Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
555 Views
Message 1 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Reduced Upload Speeds

Hello there,

The last three days I've had a reduced upload speed, this same occurence happened exactly one month ago in which reduced it to a similiar speed.

Package: M350 Fibre Broadband

My download speed is exactly as I'd expect being around 370 mbps

However, my upload, which normally is between 27-37 mbps is way below the minimum speed stated in the contract, currently it is around 4.62 mbps

I tried contacting customer services in which the adviser told me that I don't need to worry about upload, it's just download I need to concern over, sadly he failed to listen or understand the fact that I know what I personally need and not himself, any member of Virgin will see my upload will be used a lot more than the download.

Is anyone else experiencing issues as I'm rendered completely redundant the last two to three days and unable to fulfill the use behind why I pay for my service.

Things I have attempted:

  • Restarted the hub via power button, left off for up to 2 hours
  • Restarted the hub via the online interface when logging into the hub on a browser
  • Attempted 3 different LAN/CAT 5 cables
  • Used the factory reset option within the modem browser login
  • Used the factory reset option on the physical hub using a pin
  • Tried all four LAN slots incase one is conflicting
  • Tried just one singular LAN slot and removed other LAN devices connected

I'm at my witts end here, download is perfect, upload jumps to approx. 30 then immediately begins swooping down to between 2-4 mbps

I'd honestly really appreciate some help, I can't do what I need to do.

I feel I am being throttled.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14.84K
  • 1.17K
  • 3.46K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
548 Views
Message 2 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Reduced Upload Speeds

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labeled - upstream - downstream


____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
542 Views
Message 3 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Reduced Upload Speeds

Hi Tony,

Hope all is well,

I just tried this and these are the only two screens I see without signing in

 https://i.imgur.com/MJFFbIT.png 

https://i.imgur.com/VrGLnF3.png 

Any idea?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
534 Views
Message 4 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Reduced Upload Speeds

Hi Tony,

Got it in the end

 

Downstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14190000007.338256 qam32
22030000007.838256 qam9
32110000007.537256 qam10
42190000007.638256 qam11
52270000007.838256 qam12
62350000007.638256 qam13
72430000007.638256 qam14
82510000007.638256 qam15
92590000007.638256 qam16
10267000000838256 qam17
11275000000838256 qam18
122830000008.338256 qam19
132910000008.138256 qam20
142990000008.538256 qam21
153070000008.138256 qam22
16315000000838256 qam23
173230000007.938256 qam24
183630000007.638256 qam25
193710000007.538256 qam26
203790000007.438256 qam27
21387000000738256 qam28
22395000000737256 qam29
23403000000738256 qam30
24411000000737256 qam31



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.6100
2Locked38.6100
3Locked37.6120
4Locked38.650
5Locked38.670
6Locked38.6160
7Locked38.6140
8Locked38.690
9Locked38.670
10Locked38.6140
11Locked38.6110
12Locked38.9130
13Locked38.6140
14Locked38.6360
15Locked38.6240
16Locked38.6330
17Locked38.6140
18Locked38.980
19Locked38.6270
20Locked38.680
21Locked38.6140
22Locked37.6100
23Locked38.6220
24Locked37.6280

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1602999224.725512064 qam4
2394000094.65512064 qam9
3462000244.675512064 qam6
4536999954.725512064 qam5



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14.84K
  • 1.17K
  • 3.46K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
520 Views
Message 5 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Reduced Upload Speeds

theres nothing wrong with the levels and you seem to have tried most things - you are getting 350 down so the connection would seem good - i take it thats wired - the only thing that i would pick up on is you say cat5 cable - that can limit the downstream to 100 but you are getting the full 350 so i assume cat5 is cat5e

the only thing you dont seem to have done is a test in modem mode - thats worth a try to be sure its not something in the router side of the hub

so log into hub and put it into modem mode - connect a wired pc to the port nearest the coax and run the speed tests again

to get out of modem mode - 192.168.100.1 or a full reset

 

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
517 Views
Message 6 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Reduced Upload Speeds

Hi Tony,

I'm glad you can understand the levels, thats where my expertise sadly goes out the window. Yes I apologise it's cat5e! I depend on the upload for live feed which I transmit at 5,000 kbps so to be honest, if this 27-38mbps even dropped 10 mbps, I'd not complain, it's the fact it's completely rendered me useless under the 5mb threshold.

I've not tried the modem mode, my router is on my desk next to my main desktop here which is connected via LAN. 

I'll give that a go now, I don't require another router do I?

EDIT:

I've just done this and re-run the speed on modem mode, results being

376.3

Mbps download

3.58

Mbps upload

 

To shed some light, I do a lot of streaming live content, I'm a partnered streamer with a gaming based streaming platform, I'm dropping an obscene amount of frames, up to 35% each time, this has never been a problem until the last month, it fixed its self, now it's returned. It's driving me crazy as I'm struggling to maintain to the contracted minimum hours with this problem

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 14.84K
  • 1.17K
  • 3.46K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
493 Views
Message 7 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Reduced Upload Speeds

i doubt its the hub - wait for VM to get to the thread they need to look at things - theres nothing stands out at all and on the surface nothing to fix so they need to look and see if there is an area fault

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
474 Views
Message 8 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Reduced Upload Speeds

370.4 Mbps download

36.1 Mbps upload

For how long I don't know... however after 3 days, they've once again fixed it. I'm not losing any upload again. I hope this doesn't happen again!

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
437 Views
Message 9 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Reduced Upload Speeds

I've returned less than 24 hours later, its dropped down to 7 mbps. I'm honestly unable to function with this, I'll await VM to look into it.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.82K
  • 173
  • 298
Forum Team
Forum Team
427 Views
Message 10 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Reduced Upload Speeds

Good Afternoon DeeRock,

 

Thanks for your post on our Community Forums and a very warm welcome to you!

 

Sorry to see you'v been having issues with the speeds of your connection. 

 

I've looked at the stats of the hub and everything is within spec. Can you please either advise me of when you last performed a pin hole reset or perform one for me if this has not already been attempted to combat this issue?

 

Kindest regards,

 

David_Bn

0 Kudos
Reply