Menu
Reply
kej999
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
371 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Packet loss, high latency since 15th Sept.

Hi Folks,

  I've just called the support team but have been asked to wait 24 hours due to there being a potential transitory error.  I thought I'd better just check with knowledgable people first to see if there's something to try. More to the point, does it look like I have a separate problem to any ongoing issues? Any advice would be appreciated.

 Since some planned maintenance in my area (15th Sept), we've been getting notably intermittant connections. The majority of the time, speed is good (200+ down, 20+ up, M200 service). Recently though, things have becoming intermittent and will grind to a halt for a number of seconds/minutes, multiple times an hour.

My original setup;

  • SH3 (modem mode, 1st floor feed) feeding TP-Link Deco M9+ mesh by ethernet, my computer on ethernet from a slave M9+.

After recabling changes (retightened connections, swapped cables,swapped cable feed etc etc) I set it back up to something more standard for the phone support team prior to reporting it;

  • SH3 (router mode, wifi off, gnd floor feed) feeding TP-Link Deco M9+ mesh by ethernet, my computer on ethernet from the SH3.

  VM's automated tests say it's fine (I got one referral to book an engineer last week but it's not been offered since). Today's phone call gave no errors when tested by the support team member. However, I'm still getting dropped packets and spiky ping response times though.  Large quantities of post-RS errors are turning up with "RCS Partial Service" and "Lost MDD Timeout" errors in log files. The SH3 internet status now says, "Partial Service (DS only)".

BQM;

SH3:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11387500004.337256 qam1
2146750000437256 qam2
31547500004.137256 qam3
41627500004.136256 qam4
51707500004.537256 qam5
6178750000437256 qam6
7186750000437256 qam7
81947500003.537256 qam8
9202750000337256 qam9
102267500002.530256 qam12
112347500001.737256 qam13
122427500001.737256 qam14
132507500002.237256 qam15
142587500002.737256 qam16
152667500002.537256 qam17
162747500002.937256 qam18
17282750000338256 qam19
182907500004.338256 qam20
192987500005.538256 qam21
203067500006.138256 qam22
213147500006.540256 qam23
223227500006.540256 qam24


Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.312288113
2Locked37.6899885
3Locked37.31108093600
4Locked36.61015286
5Locked37.613888
6Locked37.612690
7Locked37.617385
8Locked37.3432239
9Locked37.316060
10Locked30.4124048954297708698
11Locked37.313253
12Locked37.616759
13Locked37.614758
14Locked37.615155
15Locked37.610753
16Locked37.68655
17Locked38.69963
18Locked38.95557
19Locked38.63950
20Locked38.94862
21Locked40.34552
22Locked40.34736

 

Channels 10-12 seem to be the ones consistently building up errors in other logs I've taken. Any suggestions on things to try?

Regards,

Keith

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.4K
  • 2.69K
  • 4.89K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
348 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss, high latency since 15th Sept.

Down channel 10 looks borked. Can you start from a clean sheet by doing the below. Also post the BQM link to "share live graph" so its the actual most recent one.
_____________________________________________________

Switch the Hub off and unplug it from the mains supply for five minutes. Whilst it's off, do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box (no “staples, etc.,) piercing the cables.. Then switch the Hub back on and leave ~5 minutes

When all done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts and T3 errors have all reset to 0. Also that channel 10 SNR has reverted to >34dB. Then check every hour or so to see if the RS errors start reappearing - they shouldn't.

If they do (particularly the postRS ones) you have a problem (noise) that only a Tech visit will sort.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Travis_M
  • 1.59K
  • 59
  • 130
Forum Team
Forum Team
342 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss, high latency since 15th Sept.

Hi @kej999

 

Thanks for posting on our community forum!

 

Could you follow the above advice from jbrennand please?

 

Once this has been followed I can check on my end and if needed we'll have to get a tech booked to review the noise issues if so.

 

Regards

Travis_M
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
kej999
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
322 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss, high latency since 15th Sept.

Hi jbrennand,

Thanks for the help. It is much appreciated!

I'm sorry I didn't respond promptly. Today ended up as a write-off (brother-in-law ill) and I haven't even phoned VM yet. Strangely enough though, I had to do 90% of that yesterday because the SH3 had a bit of a wobbly. I'll do another re-cables/reset in a minute. I'll check the external cabling tomorrow am.

Regards,

Keith

.

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
kej999
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
313 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss, high latency since 15th Sept.

Right okay. Additional stuff.

Here's the BQM graphs for the last two days and a live one for today onwards.

