Menu
Reply
maullah
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
780 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Poor speed on 350m package

Hello,

Have been with Virgin for 15+ years and usually very good speed and service. I am experiencing several problems over last 1 month that I was hoping would go away but seems like that is not happening.

My setup: Hub 3 in Modem mode connected to PC with CAT6, 350M package

Problems:

1) Often speed below 250M, dropping down below 90M at times, specially in the evenings

2) Very high ping when speed is low

3) Significant throttling of non Virgin Media Usenet server connections which was not seen before March 2020

 

I would appreciate if someone could check out the issues please. Also, any idea when 1G package would be available in Bedford? Many Thanks.

 

MU

 

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.46K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.05K
Alessandro Volta
768 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed on 350m package

What other router are you using if you’re in modem mode?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
maullah
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
757 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed on 350m package

Asus RT-AC3200

Firmware version 3.0.0.4.382_52230

 

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.46K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.05K
Alessandro Volta
754 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed on 350m package

what speed do you get wired direct to the hub without the router?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
maullah
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
731 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed on 350m package

Here are a couple of speed tests while my PC is directly connected to Hub3 by Cat6.... no router in the loop. Look at the variability of ping and speed with in a few minutes. Is there some network problem going on in the Virgin Media network?

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.46K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.05K
Alessandro Volta
716 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed on 350m package

Post the network, upstream and downstream logs from the hub admin pages 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
maullah
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
703 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed on 350m package

Here they are...

DS1.jpgDS2.jpgUS.jpg

The network log is a bit messy. Sorry.

 

Network Log
Time
Priority
Description
03/06/2020 19:35:2
notice
LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:31
critical
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2020 16:47:27
notice
LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/06/2020 18:05:37
Error
DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/06/2020 03:55:49
critical
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/05/2020 17:02:32
Error
DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/05/2020 14:04:21
Error
DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/05/2020 12:02:25
critical
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/05/2020 05:09:59
Error
DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/05/2020 18:43:8
critical
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/05/2020 17:17:29
Error
DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/05/2020 05:59:50
critical
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/05/2020 02:12:31
Error
DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/05/2020 23:21:2
Error
DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/05/2020 08:22:18
critical
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/05/2020 20:52:31
Error
DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/05/2020 21:34:7
Error
DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/05/2020 14:16:56
critical
No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/05/2020 08:06:49
Error
DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/05/2020 04:44:55
Error
DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
maullah
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
640 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed on 350m package

Well, any clues from the logs?

0 Kudos
Reply
maullah
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
619 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed on 350m package

No one here from Virgin Media to help? So many similar complaints about speed. What's going on?

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.46K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.05K
Alessandro Volta
594 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed on 350m package

A mod will respond to it when they can

Bumping the post just pushes it to the bottom of the todo pile 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply