Menu
Reply
paul_taylor
  • 286
  • 3
  • 20
Up to speed
596 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Package upgrade, now speed half what it was !.

Hoping some of the mods will see this.

I have just taken a new package that was offered. This has taken my Cable internet from 100mb to 230mb.

I have a Superhub3, and its config file confirms it has changed and now should be 230mb / 20mb. However every speed test is showing 52mb max when checking via Ethernet directly. I have power cycled the hub but made no difference, still 52mb / 20mb.

Please can this be looked into.

Hub3 on Modem mode. Archer C9 Router, and Ubiquiti UniFi AP's with controller. Pi-Hole DNS.
0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 6.11K
  • 514
  • 1.58K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
585 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Package upgrade, now speed half what it was !.

Have you checked the cable?  It should be Cat 5e or better.  Is there any QOS settings in the C9 causing the slow down.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
paul_taylor
  • 286
  • 3
  • 20
Up to speed
579 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Package upgrade, now speed half what it was !.

It always used to achieve 200mb without issue before i reduced my package to 100mb preciously.

In any case, have reset the Superhub3 this morning and connected directly. No change, 52mb max. All the cabling in my house is CAT6. As mentioned its been fine for the last 1.5yrs at 100mb. Package upgraded yesterday and now our bandwidth has effectively reduced in half.

Hub3 on Modem mode. Archer C9 Router, and Ubiquiti UniFi AP's with controller. Pi-Hole DNS.
0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 1.68K
  • 134
  • 364
Super solver
555 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Package upgrade, now speed half what it was !.

Have you tried a test with the Hub in router mode to rule out the other equipment?

What speed do you get on https://speedtest.samknows.com/ with direct wired connection from PC/Laptop to Virgin Hub using a Cat 5e cable or better with a 1Gbps capable Ethernet network card?

  1. Make sure the cable is Cat 5e or better
  2. Make sure your PC/laptop has a 1Gbps or better network card
  3. Disconnect all other Ethernet cables from the Hub when running the test
***********************************************************************************************************************************
BT Full Fibre 900 FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U to Openreach ONT Box & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
0 Kudos
Reply
paul_taylor
  • 286
  • 3
  • 20
Up to speed
543 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Package upgrade, now speed half what it was !.

As noted above. Yes ive reset it back to a router.

And yes my house is CAT6 cabled.

Hub3 on Modem mode. Archer C9 Router, and Ubiquiti UniFi AP's with controller. Pi-Hole DNS.
0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 18.99K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.65K
Alessandro Volta
529 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Package upgrade, now speed half what it was !.

things should not have changed but lets be sure

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labelled - upstream - downstream


____________________

Tony.
Sacked VIP
0 Kudos
Reply
paul_taylor
  • 286
  • 3
  • 20
Up to speed
522 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Package upgrade, now speed half what it was !.

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

16030000002.538256 qam25
24750000002.438256 qam9
34830000002.238256 qam10
44910000002.740256 qam11
54990000002.538256 qam12
65070000002.538256 qam13
75150000002.538256 qam14
85230000002.238256 qam15
95310000002.240256 qam16
10539000000238256 qam17
115470000002.238256 qam18
125550000002.438256 qam19
135630000002.540256 qam20
145710000002.540256 qam21
155790000002.738256 qam22
165870000002.440256 qam23
175950000002.740256 qam24
18611000000238256 qam26
196190000002.238256 qam27
206270000002.238256 qam28
216350000002.238256 qam29
226430000002.538256 qam30
236510000002.738256 qam31
246590000002.740256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9830
2Locked38.9250
3Locked38.6340
4Locked40.3380
5Locked38.9410
6Locked38.9510
7Locked38.9490
8Locked38.9480
9Locked40.3440
10Locked38.9570
11Locked38.9690
12Locked38.9660
13Locked40.3580
14Locked40.3720
15Locked38.9550
16Locked40.3690
17Locked40.3730
18Locked38.9950
19Locked38.9980
20Locked38.9920
21Locked38.9980
22Locked38.91000
23Locked38.9960
24Locked40.385

0

 

 

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030000243512064 qam1
23940000041.5512064 qam4
34620000441.5512064 qam3
45370002943512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
Hub3 on Modem mode. Archer C9 Router, and Ubiquiti UniFi AP's with controller. Pi-Hole DNS.
0 Kudos
Reply
paul_taylor
  • 286
  • 3
  • 20
Up to speed
516 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Package upgrade, now speed half what it was !.

Speed has currently dropped even more.

Now 32mb max via ethernet with my home network disconnected.

Interestingly our V6 box has rebooted on its own 2 times this afternoon. I wonder if VM are updating it after package changes ?. As its never done that before.

Hub3 on Modem mode. Archer C9 Router, and Ubiquiti UniFi AP's with controller. Pi-Hole DNS.
0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 18.99K
  • 1.44K
  • 3.65K
Alessandro Volta
504 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Package upgrade, now speed half what it was !.

levels are all good any info here - there is also a Service Status number - 0800 561 0061 - which usually tells you of more local issues down to postcode level

____________________

Tony.
Sacked VIP
0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 19.6K
  • 803
  • 2.08K
Alessandro Volta
462 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Package upgrade, now speed half what it was !.


@paul_taylor wrote:

I have just taken a new package that was offered. This has taken my Cable internet from 100mb to 230mb.

.


@paul_taylor wrote:

It always used to achieve 200mb without issue before i reduced my package to 100mb preciously..


You say you went from 100 to 200 then you reduced your package 🤔

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply