Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 42
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
725 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Really bad upload speeds ! 485mbps down 0.16mbps up !!

Anyone else ? download if Ok-ish but upload after 4pm is non-existent !!  Anything wrong with Area ref 21 ?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 63
  • 1
  • 1
On our wavelength
682 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really bad upload speeds ! 485mbps down 0.16mbps up !!

Mine has been sluggish for over a week. download 54.82 but upload 2.71 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.5K
  • 1.62K
  • 2.64K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
660 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really bad upload speeds ! 485mbps down 0.16mbps up !!

Have either of you checked for “known network faults”?

As well as trying the “check service,” weblink (at the top of this forum board), there is also a Service Status number - 0800 561 0061 - which usually tells you of more local issues down to postcode level (that might even not yet be listed on the Service Status web page) - that may give you more info.
If nothing shows on there call it in as a fault and see what they say when they test your connection and if possible, get a fault reference number.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 42
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
603 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really bad upload speeds ! 485mbps down 0.16mbps up !!

Thanks have checked and no services are down for my post code so will call in as a fault.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 42
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
593 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really bad upload speeds ! 485mbps down 0.16mbps up !!

Still only getting 40 down and 30 up but there is no issue in my area according to everyone so the helpline will not raise a fault ?

Do these stats look ok from the router status:

Downstream bonded:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12347500002.538256 qam13
22187500002.738256 qam11
32267500002.738256 qam12
42427500002.238256 qam14
52507500002.238256 qam15
62587500001.938256 qam16
7266750000238256 qam17
82747500002.538256 qam18
92827500002.738256 qam19
102907500002.738256 qam20
112987500002.938256 qam21
123067500003.238256 qam22
13314750000338256 qam23
143227500003.438256 qam24
154027500002.538256 qam25
164107500002.738256 qam26
174187500002.238256 qam27
184267500002.438256 qam28
194347500002.238256 qam29
204427500002.238256 qam30
214507500002.238256 qam31
224587500002.440256 qam32
234667500002.238256 qam33
244747500002.538256 qam34

 

Upstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1258000004.8512064 qam6
2394000004.8512064 qam4
3462000004.8512064 qam3
4326000004.8512064 qam5

 

Gen Config:

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxxl500u+voc-b.cm

 

Network Log:

Time Priority Description

08/01/2020 09:15:59ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/01/2020 10:45:17Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/01/2020 00:07:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2020 17:22:29ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/01/2020 08:22:13criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/01/2020 14:40:11ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/01/2020 16:13:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/01/2020 18:13:8ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/01/2020 07:13:59ErrorDHCP REBIND sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/01/2020 11:57:57ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/01/2020 02:23:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/01/2020 12:21:35ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/01/2020 13:32:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/01/2020 22:13:54ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/01/2020 08:06:18ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/01/2020 08:29:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2020 10:04:33Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2020 12:50:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2020 03:11:24ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Can anyone shed any light ? Area 21 / SE8 postcode

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
582 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really bad upload speeds ! 485mbps down 0.16mbps up !!

Don't know about your area, but area 26 is definitely similar.  Signal keeps cutting out and both down & Upload rates very low (should be 200MB)  At worst my down load ranged from 0.6 to 30.  Still only ~50.  Rang CS but they keep telling me there's no fault on the system, which is obviously incorrect because I was getting ~ 170 download and around 30 upload before.  This has been going on for at least 5 days now.  They seem to have either a) no idea what's causing it or b) don't care as long as you get A signal at least some of the time!

I would phone CS anyway because you need to get the fault logged even if they don't do anything significant about fixing it.  

Highlighted
  • 42
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
572 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really bad upload speeds ! 485mbps down 0.16mbps up !!

OK mine is back to normal now, 550 down 35 up so it certainly must of been "something" on the backend which caused them to drop the speed for everyone ?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.42K
  • 475
  • 841
Hero
566 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really bad upload speeds ! 485mbps down 0.16mbps up !!

Firstly, forget Area 21 it is an administritive area not a technical area.

Thlast line in your Network Log is showing a 1970 date, I don't know why and don't know if it canneffect anything but it may be as well to do a 'Pin Hole Reset' and see if that helps and if that date changes.

With the Hub Powered on use a paperclip or similar do a pinhole reset.

Depress the pinhole switch for a timed 60 seconds then release.

DO NOT reboot the hub but allow it 5 to 10 minutes for it to boot itself up.

Once a steady white and no other lights are illuminated check your system again.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.49K
  • 565
  • 1.36K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
553 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Really bad upload speeds ! 485mbps down 0.16mbps up !!

Thlast line in your Network Log is showing a 1970 date, I don't know why and don't know if it canneffect anything

That's just a default date where the hub has failed to pick up the system clock via the CMTS (street cabinet) or even further upstream.  Of itself it isn't anything material, but it does show the hub is struggling to negotiate a connection with the CMTS, and goes hand in hand with frequent T3 timeouts and Partial Service flags.  If performance is back to normal there's nothing to worry about - as soon as the hub successfully synched with the CMTS it would correct its clock. 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 34
  • 1
  • 4
On our wavelength
490 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really bad upload speeds ! 485mbps down 0.16mbps up !!

I too am having problems in Area 26. Fine one minute, borked the next. 

I'm using the modem mode and a powerline mesh system. It's been fine up until the other day. Have reset everything multiple times.

I'd been away from Virgin for a few years after the oversubscribed area fiasco, had zero outages with EE. More fool me, eh?

0 Kudos
Reply