Menu
Reply
HGP
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
823 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Post RS errors intermittently slow speeds

Post RS errors and was unable to stream a TV show earlier that usually plays okay. 

Think broadband QM showing some noise on line.

192.168.0.1 says issue with WiFi but virgin media website says it's fine.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/1d297b0ebcccf3e65c1418080b18a1022a...

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID
1259000000340256 qam16
2251000000340256 qam15
32670000002.740256 qam17
42750000003.238256 qam18
52830000004.140256 qam19
62910000004.440256 qam20
72990000004.940256 qam21
83070000004.540256 qam22
93150000004.540256 qam23
103230000004.640256 qam24
113310000004.640256 qam25
123390000004.840256 qam26
13347000000540256 qam27
14355000000540256 qam28
15363000000540256 qam29
163710000004.540256 qam30
173790000004.540256 qam31
183870000004.540256 qam32
193950000004.540256 qam33
204030000004.540256 qam34
21411000000440256 qam35
224190000003.740256 qam36
235230000005.540256 qam37
245310000005.540256 qam38
https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/1d297b0ebcccf3e65c1418080b18a1022a870525
0 Kudos
Reply
HGP
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
822 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS errors intermittently slow speeds

Downstream bonded channels 

 

ChannelLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors
1Locked40.3151933
2Locked40.3140056
3Locked40.3159529
4Locked38.9144835
5Locked40.312000
6Locked40.998124
7Locked40.3113624
8Locked40.3116914
9Locked40.3106023
10Locked40.9108915
11Locked40.387790
12Locked40.9134611
13Locked40.3102914
14Locked40.3100012
15Locked40.98830
16Locked40.397135
17Locked40.3116834
18Locked40.395618
19Locked40.3109332
20Locked40.312371
21Locked40.3123435
22Locked40.9106815
23Locked40.3128167
24Locked40.3124556

 

 

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/1d297b0ebcccf3e65c1418080b18a1022a870525
0 Kudos
Reply
HGP
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
819 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS errors intermittently slow speeds

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID
13940000047.5512064 qam2
24620001547.8512064 qam1
33260000047.5512064 qam3
42579999647.5512064 qam4
      
      
Upstream bonded channels
     
ChannelChannel TypeT1 TimeoutsT2 TimeoutsT3 TimeoutsT4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0030
      
https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/1d297b0ebcccf3e65c1418080b18a1022a870525
0 Kudos
Reply
HGP
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
818 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS errors intermittently slow speeds

IMG_20211228_003652.jpg

IMG_20211228_003710.jpg

IMG_20211228_004307.jpg

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/1d297b0ebcccf3e65c1418080b18a1022a870525
0 Kudos
Reply
HGP
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
817 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS errors intermittently slow speeds

Sorry for the multiple posts I was having issues creating them.

Is there anything I can try doing to resolve these?

I wanted to check with the experts on here first as have not had best experience with support over the telephone. 

 

Many Thanks,

Hannah

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/1d297b0ebcccf3e65c1418080b18a1022a870525
0 Kudos
Reply
HGP
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
806 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS errors intermittently slow speeds

Should have mentioned it's hub 3 on 100mb package. 

Usually maximum 4 devices connected normally 1-3 (2 smartphones and a TV) on this occasion there was a tablet and 3rd smartphone using would this be enough to push it over? 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/1d297b0ebcccf3e65c1418080b18a1022a870525
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 33.82K
  • 3.32K
  • 6.43K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
793 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS errors intermittently slow speeds

BQM looks finr - Hub data ok - the RS errors may be historic build up so can you do as below..

Also, are the issues only evident on wifi connections or do you see them at the same times on devices connected on ethernet cables? If you don't know, can you check to help diagnose whether it is just a wifi issue or it could be network connection related?

What are the various Hub lights showing/doing when this happens?
_________________________________________________________

Switch the Hub off and unplug it from the mains supply for five minutes. Whilst it's off, do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box (no “staples, etc.,) piercing the cables.. Then switch the Hub back on and leave ~5 minutes

When all done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts and T3 errors have all reset to 0. Then check every hour or so to see if they start reappearing - they shouldn't. If they do (particularly the postRS and T3 ones) you have a problem (noise) that only a Tech visit will sort.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
HGP
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
737 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS errors intermittently slow speeds

Spoiler
 

Thank you, I'll do this later on and come back to you. 

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/1d297b0ebcccf3e65c1418080b18a1022a870525
0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 6.11K
  • 513
  • 1.58K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
677 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS errors intermittently slow speeds

BQM is a bit busy at peak times but your PostRS errors should be zero. Something to keep an eye on. 
Also do not upgrade your speed, as 100mb is fine for your devices, and it will make no difference to the state of your incoming circuit. 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

David_Bn
  • 8.68K
  • 363
  • 670
Forum Team
Forum Team
579 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS errors intermittently slow speeds

Good Afternoon @HGP, thanks for your post

Are you able to provide us with an update on intermittent slow speeds?

There doesn't appear to be any outages currently showing in the local area.

Do you experience issues on Wi-Fi connections only, or is the replicated on Ethernet connections also?

Kindest regards,

David_Bn

0 Kudos
Reply