Menu
Reply
adamgamsa
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
547 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Ping spikes

Hi there, I'm getting ping spikes and dropped connections on my ethernet-wired connection to a superhub 3.  Please could you check the power figures below?

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1418750000140256 qam27
2202750000340256 qam9
3210750000340256 qam10
42187500002.740256 qam11
52267500002.540256 qam12
62347500002.240256 qam13
72427500002.240256 qam14
8250750000240256 qam15
92587500001.740256 qam16
102667500001.740256 qam17
112747500001.540256 qam18
122827500001.740256 qam19
132907500001.940256 qam20
142987500002.240256 qam21
153067500002.240256 qam22
163147500002.240256 qam23
17322750000240256 qam24
184027500000.540256 qam25
194107500000.740256 qam26
204267500000.940256 qam28
21434750000040256 qam29
224427500000.240256 qam30
234507500000.740256 qam31
244587500000.740256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.31836517300
2Locked40.9223088158
3Locked40.3242884278
4Locked40.9254582014
5Locked40.3259077491
6Locked40.9263776877
7Locked40.9284069999
8Locked40.9294768574
9Locked40.3308264486
10Locked40.3320560673
11Locked40.3332057672
12Locked40.3364854081
13Locked40.3394351010
14Locked40.3436148701
15Locked40.3483745876
16Locked40.3526443989
17Locked40.9577743051
18Locked40.31566624269
19Locked40.91711220886
20Locked40.91878315411
21Locked40.91908414623
22Locked40.91921411585
23Locked40.9190019223
24Locked40.9187197522
0 Kudos
Reply
adamgamsa
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
546 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping spikes

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1536999963.7512064 qam2
2394000093.725512064 qam4
3461999863.725512064 qam3
4603000043.475512064 qam1


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
adamgamsa
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
489 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping spikes

Can anyone help me with this please?

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.46K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.05K
Alessandro Volta
484 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping spikes

When was the hub last rebooted?

Please also don’t “bump” posts. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
adamgamsa
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
480 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping spikes

Just before taking the readings. Do you know whether the power readings etc are in spec?

0 Kudos
Reply
adamgamsa
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
473 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping spikes

Here is a picture of the ping spikes

 

Annotation 2020-05-28 145243.png

0 Kudos
Reply
adamgamsa
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
455 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping spikes

Let's try a JPG because that PNG image didn't seem to work

 

Annotation 2020-05-28 145243.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.46K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.05K
Alessandro Volta
441 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Ping spikes

Images need approving before being publicised.

Theres a lot of post-RS errors in the downstream pointing to a potential noise issue.

Youll need to either call this in or wait for a forum mod/tech to pick this up.

DO NOT bump the post as it will push it down the list to action. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
adamgamsa
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
416 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Ping spikes

I've phoned the helpline and been told that Virgin is not fixing any faults except complete loss of broadband because of Covid.  Is that right?  If so, sounds like I'm going to be joining a long queue to have the noise investigated.

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.46K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.05K
Alessandro Volta
414 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Ping spikes

No that’s not right at all


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply