Menu
Reply
garpat32
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
660 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Poor Broadband performance

Hi all,

 

Over the past couple of weeks our 350mb broadband has been suffering with poor performance and I've noticed random reboots of the router. I originally called up to log it to find that "there is an issue in your area that is affecting multiple users" however it isn't a big enough outage to be logged on the service status so it isn't listed anywhere. They said they were unable to send an engineer because of this "outage".

 

OK, that's fair enough, but now two weeks later, I'm still seeing the same issues, speeds can drop to below 50Mbps download and as little as 0.08 upload, then it will pick up and we get over 300 and 30 respectively. This seems to happen every so often during the day.

I called again today to explain, and again told as above, outage in area, not big enough to be classed as major outage so it isn't reported on the website etc. Cant send engineer until this is cleared. So no idea if its my hub, or the cabling as have to wait for "outage" to be fixed first, oh and there's no timescale to fix it?

So here is a look at the logs on the router, "Hub 3.0" I have done the usual, factory reset, no other devices connected etc, but still no better.

05/10/2020 18:50:22Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 18:50:22criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 18:43:19Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 18:43:4criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12670000003.740256 qam17
22030000002.440256 qam9
32110000002.240256 qam10
42190000002.540256 qam11
52270000002.740256 qam12
62350000002.740256 qam13
72430000002.740256 qam14
82510000002.740256 qam15
9259000000340256 qam16
102750000004.140256 qam18
112830000004.540256 qam19
122910000004.940256 qam20
132990000005.440256 qam21
14307000000540256 qam22
15315000000540256 qam23
163230000005.140256 qam24
173630000005.540256 qam25
183710000004.840256 qam26
193790000004.540256 qam27
203870000004.340256 qam28
21395000000440256 qam29
224030000003.740256 qam30
234110000004.540256 qam31
244190000004.940256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.918561301220147
2Locked40.915573671837467
3Locked40.317069961564690
4Locked40.317810361437896
5Locked40.319501401305309
6Locked40.319030581317499
7Locked40.918221481293052
8Locked40.919110821153722
9Locked40.918469111212555
10Locked40.318979451079178
11Locked40.92196849642807
12Locked40.92224116600644
13Locked40.92019729816256
14Locked40.92108791628993
15Locked40.92177739212642
16Locked40.91971245186329
17Locked40.3157588226405
18Locked40.9177778358545
19Locked40.9182660369594
20Locked40.3174417574219
21Locked40.9177536582158
22Locked40.9173959180362
23Locked40.9143462650666
24Locked40.9132081311646

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462000005.1512064 qam3
2394000005.1512064 qam4
3537000005.1512064 qam2
4603000005.1512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
garpat32
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
658 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband performance

I appreciate the above is a huge post for a first post 😀 but I appreciate any help at all.

 

Cheers.

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
648 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband performance

Your upstream power levels are too high:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462000005.1512064 qam3
2394000005.1512064 qam4
3537000005.1512064 qam2
4603000005.1512064 qam1

 

The above values are actually 51dBmV, the HUB 3 has a firmware bug that reports a decimal out.

This would explain the issue with upload and the large number of errors on your downstream channels, causing slow download speed (The HUB is having to work overtime correcting these errors).

garpat32
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
638 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband performance

Oh, good to know thanks.

 

As above though they are unwilling to do anything as they still say there is a local outage and won't be able to send engineer. I was really going round in circles on the phone and felt really bad for the CS advisor as we could both see there was no way to resolve this. 😐

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
635 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband performance

Yeah, once the local outage is cleared reboot your HUB and check the levels.

If they are still bad then an engineer visit should be arranged.

0 Kudos
Reply
garpat32
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
537 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband performance

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/adebe6e2871d7fd31fcb77fb27c050a244... 

 

Yeh, local issue ongoing for over two weeks now, and doesn't affect my next door neighbour, lol.

 

 
0 Kudos
Reply
garpat32
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
538 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband performance

Aye, and there is the issue as the "outage" has been ongoing for over two weeks now, and they cant say when it may be sorted. It doesn't affect my next door neighbour though, weirdly. 

 

So that's why I was saying I'm just going round in circles with support on this.

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/adebe6e2871d7fd31fcb77fb27c050a244... 

0 Kudos
Reply
garpat32
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
585 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband performance

And there lies the problem. The "outage" has been ongoing for over two weeks, and they advise there's no timescale to fix it. Even though my next door neighbour has reliable speeds.

 

I've tried to explain but my issue could be my equipment, but no joy, they insist on adding it to a local outage issue. 😔😔

0 Kudos
Reply
bluesky161
  • 49
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
516 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband performance

Hi,

 

Same here. Last two weeks no joy. (Stockport area)

Upload speed goes down to 0.00-0.5mbps. Download speeds also effected. Cannot do Zoom/Teams or any proper work reliably. Had to use phone data/4g, or go to the (temp) office.

Any indication when it is going to be fixed?

 

Note: Post/pre RS errors go to millions soon after SH3 reboot (Modem mode). 350/35 connection, wired. (virgin customer 20+years. This is the worst it has ever been)

Broadband monitor, last 24hBroadband monitor, last 24h

 

Upload speed from 18/09/2020Upload speed from 18/09/2020 

0 Kudos
Reply
garpat32
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
479 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband performance

Who would have guessed it?

 

Spoke to CS again today, "oh there's no local issues reported in your area, but we can see a fault on your line"??

 

Great, so over two weeks of poor speeds and drop outs, fobbed off by Customer Services and we finally are getting somewhere. Engineer visit booked.