Menu
Reply
mbk10
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
727 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Packet loss and intermittent drop outs

Hi,

This has been going on for roughly the last 8 days now. I had to way 4 days for an engineer who fitted an attenuator to lower high downstream power levels but this hasn't solved the original problem. Looking at the readings on the router, nothing really stands out but i can post these if needs be. Network log shows constant RCS partial service and SYNC timing synchronisation errors. I've had a bqm set up to monitor and it's pretty much like this everyday. Any assistance or advice would be much appreciated at this point. 

My Broadband Ping - mbk VM

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32.07K
  • 3.15K
  • 6.09K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
722 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and intermittent drop outs

What Hub model do you have?

Is it in router or modem mode?

What devices do you have connected to the Hub on ethernet cables? If you disconnect them all does the BQM "clean up"? If so add them back 1 by 1 until this appears again to see if thats where the issue lays.

also post up the connection stats as per this

____________________________________

In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1  (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before unless you have the New Hub4 when you do] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle or top/right of the Login page and then just copy/paste the normal “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again.


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
mbk10
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
710 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and intermittent drop outs

It's a hub 3, set to router mode, 1 device connected via ethernet (my pc). 

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
331000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46200017
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13310000005.538256 qam25
22350000006.637256 qam13
3243000000637256 qam14
42510000005.837256 qam15
5259000000637256 qam16
62670000005.537256 qam17
7275000000637256 qam18
8283000000637256 qam19
92910000005.837256 qam20
102990000006.338256 qam21
113070000005.537256 qam22
123150000005.937256 qam23
13323000000637256 qam24
143390000006.138256 qam26
153470000005.337256 qam27
163550000005.537256 qam28
173630000005.537256 qam29
18371000000538256 qam30
193790000005.838256 qam31
203870000005.938256 qam32
213950000005.537256 qam33
224030000005.638256 qam34
234110000004.637256 qam35
24419000000537256 qam36



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.6139510820
2Locked37.614369125
3Locked37.314708847
4Locked37.613929148
5Locked37.614049413
6Locked37.614289074
7Locked37.614199597
8Locked37.614639092
9Locked37.6143310121
10Locked38.214389593
11Locked37.614329723
12Locked37.614549762
13Locked37.314459436
14Locked38.6142110741
15Locked37.6140710937
16Locked37.6141411249
17Locked37.6143210733
18Locked38.6141211371
19Locked38.6143111572
20Locked38.6144210787
21Locked37.6140212038
22Locked38.6143512346
23Locked37.6144111873
24Locked37.9136912542

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620001748.8512064 qam11
23940002448.8512064 qam12
35369997948.8512064 qam10
46029996448.8512064 qam9



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

13/10/2021 15:41:44Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2021 15:41:11criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Roger_Gooner
  • 7.99K
  • 523
  • 1.51K
Alessandro Volta
699 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and intermittent drop outs

Can you reboot your hub and repost the stats and log after 24 hours. We need to see, in particular, if this clears the Post RS Errors.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG108S 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32.07K
  • 3.15K
  • 6.09K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
696 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and intermittent drop outs

Stats look ok but BQM doesnt. Try a new Cat6a cable to connect the PC and see if it cleans up.

RS errors may be an issue or just historical build up - can you do this first. Switch the Hub off and unplug it from the mains supply for five minutes. Whilst it's off, do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box (no “staples, etc.,) piercing the cables.. Then switch the Hub back on and leave ~5 minutes

When all done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts and any T3 errors have all reset to 0. Then check every hour or so to see if they start reappearing - they shouldn't. If they do (particularly the postRS ones) you have a problem (noise) that only a Tech visit will sort.


Also...

See if there are any known problems. As well as trying the “check service,” Area status webpage" (link at top right of this forum), also try the “free & automated” Service Status number - 0800 561 0061 - which usually gives the most up to date info. and tells you of more local issues down to postcode level.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Hayley_S
  • 3.9K
  • 129
  • 253
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
616 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and intermittent drop outs

Hello @mbk10,

 

Welcome to the community, thanks for posting.

 

I am sorry for any issues with your internet.

 

Are you still needing help with this? I can see from your account that you have called us recently.

 

Many thanks,

Hayley
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
culec
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Joining in
607 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and intermittent drop outs

Hi,

The Broadband drops intermittently throughout the day affecting internet access and streaming anything on the TV which has a problem buffering and then errors.  Analysis of our connection has highlighted packet loss, the TV simply says slow speeds

We are on 1Gb Hub 4, but this problem also occurred before we upgraded (with the hub 3).

We are connected directly via cable, so there is no wifi issues affecting this

Can we get an engineer out to check the connection at the hub and local area?

0 Kudos
Reply
John_GS
  • 13.42K
  • 682
  • 1.24K
Forum Team
Forum Team
572 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and intermittent drop outs

Hi @culec

 

Thanks for posting and welcome to the community. Please in future though do make your own thread as it's easier to keep track 🙂

 

You do have some upstream channel issues looking at the stats from a system check so it'll need a tech visit to sort out.

 

I'll send a PM now to get some details.

 

Best,

John_GS
Forum Team


Need a helpful hand to show you how to make a payment? Check out our guide - How to pay my Virgin Media bill

0 Kudos
Reply
John_GS
  • 13.42K
  • 682
  • 1.24K
Forum Team
Forum Team
558 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and intermittent drop outs

Hi @culec

 

Thanks for joining me on PM. Just to update the thread, the engineer visit has been booked in. 

 

This can be tracked/altered in your online account

 

Let us know how the visit goes

 

Kind regards,

John_GS
Forum Team


Need a helpful hand to show you how to make a payment? Check out our guide - How to pay my Virgin Media bill

0 Kudos
Reply
culec
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Joining in
492 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss and intermittent drop outs

Hi,

Just to let you know the engineer visit went very well.

It turns out, we had ex-ntl equipment as part of our set-up, that is not compatible with the current Virgin Media hub and box.  The engineer identified this straight away and replaced the part.  WE have given it a few days, but had no further problems.

I never received the email for feedback - Don't know if you can pas it on, but I would Like to give Matthew (24662) a 10 for service

Kind Regards

Chris