Menu
Reply
monks600
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
604 Views
Message 1 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Post RS-ERRORS really bad

Hi there,

 

noticed over the past few days that my post rs errors have gone through the roof. They’re really bad, and this is ever since swapping over to the free 600mb package from 500mb.

 

I could be reading this wrong, but my upstream bonded power channels look extremely high.. shouldn’t they be in the 3.4-5.00 range and not 41.3 and above? Unless the measuring metrics for power have changed lol

checked all connections are tight in and around the house and followed the coax back to the fiber termination point near my front door and this was also fine at the fiber to coax converter. Unscrewed all ends and reseated to ensure they were secure and free of debris. I’m guessing something needs to be changed at the cab to rectify this or there’s an area wide issues.

 

please see screenshots. 

B61D5732-A937-4268-BD1F-D429CF2479A6.png

6628E5CC-5623-4754-A83F-11A0B74801FA.png

0BA2AF40-BFC2-4647-A9AF-0E407867C3AF.png

4682C23C-F2B4-4FE6-9707-07A22A9F7FE7.png

484E87BE-D8C0-464A-818E-51B9E98D6707.png

E45525ED-90BC-47DC-80DC-BBD033948A6C.png

2A9E2000-3C47-4347-B078-46FDE19207AA.png

479A7DD0-EFD7-4A0F-9A78-0C338978E9A2.png

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
585 Views
Message 2 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS-ERRORS really bad

Your images are barely legible.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
monks600
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
579 Views
Message 3 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS-ERRORS really bad

Downstream: 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1426750000638256 qam33
2218750000538256 qam11
32267500005.138256 qam12
4234750000538256 qam13
5242750000538256 qam14
62507500004.938256 qam15
7258750000538256 qam16
82667500005.538256 qam17
92747500005.538256 qam18
102827500005.838256 qam19
112907500005.838256 qam20
122987500006.338256 qam21
133067500006.140256 qam22
143147500006.138256 qam23
15322750000638256 qam24
16330750000640256 qam25
173707500005.938256 qam26
183787500005.638256 qam27
193867500005.938256 qam28
203947500005.638256 qam29
214027500005.538256 qam30
224107500005.638256 qam31
234187500005.538256 qam32
244347500005.538256 qam34



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.91454513103
2Locked38.6317018364588
3Locked38.948765384471
4Locked38.952709062368
5Locked38.948869946697
6Locked38.960978853226
7Locked38.951001065507
8Locked38.932674554126
9Locked38.920015637647
10Locked38.910700818952
11Locked38.916135631264
12Locked38.621559442979
13Locked40.37369836313
14Locked38.91983423144
15Locked38.91407410680
16Locked40.31646024600
17Locked38.61513217977
18Locked38.61666920033
19Locked38.91596516962
20Locked38.6112128228
21Locked38.997656440
22Locked38.91361413285
23Locked38.91841014884
24Locked38.9100576894

 

Upstream:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

12580000043.3512064 qam4
25369998144.3512064 qam5
33259993943.8512064 qam3
43940000043.8512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000




0 Kudos
Reply
monks600
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
578 Views
Message 4 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS-ERRORS really bad

Configuration: 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
yewrkldJKDHSUBsgvca69834ncxv9



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID5798
Max Traffic Rate690000278
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID3732
Max Traffic Rate44000278
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network Logs:

Network Log

Time Priority Description

03/12/2020 12:45:34Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/12/2020 12:37:15noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/12/2020 12:29:13noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/12/2020 12:29:13ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/12/2020 10:45:35Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/12/2020 03:40:55criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/12/2020 03:20:1Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/12/2020 00:53:2criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/12/2020 00:43:6Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/12/2020 20:52:5criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/12/2020 20:43:3Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/12/2020 18:03:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/12/2020 06:16:58Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/12/2020 04:52:16criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/12/2020 15:40:5Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/12/2020 13:20:5criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/11/2020 05:20:15Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/11/2020 00:29:13noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/11/2020 00:29:13ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/11/2020 15:05:21Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
575 Views
Message 5 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS-ERRORS really bad

Apart from your Pre & Post RS Error counts being high the rest of the Hub data looks OK..

In an ideal world your Pre & Post RS Error would be at zero and stay there. To zero them can you reboot the Hub using this method and then keep an eye on the counts.

Switch the Hub off using the small switch on the rear of the Hub next to the power cord and pull the PSU plug from the wall socket.

Give it a good 5 minutes put the plug back in and switch the Hub back on.

Allow the Hub a few minutes to fully restart then check the counts again in an hour or so.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
574 Views
Message 6 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS-ERRORS really bad

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 3.92K
  • 303
  • 941
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
566 Views
Message 7 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS-ERRORS really bad


@monks600 wrote:

<snip> I could be reading this wrong, but my upstream bonded power channels look extremely high.. shouldn’t they be in the 3.4-5.00 range and not 41.3 and above? Unless the measuring metrics for power have changed lol  <snip>


That's a well documented "feature" ( read bug ) in the firmware, the decimal point is in the wrong place!  The power levels are 34 to 51. 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
monks600
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
563 Views
Message 8 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS-ERRORS really bad

Hub has been rebooted, post RS errors shoot right up after only a few minutes.

I have the Hub in modem mode which is then attached to an Unifi USG Gateway. I've tried both in modem mode and router mode with the same results.

I will post the broadband monitor in a moment, just had to create a firewall rule to allow ICMP ping requests for that broadband monitor on the UniFi USG.

 

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Reply
monks600
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
562 Views
Message 9 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS-ERRORS really bad

Ah, that makes sense. Thank you for clearing that up! Much appreciated. 

0 Kudos
Reply
monks600
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
545 Views
Message 10 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Post RS-ERRORS really bad

My BQM 

 
0 Kudos
Reply