Menu
Reply
riskyflier
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
687 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Pre and Post errors after reboot

Hi, I'm getting about 50% of my 500MB download speed. I replaced all my cables to Cat6 and replaced some routers.

I looked at the VM router and noticed thousands of Pre and Post RS issues.

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1387000000-4.738256 qam28
2195000000-4.237256 qam8
3203000000-4.536256 qam9
4211000000-4.736256 qam10
5219000000-5.236256 qam11
6227000000-5.736256 qam12
7235000000-5.736256 qam13
8243000000-636256 qam14
9251000000-6.236256 qam15
10259000000-636256 qam16
11267000000-5.936256 qam17
12275000000-5.236256 qam18
13283000000-4.937256 qam19
14291000000-4.737256 qam20
15299000000-4.537256 qam21
16307000000-4.737256 qam22
17315000000-4.437256 qam23
18323000000-4.237256 qam24
19363000000-4.237256 qam25
20371000000-4.437256 qam26
21379000000-4.537256 qam27
22395000000-4.738256 qam29
23403000000-4.738256 qam30
24411000000-4.538256 qam31



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.632206760
2Locked37.31201767807
3Locked36.61058886219
4Locked36.61064525243
5Locked36.61167016058
6Locked36.61275107353
7Locked36.31411289814
8Locked36.31484478864
9Locked36.31470705858
10Locked36.31391286569
11Locked36.31302559115
12Locked36.61140008193
13Locked37.3967205350
14Locked37.3886955365
15Locked37.67655411397
16Locked37.3670697277
17Locked37.3557141131
18Locked37.6521031007
19Locked37.642788975
20Locked37.638098861
21Locked37.334981876
22Locked38.630398773
23Locked38.928668673
24Locked38.628315622

 

Hub 3.0 device information

The information below shows current status of this Hub 3.0.

Standard specification compliant: DOCSIS 3.0
Hardware version: 10
Software version: 9.1.1811.401
Cable MAC address: **:**:**:**:**:**
Cable modem serial number: AAAP83613939
System up time: 1 days 18h:17m:3s
Network access: Allowed

 

I mainly use fully wired with the kids using wifi.

I think there is an issue with my line. Can anyone confirm?

 

Many Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 6.86K
  • 1.31K
  • 1.9K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
685 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Pre and Post errors after reboot

Hello

From what you have posted I would say that some of the downstream power levels are too low below -6 and that is what is causing the problem, one thing I would do would be to go around and make sure that all coaxial connections to all VM equipment are finger tight best way is too undo the connections and then re-tighten, power off the hub again for 30 secs and then back on. If that doesnt resolve the problem then an engineer will be needed to correct those power levels.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
riskyflier
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
683 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Pre and Post errors after reboot

Thanks for the reply.

I did that yesterday. I did notice that I could move the coax connector within the wall box inside the house but the cables are screwed finger tight.

0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 6.86K
  • 1.31K
  • 1.9K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
680 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Pre and Post errors after reboot

Hello

Yep engineer will be needed something is certainly wrong.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

riskyflier
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
641 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Pre and Post errors after reboot

ok - Got in contact with a call center. They had me reset the router but still receive the same poor connection.

How do I get them to send an engineer?

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1387000000-537256 qam28
2195000000-4.536256 qam8
3203000000-4.736256 qam9
4211000000-5.236256 qam10
5219000000-5.536256 qam11
6227000000-636256 qam12
7235000000-636256 qam13
8243000000-6.536256 qam14
9251000000-6.536256 qam15
10259000000-6.236256 qam16
11267000000-636256 qam17
12275000000-5.436256 qam18
13283000000-537256 qam19
14291000000-4.937256 qam20
15299000000-4.737256 qam21
16307000000-4.737256 qam22
17315000000-4.537256 qam23
18323000000-4.437256 qam24
19363000000-4.538256 qam25
20371000000-4.737256 qam26
21379000000-4.937256 qam27
22395000000-538256 qam29
23403000000-537256 qam30
24411000000-4.937256 qam31



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.624802466
2Locked36.365934384
3Locked36.353534315
4Locked36.347614200
5Locked36.350224201
6Locked36.658854036
7Locked36.666633904
8Locked36.665853672
9Locked36.360693399
10Locked36.357223163
11Locked36.667052616
12Locked36.358662044
13Locked37.353221506
14Locked37.655021158
15Locked37.37214940
16Locked37.66148694
17Locked37.35165552
18Locked37.64562659
19Locked38.627342523
20Locked37.628332381
21Locked37.627442382
22Locked38.623572468
23Locked37.626242390
24Locked37.632022278
0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 6.86K
  • 1.31K
  • 1.9K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
637 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Pre and Post errors after reboot

Hello

I have escalated this to the VM forum staff team bare with them they will be along shortly.

Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
riskyflier
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
634 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Pre and Post errors after reboot

Thanks Mike - Appreciate your time.
0 Kudos
Reply
Alex_RM
  • 4.3K
  • 247
  • 327
Forum Team
Forum Team
495 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Pre and Post errors after reboot

Hi riskyflier,

 

Thanks for posting and sorry to hear you're having some issues with the connection.

 

I've had a look at the hub today and everything is showing within the specifications of what we'd expect. 

 

Has there been any change since your post on Monday?

 

Alex_Rm

0 Kudos
Reply
riskyflier
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
463 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Pre and Post errors after reboot

Hi Alex,

My tests show Down=390Mbps and Up=36.98Mbps.

Its still not 500Mbps I was getting before March this year. Still a lot of errors though.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1387000000-5.237256 qam28
2195000000-4.537256 qam8
3203000000-4.936256 qam9
4211000000-5.236256 qam10
5219000000-5.536256 qam11
6227000000-636256 qam12
7235000000-636256 qam13
8243000000-6.536256 qam14
9251000000-6.536256 qam15
10259000000-6.536256 qam16
11267000000-6.236256 qam17
12275000000-5.536256 qam18
13283000000-537256 qam19
14291000000-537256 qam20
15299000000-4.937256 qam21
16307000000-4.937256 qam22
17315000000-4.737256 qam23
18323000000-4.537256 qam24
19363000000-4.537256 qam25
20371000000-4.737256 qam26
21379000000-537256 qam27
22395000000-5.237256 qam29
23403000000-538256 qam30
24411000000-537256 qam31



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.61921636642
2Locked37.339373790366
3Locked36.638382172282
4Locked36.637996369333
5Locked36.638009781830
6Locked36.638657096457
7Locked36.6401899109786
8Locked36.3419141125348
9Locked36.3428883137797
10Locked36.3442451133569
11Locked36.3546057120668
12Locked36.645804696656
13Locked37.347992479081
14Locked37.644625145935
15Locked37.658890927607
16Locked37.335931713436
17Locked37.32590769823
18Locked37.32465698334
19Locked37.623226810825
20Locked37.62203139240
21Locked37.62063837781
22Locked37.61732985630
23Locked38.61556244901
24Locked37.61395443937
0 Kudos
Reply
Martin_N
  • 5.3K
  • 224
  • 302
Forum Team
Forum Team
453 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Pre and Post errors after reboot

Thank you for coming back to us riskyflier.

 

I have taken another look on our side and can see that an engineer is required to investigate this further. 

 

I will private message you now so we can look into this further. 

 

^Martin

0 Kudos
Reply