairs loses Internet or can't connect. I have a booster upstairs too. I have the 200 speed service. I regularly do kit test. Some days it shows nothing, today and others it shows a problem and says we are working it out for you. 

Can i just get a new Hub sent?

Anita Collins

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.53K
  • 491
  • 862
Legend
407 Views
Message 2 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Resetting Hub3 multiple times each day, no internet to phones, daily

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some troubleshooting; to start with …

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you can post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

 In the URL box paste the link you copied and then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

Best done with a cable connected device.

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
Highlighted
  • 22
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
397 Views
Message 3 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Resetting Hub3 multiple times each day, no internet to phones, daily

Thank you. Here is the link

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/0580049d1955bd90af79e93ab1079316b93ed4a5

I don't have a wired connection to my laptop unfortunately.  Shall I still do the test?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.53K
  • 491
  • 862
Legend
388 Views
Message 4 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Resetting Hub3 multiple times each day, no internet to phones, daily

You can yes.

In all honesty a USB to Ethernet Adaptor and Length of Cat 6 ethernet cable can be worth its weight in gold if you ever get Wi-Fi problems. VM Hubs have lots more Wi-Fi problems than ethernet problems and ethernet is less prone to interreference, cutting out and speed fluctuations.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
Highlighted
  • 22
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
376 Views
Message 5 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Resetting Hub3 multiple times each day, no internet to phones, daily

Downstream currently

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11387500001.540256 qam1
21467500001.240256 qam2
3154750000140256 qam3
4162750000140256 qam4
51707500001.240256 qam5
61787500000.940256 qam6
71867500000.740256 qam7
81947500000.540256 qam8
92027500000.240256 qam9
10210750000040256 qam10
11218750000-0.240256 qam11
12226750000-0.738256 qam12
13234750000-1.240256 qam13
14242750000-1.740256 qam14
15250750000-240256 qam15
16258750000-240256 qam16
17266750000-1.940256 qam17
18274750000-1.740256 qam18
19282750000-1.740256 qam19
20290750000-240256 qam20
21298750000-2.238256 qam21
22306750000-2.240256 qam22
23314750000-2.240256 qam23
24322750000-2.240256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.94102702
2Locked40.92394040
3Locked40.34533502
4Locked40.34013314
5Locked40.33523235
6Locked40.94183579
7Locked40.33963462
8Locked40.94773507
9Locked40.34203299
10Locked40.3675792
11Locked40.32286458
12Locked38.6213557
13Locked40.33973150
14Locked40.34433244
15Locked40.35463131
16Locked40.35833095
17Locked40.34723329
18Locked40.34283016
19Locked40.34872595
20Locked40.33922981
21Locked38.93402961
22Locked40.34342761
23Locked40.33223205
24Locked40.310931605




0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 22
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
374 Views
Message 6 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Resetting Hub3 multiple times each day, no internet to phones, daily

Upstream currently

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1258000004.35512064 qam5
2462000004.45512064 qam2
3394000004.425512064 qam3
4326000004.375512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

04/08/2020 14:35:27noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 14:35:20Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 14:33:57noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 13:47:1Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 13:35:21Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 13:35:21criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 13:35:17Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 13:35:17criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 07:40:2Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 07:40:2criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 07:39:43Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 07:39:43criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 07:39:28Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 07:39:28criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 07:18:13Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 07:18:13criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 07:18:9Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 07:18:9criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2020 07:17:38Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.53K
  • 491
  • 862
Legend
368 Views
Message 7 of 20
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Resetting Hub3 multiple times each day, no internet to phones, daily

The Hub stats don't look too bad, you have some Post RS Errors which should clear with a Hub reboot.

Your BQM however is showing 100% loss of signal to the Hub

Can you try a pinhole reset using this exact method ...

DO NOT DO THIS if the password on the base of the Hub is not legible or missing.

Instructions for Hub 3

Disconnect all unneeded ethernet cables from the rear of the Hub.

With the Hub Powered on use a paperclip or similar and do a pinhole reset.

Depress the pinhole switch for a timed 60 seconds then release.

DO NOT reboot the hub but allow it 5 to 10 minutes for it to boot itself up.

Once a steady white and no other lights are illuminated check your system again.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
Highlighted
  • 22
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
367 Views
Message 8 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Resetting Hub3 multiple times each day, no internet to phones, daily

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 22
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
363 Views
Message 9 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Resetting Hub3 multiple times each day, no internet to phones, daily

Thank you for your help.  I did a pin reset prior to running these tests as I was getting fed up of no internet.  This is an ongoing issue that occurs several times a day.  I hope this reset has sorted it out but I believe I will be running through it all again tomorrow or even later on today.  This is the same when my son is on his PS4 and that is wired connection?  I have my own password for the Hub 3.0 too.  Shall I still follow your instructions now?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 22
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
361 Views
Message 10 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Resetting Hub3 multiple times each day, no internet to phones, daily

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/09e67de10f66c1d0a738a7ed63256541e9... 

 

As I said this has been happening a lot - I even looked up monitoring back in April because I was rebooting hub lots even back then

0 Kudos
Reply