Menu
Reply
Nagasaki
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
307 Views
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Packet Loss

Since moving over to 1gig I have been getting packet loss on my line now and then, seems to be about once a week at the current rate.

When it does happen only a reboot of the Hub will fix it. So I am assuming its a Hub issue? I have had my power levels checked and I am told they are fine.

Here are some of the days I have had packet loss, also showing where the Hub was rebooted and the packet loss stopping after. I have got many more.

 Here are my "line stats" just in case

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

26338750000-2.740.4QAM25626
1138750000-0.340.4QAM2561
2146750000-0.340.4QAM2562
3154750000-0.540.9QAM2563
4162750000-0.840.9QAM2564
5170750000-0.940.9QAM2565
6178750000-1.140.4QAM2566
7186750000-1.240.9QAM2567
8194750000-0.940.9QAM2568
9202750000-0.940.9QAM2569
10210750000-140.9QAM25610
11218750000-0.840.4QAM25611
12226750000-1.340.9QAM25612
13234750000-1.140.9QAM25613
14242750000-140.4QAM25614
15250750000-1.140.4QAM25615
16258750000-0.740.4QAM25616
17266750000-1.440.9QAM25617
18274750000-1.740.9QAM25618
19282750000-1.540.4QAM25619
20290750000-1.740.9QAM25620
21298750000-1.540.4QAM25621
22306750000-1.140.9QAM25622
23314750000-1.640.4QAM25623
24322750000-2.640.4QAM25624
25330750000-2.940.4QAM25625
27346750000-2.640.9QAM25627
28354750000-2.640.4QAM25628
29362750000-2.340.4QAM25629
30370750000-1.840.4QAM25630
31378750000-1.640.4QAM25631

 

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

26Locked40.36628700
1Locked40.36628700
2Locked40.36628700
3Locked40.94620900
4Locked40.94620900
5Locked40.94620900
6Locked40.36628700
7Locked40.94620900
8Locked40.94620900
9Locked40.94620900
10Locked40.94620900
11Locked40.36628700
12Locked40.94620900
13Locked40.94620900
14Locked40.36628700
15Locked40.36628700
16Locked40.36628700
17Locked40.94620900
18Locked40.94620900
19Locked40.36628700
20Locked40.94620900
21Locked40.36628700
22Locked40.94620900
23Locked40.36628700
24Locked40.36628700
25Locked40.36628700
27Locked40.94620900
28Locked40.36628700
29Locked40.36628700
30Locked40.36628700
31Locked40.36628700
 
Channel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
159944K1840QAM4096424

 

Channel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
159Locked44-1.136224478930
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 10.41K
  • 1.66K
  • 4.76K
Alessandro Volta
284 Views
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss

Power levels and reported data looks OK, but the erratic packet loss makes me suspect there's noise ingress at certain frequencies.  When the hub is rebooted it picks a new set of frequencies for the channels it uses, and will tend to pick "clean" ones.  Over time the hub will switch frequencies in response to the CMTS managing the traffic from all the other VM hubs, and I suspect it is landing on one that has a noise ingress problem from a particular source (this can be emergency services radio, ham radio, DAB or DTTV broadcast, aviation radio systems etc).  If that were the case then we should see post-RS (uncorrected) error counts against the problem frequency.  However, due to faulty firmware the Hub 4 often doesn't display the error counts (see how your is all zeroes?  Singularly improbable that there would be not even a single pre-RS error), although a hub restart will not only choose new frequencies, it clears the error counters.

Check that all coax connections are properly fitted and any securing nuts are finger tight, that's the limit of what you can do.  If that doesn't resolve it then it needs a technician to investigate, but be aware that intermittent faults can be a devil to find and fix, so you may need to be persistent.  You can wait on the forum staff to take a look and advise, or you can try phoning it in, but bearing in mind VM's well deserved reputation for their telephone support.

0 Kudos
Reply
David_Bn
  • 8.58K
  • 359
  • 665
Forum Team
Forum Team
246 Views
Message 3 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss

Good Morning @Nagasaki, thanks for your post on our Community Forums, and I'm sorry to hear you've been experiencing packet loss on your connection.

I've looked into the local area for any faults you may be experiencing and it appears to be all clear currently.

Can you provide us with any updates on the status of the connection?

The hub does currently appear to be online

Kindest regards,

David_Bn

0 Kudos
Reply
Nagasaki
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
243 Views
Message 4 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss

Hi,

 

Things have been fine since the 16th When I rebooted the hub. If things go as they have, I expect the packet loss to kick in again in the next 2-3 weeks or less.

Its intermittent but wont go away until a reboot.

0 Kudos
Reply
Molly_T
  • 1.46K
  • 46
  • 139
Forum Team
Forum Team
220 Views
Message 5 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet Loss

Thank you for getting back to us @Nagasaki. Glad to hear the packet loss has been okay since the reboot. 

I have checked your connection and equipment, and all levels are fine. I can only see 3 disconnections from the last month, the most recent being the 16th when you completed the reboot. We do recommend regular reboots as it allows your hub to clear any issues it may build up through hours/days of continual use, and reset any settings that may also be responsible for any issues. Your speeds are looking great on both upload and download, really consistent over the last month; averaging at about 1136 download and 51.48 upload. 

If you do have any further issues please do get back to us so we can look into it again for you! 

All the best, Molly. 

Molly
0 Kudos
Reply