Menu
Reply
Bel500
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
500 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Recently upgraded to m500 but not getting full speed

Hi,

I got my hub 3 installed over a week ago and i upgraded to m500 yesterday

I have a cat 7 cable connected from the hub to my laptop.

I used www.speedtest.net not getting close to the minimum guaranteed speed of 238mb, i have got a max of 200mb but 36mb upload

i did speedtests also here https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1602662536574995755

Also setup a BQM

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/b247fb3f2f9e99d91bf15213ab3ee02da8...

 Please can you help me with next steps i should take?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Bel500
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
499 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recently upgraded to m500 but not getting full speed

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 331000000 2.2 38 256 qam 25
2 203000000 3 38 256 qam 9
3 211000000 3 38 256 qam 10
4 219000000 3 38 256 qam 11
5 227000000 3 38 256 qam 12
6 235000000 3.2 38 256 qam 13
7 243000000 2.9 38 256 qam 14
8 251000000 2.7 38 256 qam 15
9 259000000 2.5 38 256 qam 16
10 267000000 2 38 256 qam 17
11 275000000 1.7 38 256 qam 18
12 283000000 1.7 38 256 qam 19
13 291000000 1.5 38 256 qam 20
14 299000000 1.5 38 256 qam 21
15 307000000 2.2 38 256 qam 22
16 315000000 2 38 256 qam 23
17 323000000 2 38 256 qam 24
18 371000000 2.7 38 256 qam 26
19 379000000 2.5 38 256 qam 27
20 387000000 2 38 256 qam 28
21 395000000 2.5 38 256 qam 29
22 403000000 2.2 38 256 qam 30
23 411000000 2 38 256 qam 31
24 419000000 2.5 38 256 qam 32

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.9 35 211
2 Locked 38.6 40 480
3 Locked 38.6 24 429
4 Locked 38.6 32 491
5 Locked 38.9 49 421
6 Locked 38.6 29 493
7 Locked 38.6 44 519
8 Locked 38.9 30 410
9 Locked 38.9 30 387
10 Locked 38.9 36 395
11 Locked 38.6 28 445
12 Locked 38.9 38 473
13 Locked 38.6 46 461
14 Locked 38.6 25 566
15 Locked 38.9 30 498
16 Locked 38.6 23 430
17 Locked 38.9 26 395
18 Locked 38.9 23 466
19 Locked 38.6 36 449
20 Locked 38.9 31 563
21 Locked 38.9 31 436
22 Locked 38.6 32 344
23 Locked 38.6 32 558
24 Locked 38.6 42 564
Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 53700141 3.925 5120 64 qam 2
2 46200029 3.9 5120 64 qam 3
3 39400000 3.875 5120 64 qam 4
4 60299971 3.925 5120 64 qam 1

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

Network Log
Time Priority Description
14/10/2020 08:55:25 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC= **:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC= **:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/10/2020 01:33:55 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC= **:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 15:38:34 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 11:45:24 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 10:37:37 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 10:29:47 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 10:29:47 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 09:44:26 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:35 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:06:3 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:05:3 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 09:07:59 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 09:07:56 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 09:07:53 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 09:07:53 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 09:07:52 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 09:07:52 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 09:07:52 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 08:41:4 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/10/2020 21:02:59 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
491 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recently upgraded to m500 but not getting full speed

Your BQM Link is returning a 404 Page Not Found error.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Bel500
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
484 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recently upgraded to m500 but not getting full speed

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
476 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recently upgraded to m500 but not getting full speed

Your >> BQM << link is now working, it is showing a bit of latency but nothing out of the ordinary.

Your Pre & Post RS Error counts are quite high.

In an ideal world they would be at zero and stay there. To zero them can you reboot the Hub using this method and then keep an eye on the counts.

Switch the Hub off using the small switch on the rear of the Hub next to the power cord and pull the PSU plug from the wall socket.

Give it a good 5 minutes put the plug back in and switch the Hub back on.

Allow the Hub a few minutes to fully restart then try your connection and error counts again.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Bel500
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
445 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recently upgraded to m500 but not getting full speed

Hi, thanks i have done that now and will continue recording the testing

0 Kudos
Reply
Bel500
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
429 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recently upgraded to m500 but not getting full speed

14-10-2020 18:55:41 (GMT)207.8 Mbps19.9 MbpsVirgin Media view result
14-10-2020 18:54:23 (GMT)142.2 Mbps23.2 MbpsVirgin Media view result
14-10-2020 18:24:51 (GMT)156.6 Mbps25.5 MbpsVirgin Media view result
14-10-2020 17:27:46 (GMT)125.0 Mbps24.6 MbpsVirgin Media view result
14-10-2020 17:11:33 (GMT)174.7 Mbps19.2 MbpsVirgin Media view result
14-10-2020 16:57:35 (GMT)160.6 Mbps19.4 MbpsVirgin Media view result
14-10-2020 15:52:02 (GMT)205.4 Mbps20.1 MbpsVirgin Media

Still not made much of a difference 😞 what else can i do, also everytime i get on a chat with engineer on webchat it cuts out.  Like today at 4:30pm after waiting since before 8:50am to be transferred, the agent asked me to confirm my details then cut off

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/fe2002a2a30f721902590f72579de3ac42...

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 23.88K
  • 2.53K
  • 4.34K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
424 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recently upgraded to m500 but not getting full speed

Post up the data from the "configuration data" page - it will show whatt the "Max data transfer rates" are for the up and down channels. It looks just like it would if you are still on 200 and the 500 upgrade hasnt been applied.


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Bel500
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
403 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recently upgraded to m500 but not getting full speed

Here it is

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID33794
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID33793
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 23.88K
  • 2.53K
  • 4.34K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
390 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recently upgraded to m500 but not getting full speed

Nope its been applied - you are on the 500 service. All I can suggest is one last speedtest but done exactly as below.

-----------
As you expect >100Mbps then connect a 1GB enabled computer/laptop, with up to date drivers, via a known good and working Cat5e (or better) ethernet cable, directly to the Hub -BUT- which you have put into “modem mode” (see VM website for “How To”). Test at speedtest.net (not on the App!) to your nearest VM server, and try it on 2 different browsers.

If they are still low – boot the device into safe+networking mode and try again exactlay as above in modem mode.

There are many posts on here where old/unknown/flaky software, old network card drivers, corrupted browsers, hidden QoS or other connected devices are limiting speeds on tests.

Report back what that gets.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply