Menu
Reply
kamiosoup
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
749 Views
Message 1 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Paying for 100mb for months, never seen above 30mb

Hi I think I need an engineer because the last few days are driving me insane with these offensive speeds (9mb/s even right next to the router at night)

Today is a LITTLE better with 31mb/s, but that's still 70% less than the speeds i'm paying for. Something needs to be done. These speeds apply to both wireless & wired. Multiple devices having the same issue with absurdly slow speed for most of the time.

Tested my Galaxy S8 directly next to router (literally 1cm away) and it's getting 29 mb/s speed. Please don't tell me "wifi speeds are not guaranteed" it's so tiresome

Tags (4)
0 Kudos
Reply
kamiosoup
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
747 Views
Message 2 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 100mb for months, never seen above 30mb

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14190000006.637256 qam32
22030000008.138256 qam9
32110000008.138256 qam10
42190000007.938256 qam11
52270000007.537256 qam12
62350000007.436256 qam13
72430000007.436256 qam14
8251000000736256 qam15
9259000000737256 qam16
102670000007.337256 qam17
112750000006.937256 qam18
122830000006.637256 qam19
132910000006.938256 qam20
14299000000738256 qam21
153070000006.538256 qam22
163150000006.538256 qam23
173230000006.838256 qam24
183630000006.435256 qam25
193710000006.436256 qam26
203790000006.837256 qam27
213870000006.638256 qam28
223950000006.437256 qam29
234030000006.537256 qam30
24411000000737256 qam31



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.324188762
2Locked38.6267724038
3Locked38.6130083216
4Locked38.6154893345
5Locked37.6127373347
6Locked36.646972798
7Locked36.639442576
8Locked36.635622611
9Locked37.334842681
10Locked37.331402595
11Locked37.629102798
12Locked37.641532747
13Locked38.642373035
14Locked38.642891827
15Locked38.628432140
16Locked38.931632423
17Locked38.629802094
18Locked35.736385208
19Locked36.339252453
20Locked37.338952366
21Locked38.630999976
22Locked37.3463210076
23Locked37.3301610556
24Locked37.6316010217
0 Kudos
Reply
kamiosoup
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
745 Views
Message 3 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 100mb for months, never seen above 30mb

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462000173.9512064 qam3
2394000193.9512064 qam4
3537000293.9512064 qam2
4603000174.05512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
kamiosoup
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
744 Views
Message 4 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 100mb for months, never seen above 30mb

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
9873254k;fg87dsfd;kfoA,.iyewrkldJ



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID29737
Max Traffic Rate117000047
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID29736
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
kamiosoup
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
742 Views
Message 5 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 100mb for months, never seen above 30mb

To add on to all this, i've reset router multiple times (power + even factory reset pin method), tried various relocation of the router etc. Nothing is helping.

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
730 Views
Message 6 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 100mb for months, never seen above 30mb

You can split the two wifi bands into two SSIDs (Network names), as I have done below, by appending the existing name with '_2G' and '_5G':

Once you Apply Changes at the bottom you must reconnect all wireless devices since the SSID has changed.

You are now deciding which band each device connects to, rather than the HUB, which means you may get faster speeds.

0 Kudos
Reply
kamiosoup
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
659 Views
Message 7 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 100mb for months, never seen above 30mb

I did that, now i'm the only person connected to the 5ghz band and my download speeds have dropped to 5.7mb/s 

 

Virgin PLEASE contact me to arrange an engineer to fix this i'm losing my mind

0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16.54K
  • 1.31K
  • 3.9K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
653 Views
Message 8 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 100mb for months, never seen above 30mb

on the evidence posted theres nothing to fix - theres some noise on the line shown by the pre and post rs errors but i would not think thats the cause of single digit download speeds - wait for VM to get to the thread and tst things from their side but [as said] levels are good

what are you testing the wired speeds on

you say you have split the bands - have you turned off smart wifi

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
kamiosoup
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
620 Views
Message 9 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 100mb for months, never seen above 30mb

testing the wired speeds on 2 different laptops, HP & Dell with a brand new Cat 7 ethernet cable from Amazon (tested 3 others too). Best I could manage on that was 32ish MB/s

I've forked out £150 for a Netgear Nighthawk as it seems to be a common theme that the Hub 3.0 is embarrassing and uses a chipset from like 2004. I will see if anything improves with that, if not I will refund and look at different providers because this is infuriating paying so much for so little gain. I'm paying for a service that VM can't even provide 50% of

🙄

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
612 Views
Message 10 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Paying for 100mb for months, never seen above 30mb

The internet speed of your Nighthawk will be no better than the internet speed of your Hub 3.

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you can post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply