Menu
Reply
mrc1978
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
649 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Rediculously slow speeds

So the twitter guy recommend me to post on here as they, like the phone people don't know what the fault is. Well, after doing numerous resets/phone calls/tests, I'm getting the low speed of 2mbps. Considering I'm paying for 200, I ask myself, do the people who work for virgin actually know anything? Last year I had this issue for 4 months, that's how long it took for them to sort the issue. Been fine for 4 months and I'm back down to the 2mb again. Last year in put in a complaint about this and a number of weeks later I got an email saying I had agreed to close it down even though they never spoke to me about it. All in all I've just about had it, I can't cope with this crap service any more, I really can't.

So I ask you, the people who don't work for virgin, are you aware of any way to get me speed back up, I'm working from home again tomorrow and this is going to stop me being able to work. 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 29.01K
  • 2.89K
  • 5.46K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
624 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rediculously slow speeds

How are you testing speeds? Can you try it as below first. This will help diagnose whether its a network or wifi issue.

Also have you tried a pinhole reset like this?

Make sure the 2 passwords on the Hub sticker are still there and legible first ! Disconnect any ethernet cables from the Hub (leave the coax connected), and then with the Hub still "switched on" throughout, press pin in firmly with paper clip/SIM tray tool or similar "thin thing" and hold it firmly for at least 60 seconds, release the pin, leave for 5’ to stabilise - dont manually switch it off at any time. See if that sorts it.
_______________________________________________

As you expect >100Mbps then connect a 1GB enabled computer/laptop, with up to date drivers, via a NEW and working Cat5e (or better) ethernet cable, directly to the Hub which you have put into “modem mode” (https://www.virginmedia.com/help/virgin-media-hub-modem-mode ). Test speeds at https://speedtest.samknows.com/ - try on 2 different browsers.

If they are still low – boot you device into windows safe+networking mode to disable any potentially interfering software - and try again.

There are many posts on here where QoS software, unknown/flaky software, old network card drivers, corrupted browsers, bad cables or other connected devices are limiting speeds on tests.

Report back what that gets.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
mrc1978
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
611 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rediculously slow speeds

OK, so I did everything you mentioned and it still sucks lol.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/QjMjBWhVeuLoA9yc8

Hope these help, thanks for yours so far.

I was using speedtest.net and I did it using both WiFi and ethernet.

It was working f'in Saturday morning as I was updating a game on the xbox and then the speed just dropped without any reason why.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 29.01K
  • 2.89K
  • 5.46K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
564 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rediculously slow speeds

You havent said, are you getting any disconnections or is it just speed issues and what Hub model is it?

Post up the connection data as per this.
________________________________-

In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1  (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before unless you have the New Hub4 when you do] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle (or top right - S-hubs) of the first page up and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again.

Also, in the meantime... If you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
mrc1978
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
531 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rediculously slow speeds

 

so using hub 3 aaaand its just speed issue


Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 331000000 9.1 38 256 qam 25
2 203000000 7.8 38 256 qam 9
3 211000000 7.6 38 256 qam 10
4 219000000 7.5 38 256 qam 11
5 227000000 7.8 40 256 qam 12
6 235000000 7.5 38 256 qam 13
7 243000000 7.5 38 256 qam 14
8 251000000 7.5 38 256 qam 15
9 259000000 7.1 38 256 qam 16
10 267000000 7.9 38 256 qam 17
11 275000000 8.1 38 256 qam 18
12 283000000 8.4 38 256 qam 19
13 291000000 8.5 38 256 qam 20
14 299000000 8.6 38 256 qam 21
15 307000000 8.3 38 256 qam 22
16 315000000 8.8 38 256 qam 23
17 323000000 9 38 256 qam 24
18 339000000 9.4 38 256 qam 26
19 347000000 8.9 40 256 qam 27
20 355000000 9 38 256 qam 28
21 363000000 9 38 256 qam 29
22 371000000 9 38 256 qam 30
23 379000000 9 38 256 qam 31
24 387000000 9 38 256 qam 32


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.9 9 0
2 Locked 38.9 16 0
3 Locked 38.9 6 0
4 Locked 38.9 7 0
5 Locked 40.3 5 0
6 Locked 38.9 9 0
7 Locked 38.6 7 0
8 Locked 38.9 7 0
9 Locked 38.9 6 0
10 Locked 38.9 9 0
11 Locked 38.9 10 0
12 Locked 38.9 8 0
13 Locked 38.9 8 0
14 Locked 38.9 10 0
15 Locked 38.9 7 0
16 Locked 38.9 6 0
17 Locked 38.9 8 0
18 Locked 38.9 6 0
19 Locked 40.3 3 0
20 Locked 38.9 7 0
21 Locked 38.9 9 0
22 Locked 38.9 6 0
23 Locked 38.9 12 0
24 Locked 38.9 9 0

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
13940000043.8512064 qam6
22580000043.3512064 qam8
33260000043.8512064 qam7
44620000045.3512064 qam5


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

 

Network LogTime Priority Description
31/05/2021 18:58:27noticeLAN login Success;CM-;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/05/2021 18:58:17Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/05/2021 18:57:52noticeLAN login Success;CM-;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/05/2021 18:57:46Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/05/2021 16:29:0noticeLAN login Success;CM-;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/05/2021 17:06:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/05/2021 16:23:3noticeLAN login Success;CM;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/05/2021 04:31:29noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/05/2021 04:31:29ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/05/2021 23:16:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/05/2021 16:31:28noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/05/2021 16:31:28ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/05/2021 22:27:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/05/2021 04:31:29noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/05/2021 04:31:29ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2021 06:54:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/05/2021 16:31:29noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/05/2021 16:31:29ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/05/2021 21:36:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 29.01K
  • 2.89K
  • 5.46K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
513 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rediculously slow speeds

Nothing obvious there. What was the speed test result on a laptop booted in to safe mode with the Hub in modem mode?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
mrc1978
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
508 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rediculously slow speeds

So, they were as bad. Update though, I was speaking to an advisor who didn't have a clue to basically told me he saw everything was working fine and that I needed to complain to oftel. He basically called me a lier and that I didn't listen. I asked to be put though to complaints after I lost my 2mb and it went to 0 and he accused me of not following his conversation. Long conversation short I got through to a complaint handler and he did some checks and he agreed nothing was showing wrong at his end. After reboot no 6, I got speeds of 64meg on the cable which is still too slow but 202mb on my WiFi devices. So far it's working. Complaint has been logged, so will see what happens. Thanks again for your help. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Zoie_P
  • 4.2K
  • 179
  • 333
Forum Team
Forum Team
460 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rediculously slow speeds

Hi Mrc1978,

Thanks for your post 

I have located your account and can see there are downstream and upstream issues, I will pop you over a PM and get a tech booked for you 

Zoie

Zoie
0 Kudos
Reply