Tuesday 5/10/2021

Wednesday 6/10/2021

Live 

On the Wednesday graph you can see the wobble it had at 12:00am-2:00am. There's an initial red spike where the SH3 rebooted itself. It does that every night so I'm presuming its preventative maintenance. This time it didn't recover normally. Rather than the usual few disconnects you get as the ethernet ports get reconfigured, my PC just carried on getting disconnected. Checking that, you could see it attempting to autonegotiate a port speed, accepting 10Mb/s and then giving up and disconnecting again. I rebooted my PC but that didn't help so I powered the SH3 down and gave it a good reset (holding reset button for 50+ second etc). That seemed to do something but the stats still showed problems hours later

 ...Just *before* I reset everything again for the clean slate tonight I grabbed stats...Not only was 10 borked but channel 11 and 12 had joined the party 🙂

Downstream bonded channels 
     
ChannelLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors
... etc etc    
10Locked32.932997202836541
11Locked32.6225664579327
12Locked33.822040933334
... etc etc    

 

Currently it's looking okay-ish but it's looked okay many times before. Here's the fresh stats and the modem says it's online

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked36.6200
2Locked37.3150
3Locked37.370
4Locked37.370
5Locked37.6200
6Locked37.3200
7Locked37.34202
8Locked37.6190
9Locked37.640
10Locked35.5240
11Locked35.7170
12Locked35.5250
13Locked37.300
14Locked37.360
15Locked37.620
16Locked37.670
17Locked37.680
18Locked37.650
19Locked37.610
20Locked38.900
21Locked38.650
22Locked38.950
23Locked38.650
24Locked38.9180

 

Time for sleep. I'm not holding my breath though 😞

Regards,

Keith

0 Kudos
Reply
kej999
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
311 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss, high latency since 15th Sept.

Thanks Travis_M. Much obliged 🙂

I'll report back after a snooze.

Regards,

Keith

0 Kudos
Reply
kej999
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
273 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss, high latency since 15th Sept.

A quick update. I still haven't phoned as there's nothing really there to report (I'm not sure if I should put smiley or frownie for that... ha ha!).

The cables outside look okay-ish, there no additional kinks on anything exposed (at least). The majority of cabling got concreted in many months ago (after being run over and fixed multiple times - another story!). The termination box is tatty but intact (to be expected after 10-15 years).

All-in-all there doesn't appear to be anything obviously wrong. The stats are hanging in there. Channels 10-12 have all dropped in power since this morning but there's only a few 10,000's of pre-rs errors so far.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11387500002.536256 qam1
21467500002.236256 qam2
31547500002.236256 qam3
41627500002.236256 qam4
51707500002.537256 qam5
61787500002.237256 qam6
71867500001.936256 qam7
81947500001.537256 qam8
92027500001.237256 qam9
102107500000.234256 qam10
11218750000034256 qam11
12226750000034256 qam12
13234750000-0.536256 qam13
14242750000037256 qam14
15250750000-0.237256 qam15
162587500000.437256 qam16
172667500000.537256 qam17
182747500000.537256 qam18
192827500000.737256 qam19
202907500002.238256 qam20
21298750000338256 qam21
223067500003.538256 qam22
233147500003.738256 qam23
243227500003.538256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked36.31350
2Locked36.6800
3Locked36.6280
4Locked36.6280
5Locked37.3260
6Locked37.3240
7Locked36.614202
8Locked37.3220
9Locked37.3230
10Locked34.4169590
11Locked34.447180
12Locked34.355370
13Locked36.630
14Locked37.670
15Locked37.350
16Locked37.3270
17Locked37.690
18Locked37.680
19Locked37.680
20Locked38.6140
21Locked38.680
22Locked38.9100
23Locked38.9260
24Locked38.6230

 

I guess I'd better hang on for a while and see if something happens...

Regards,

Keith

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.4K
  • 2.69K
  • 4.89K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
234 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss, high latency since 15th Sept.

BQM still looks poor - RS errors piling up is not right - @Travis_M  needs to take a look.


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
kej999
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
225 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss, high latency since 15th Sept.

Hi John,

 Thank you for your time. Yes,it was looking good for a while but just started failing at a slow rate instead :-/. I've just grabbed stats again and...

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked36.6693634
2Locked36.3321557
3Locked36.6220270
4Locked36.6157354
5Locked37.6117326
6Locked36.6143633
7Locked36.6182560
8Locked36.399231
9Locked36.694190
10Locked331376567423297418
11Locked32.92029247332711423
12Locked33.924264342713
13Locked36.3117195
14Locked37.3147215
15Locked36.6140231
16Locked37.3137233
17Locked37.3102199
18Locked37.3113220
19Locked37.6135196
20Locked38.688171
21Locked37.6109236
22Locked38.977145
23Locked38.690144
24Locked38.995112

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

@Travis_M - The automated testing has noticed "something" wrong this time but it's suggesting a reboot which will just make it look good for a while. If you could book me an engineer I'd really appreciate it! I don't think I'd get very far via the phone.

Thanks again for the help both of you! I'm sorry this was an awkward one.

Regards,

Keith

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.4K
  • 2.69K
  • 4.89K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
210 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss, high latency since 15th Sept.

Thats dreadful. I will flag for someone from VM to come here and comment

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply