Menu
Reply
mason_chan168
  • 27
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
638 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Paying for 350MB getting 150MB

Hello

I just did a speed test and I normally get the full speed but recently I'm only getting 150mb. 

Is this happening across UK due to lockdown? If so can we get some discount off our bills.

in M27 area

Thanks 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Marty20
  • 165
  • 22
  • 29
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
634 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 350MB getting 150MB

Hi

Sorry to hear this. Can you please private message me your account number and area reference so I can look into this for you. To private message me, just hover over my profile picture and click Send Message when the option comes up. Please be mindful not to post those details in a public reply. Thanks, Marty


If I've helped in any way, please give me Kudos and mark my response as a helpful answer!

Fancy £50 off your bill? Ask me how and you might just get it!

I am a serving Field Technician at Virgin Media however all responses are based on my experiences in the field and my own equipment at home and should be taken as such.


Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more


0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.38K
  • 2.4K
  • 3.99K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
611 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 350MB getting 150MB

If you think that you have a BB speed problem, then to check the speeds coming in to your Hub properly, and whether they match what you should be getting, you cannot rely on wifi tests, - no BB supplier guarantees those - only speeds "to" the Hub are guaranteed. So, you need to do it directly.... that's on an ethernet cable (Cat5e/6) connected to a Gb enabled computer/laptop, with the Hub in modem mode. Test at speedtest.net to your nearest VM server - try 2 different browsers.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
mason_chan168
  • 27
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
537 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 350MB getting 150MB

Hello

I did do a test on a computer that was connected to the virgin media router via cat 6 cable and the computer have gigabit lan.

This is the same computer when I had the internet installed and was fine at 350mb. Used speedtest.net and thinkbroadband.com/speedtest onb different browsers both came back with 140-150mb.

Also since last week something strange is happening to my router. Every morning I have to restart the router or it will not connect via ethernet, on the computer it says no internet connection, after reboot it works again till I turn off the computer for few hours and again it will not connect till hard reboot router. This first happened to me last Thursday, had engineer out Friday who replaced my router and its acting up again. I've temperately disconnected everything apart from the pc in case theres something in the network causing the router to act funny.

When I call virgin all they ask if to factory reset and monitor the speed/issue, feel like going round in circles!

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 2.88K
  • 216
  • 610
Trouble shooter
531 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 350MB getting 150MB

Usual request. Post Network logs and power levels so we can comment.
0 Kudos
Reply
mason_chan168
  • 27
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
530 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 350MB getting 150MB

Posting my router stats if anyone could help. Thanks in advance

 

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
402750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39400000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1402750000-0.438256 qam25
22027500001.738256 qam9
32107500001.538256 qam10
42187500001.240256 qam11
5226750000138256 qam12
62347500000.938256 qam13
72427500000.538256 qam14
82507500000.438256 qam15
92587500000.538256 qam16
102667500000.738256 qam17
112747500000.938256 qam18
12282750000138256 qam19
13290750000138256 qam20
14298750000138256 qam21
153067500000.738256 qam22
163147500000.738256 qam24
173227500000.738256 qam23
18410750000-0.238256 qam26
19418750000-0.538256 qam27
20426750000-0.538256 qam28
21434750000-0.738256 qam29
22442750000-0.738256 qam30
23450750000-0.938256 qam31
24458750000-0.938256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.900
2Locked38.650
3Locked38.950
4Locked40.350
5Locked38.960
6Locked38.650
7Locked38.930
8Locked38.900
9Locked38.650
10Locked38.960
11Locked38.970
12Locked38.640
13Locked38.950
14Locked38.640
15Locked38.960
16Locked38.6180
17Locked38.9170
18Locked38.6190
19Locked38.950
20Locked38.950
21Locked38.970
22Locked38.670
23Locked38.940
24Locked38.650

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000004.8512064 qam2
2462000004.875512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
mason_chan168
  • 27
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
528 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 350MB getting 150MB

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxl35016u-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID16934
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID16933
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

29/04/2020 13:47:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/04/2020 07:04:37noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2020 00:44:57criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2020 10:22:31noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2020 10:22:4Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2020 10:02:0noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
23/04/2020 10:00:6noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
23/04/2020 10:00:3ErrorDisruption during SW download - Power Failure
23/04/2020 09:57:14noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:01:37criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/02/2020 00:10:54noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/09/2019 04:41:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/09/2019 20:10:8noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V03b070232460788a.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/09/2019 20:10:8ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/09/2019 17:02:14ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/09/2019 15:08:24criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/09/2019 19:07:19ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/09/2019 00:22:2criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/09/2019 23:17:12noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V03b070232460788a.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/09/2019 23:17:12ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 2.88K
  • 216
  • 610
Trouble shooter
525 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 350MB getting 150MB

You have only 2 Upstream channels, should be 4. So, something is amiss. Wait here for a VM Tech to pick this up.
David_Bn
  • 4.91K
  • 226
  • 402
Forum Team
Forum Team
517 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 350MB getting 150MB

Good Evening mason_chan168,

 

Thanks for your post on our Community Forums!

 

Let's take a look into this to see if we can have this resolved for you

 

Please check out the purple envelope in the top right hand corner of the screen for a PM from me

 

Kindest regards,

 

David_Bn

 

0 Kudos
Reply
mason_chan168
  • 27
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
469 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 350MB getting 150MB

This is still not solved btw. I had the engineer called that they've been told only to visit customers who have no internet at all so appointment was cancelled. Can I set my direct debit to half the price till this gets fixed then?

0 Kudos
Reply