Menu
LucyJonesbooks
Tuning in
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Red light and slow speeds

Hi, 

I’m new to Virgin Media, we only got set up 2 weeks ago and since then we’ve had problems. From 2nd day the red light has been on the hub and won’t go. We’ve read that this is an issue with heat so we’ve tried restarting, leaving it off for 30 mins, and turning off any nearby radiators and nothing has helped. 
The engineer fitted it on the window cill with a short lead so we can’t place it anywhere else but it doesn’t appear to be blocked by any furniture. 
We’re getting very intermittent speeds. Sometimes they’re high when we do a speed test but anywhere other than the lounge where the hub is they are around 10mbs and we can’t even stream Netflix! 
Have tried calling Virgin but can’t get through to an actual person so any help would be much appreciated. Thanks! 

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
MikeRobbo
Alessandro Volta
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Red light and slow speeds

Are you in Router Mode or Modem Mode ?

In Modem Mode the power light should be magenta.

In Router Mode the power light should be white.

In either Mode the red power light is an indication of over heating and most not be ignored.

Ensure that the Hub is in a well ventilated area and nothing is blocking the vent holes on the sides of the Hub.

If the Hub is in a clear area and is cool to touch it must be replaced.

If the Hub is in a clear area and is hot to touch it must be replaced.

Do not be fobbed off with "if it is cool it will be OK" or "Just blow a fan over it", this is dangerous advice.

When you go out or retire for the night ensure that the Hub is unplugged from the mains.

The only fix is a replacement Hub.

You can either phone in (08:00 is the best time) or wait on here for a few days (6 to 7 days average) until one of the VM Forum Staff comes along.

If you wait on here Do Not bump the thread it will put it further down the VM 'to do list'.