Menu
Reply
Ksin
  • 12
  • 0
  • 4
On our wavelength
560 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Recent upgrade to M350 but router not configured?

Hi, I'll try to be as concise as possible.

I recently upgraded from M100 to M350. I had an email today to confirm that everything had been set up.

However, I am still getting the same speeds that I used to get with M100. That is around (Down) 110Mbps/ (Up) 10Mbps during "off peak" times, and about (Down) 70Mbps/ (Up) 9Mbps at "peak" times. I have tested this with WiFi and Wired connections, as well as putting my router into Modem mode. I have had my Hub 3.0 since 2016.

I have also factory reset my hub, using the button on the back pressed in for 60 secs, twice (once this morning and once this evening) with no improvement.

My configuration info. is below, which I think shows that my hub is still configured for M100 (?)

I have a couple of questions;

1. How long is it reasonable to wait for this to be configured properly?

2. Who do I speak to in order to get it configured properly? I have tried customer service but they really didn't seem to understand the issue and it was frustrating trying to explain over and over. 

3. Will waiting for this to be fixed affect my "14 day cooling off period" for new contracts? I notice that some people with similar issues have waited between 3 days and up to 2 months for resolution.

4. Can I expect any kind of reimbursement for the length of time that this issue remains unresolved? It seems a bit cheeky for VM to email me telling me I will be charged "to cover your changes up until your next bill period" when they (potentially) haven't correctly set things up.

Thank you!

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
ncxv9873254k;fg87dsfd;kfo



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID264
Max Traffic Rate115000000
Max Traffic Burst10000
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID263
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
Reply
Ksin
  • 12
  • 0
  • 4
On our wavelength
553 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recent upgrade to M350 but router not configured?

I don't know whether this is required or useful but here is the Downstream/Upstream info

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12747500002.440256 qam18
2138750000538256 qam1
31467500004.940256 qam2
41547500004.540256 qam3
51627500004.140256 qam4
6170750000440256 qam5
71787500003.940256 qam6
81867500003.740256 qam7
91947500003.740256 qam8
102027500003.740256 qam9
112107500003.740256 qam10
122187500003.540256 qam11
132267500003.540256 qam12
142347500003.440256 qam13
152427500003.240256 qam14
16250750000340256 qam15
172587500002.940256 qam16
182667500002.740256 qam17
192827500002.440256 qam19
202907500002.740256 qam20
21298750000340256 qam21
22306750000340256 qam22
23314750000340256 qam23
243227500002.940256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.950
2Locked38.940
3Locked40.350
4Locked40.360
5Locked40.300
6Locked40.300
7Locked40.300
8Locked40.350
9Locked40.350
10Locked40.960
11Locked40.350
12Locked40.350
13Locked40.350
14Locked40.350
15Locked40.340
16Locked40.300
17Locked40.340
18Locked40.350
19Locked40.300
20Locked40.3110
21Locked40.3180
22Locked40.3180
23Locked40.3190
24Locked40.300

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14619996941.3512064 qam1
22580002141.3512064 qam4
33260000241.3512064 qam3
43940003941.3512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
544 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recent upgrade to M350 but router not configured?

Switch the Hub off using the small switch on the rear of the Hub next to the power cord and pull the PSU plug from the wall socket.

Give it a good 5 minutes put the plug back in and switch the Hub back on.

Allow the Hub a few minutes to fully restart then try your connection again.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Ksin
  • 12
  • 0
  • 4
On our wavelength
524 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recent upgrade to M350 but router not configured?

Thanks for the suggestion, I tried it and no joy.

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
520 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recent upgrade to M350 but router not configured?


@Ksin wrote:

Thanks for the suggestion, I tried it and no joy.


When did you get the confirmation of the switch?

A recent thread showed it can happen overnight rather than straight away (The HUB will reboot automatically when a new config is sent).

Ksin
  • 12
  • 0
  • 4
On our wavelength
508 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recent upgrade to M350 but router not configured?

I only got it this morning. I haven't seen that thread, I just went off the information in the emails I received. One the day after I took the deal saying it was being set up and then a few days later (this morning) I got the email saying it was complete. I hope it will be completed within 24hrs, but I just got a bit worried seeing so many people waiting anywhere from a couple of days to a couple of months!
0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
500 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recent upgrade to M350 but router not configured?


@Ksin wrote:
I only got it this morning. I haven't seen that thread, I just went off the information in the emails I received. One the day after I took the deal saying it was being set up and then a few days later (this morning) I got the email saying it was complete. I hope it will be completed within 24hrs, but I just got a bit worried seeing so many people waiting anywhere from a couple of days to a couple of months!

FYI

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Upgraded-to-350mb-but-still-sitting-at-200/m-p/4500224#M2...

Ksin
  • 12
  • 0
  • 4
On our wavelength
451 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recent upgrade to M350 but router not configured?

Overnight a new config was sent out and this morning I was getting speeds of about 228Mbps (Down) / 36 Mbps (Up), however this was really shortlived and I am back to getting around 86 Mbps (Down)/ but 36 Mbps (Up)... ?

New Config:

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
9834ncxv9873254k;fg87dsfd



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID264
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID263
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
449 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recent upgrade to M350 but router not configured?

Can you Login to the Hub Settings and navigate to the Connected Devices page - what is the reported 'connection speed’ for the ethernet cable connected device you used for the speed test ?


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Ksin
  • 12
  • 0
  • 4
On our wavelength
432 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Recent upgrade to M350 but router not configured?

Device name MAC address IP address Speed (Mbps) Connected to

DESKTOP-DCHM11U 192.168.0.10/24100Ethernet
0 Kudos
Reply