Menu
Reply
qepsilonp
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
482 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Only getting 6 - 20Mb on a 220Mb connection

Using wired because I am not bad, usually get excess of my 220Mb advertised speed, what do?

And yeh I see the DHCP IPv4 errors, but I don't know what to do about it, tried to restart my modem didn't work... Honestly I would leave it until another time if I wasn't trying to download a game, and no I didn't use Steam to get my download speed I used speedtest.net

Downstream  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)139000000147000000155000000163000000171000000179000000187000000195000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID12345678
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)-10.05-9.81-9.68-9.74-9.66-9.68-9.69-9.54
RxMER (dB)35.0835.2535.2534.9335.6035.7835.6035.97
Pre RS Errors365311374386342336328296
Post RS Errors280272305305304306325289

 

Upstream  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.02.02.02.0
Channel ID1012119
Frequency (Hz)53700000394000004620000060300000
Ranging StatusSuccessSuccessSuccessSuccess
Modulation64QAM64QAM64QAM64QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000512000051200005120000
Mini-Slot Size2222
Power Level (dBmV)48.5048.5048.5048.50
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts0000
T4 Timeouts0000

 

Network Log

First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
24/05/2020 02:57:24 GMT24/05/2020 02:57:24 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
24/05/2020 02:49:33 GMT24/05/2020 02:49:33 GMTError (4)68010302DHCP WAN IP - **.**.***.**
24/05/2020 02:48:23 GMT24/05/2020 02:48:23 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
23/05/2020 23:46:18 GMT23/05/2020 23:46:18 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/05/2020 04:16:13 GMT19/05/2020 04:16:13 GMTNotice (6)68010600DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-******** modified
19/05/2020 04:16:13 GMT19/05/2020 04:16:13 GMTError (4)68010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response
19/05/2020 04:16:09 GMT19/05/2020 04:16:09 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/05/2020 04:16:08 GMT19/05/2020 04:16:08 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/05/2020 04:16:06 GMT19/05/2020 04:16:06 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/05/2020 04:16:02 GMT19/05/2020 04:16:02 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/05/2020 04:15:53 GMT19/05/2020 04:15:53 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/05/2020 04:15:36 GMT19/05/2020 04:15:36 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/05/2020 04:15:02 GMT19/05/2020 04:15:02 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/05/2020 04:13:53 GMT19/05/2020 04:13:53 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/05/2020 04:11:36 GMT19/05/2020 04:11:36 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/05/2020 04:07:02 GMT19/05/2020 04:07:02 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/05/2020 03:57:53 GMT19/05/2020 03:57:53 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/05/2020 02:50:55 GMT19/05/2020 02:50:55 GMTNotice (6)68010600DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-******** modified
19/05/2020 02:50:55 GMT19/05/2020 02:50:55 GMTError (4)68010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
qepsilonp
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
477 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 6 - 20Mb on a 220Mb connection

btw Down is sticking at 20Mb/s I forgot I started my game download again up is also down on what it should be @ 2Mb/s
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.22K
  • 1.1K
  • 2.64K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
443 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 6 - 20Mb on a 220Mb connection

Your downstream SNR is borderline, and the downstream power levels are all at or above the limit.  Usually this requires a technician visit to fix, although can also be an area problem VM already know about.  You can wait around here (easy, helpful staff, but sometimes takes a few days, you can try your luck phoning in (limited capacity at the moment for obvious reasons, you might get lucky?), or you can text VM and ask for a callback on 07533051809 (again may take a few days).

If you get a technician visit, there's a good chance you'll get a Hub 3 to replace your ageing Superhub 2.  The Hub 3 is a better piece of kit than the SH2, but default wireless settings sometimes cause issues for some users - if you have any problems come back to the forum and we can advise on next steps.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
qepsilonp
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
409 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 6 - 20Mb on a 220Mb connection

Well if I removed the forward path attenuator 10dB between my modem and the Coax cable I got the Rx Power below -1 dBmV and my RxMer all go basically above 36dB, but it hasn't change my correction speed.

Downstream  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)139000000147000000155000000163000000171000000179000000187000000195000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID12345678
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)-0.72-0.51-0.44-0.58-0.39-0.46-0.40-0.27
RxMER (dB)36.1736.3936.1735.9737.0936.8437.0937.09
Pre RS Errors221100000
Post RS Errors00000000

 

btw I reset the Pre RS and Post RS counters to see if I was getting less errors after running a speed test and I am as I got to 20 - 100 errors with the attenuator in place, but again it hasn't changed anything in real terms.

0 Kudos
Reply
qepsilonp
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
397 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 6 - 20Mb on a 220Mb connection

Big OOF!!!

Erm it looks like the payment to virgin media didn't go through for some reason, so they cut down my connection speed, honestly it's nice they didn't just cut off the internet and limited me to a still reasonably usable speed instead. Although at some point I do need to get them to come in as I don't think it's usual to get so many errors and I keep getting DCed in a game that I play.

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.64K
  • 1.9K
  • 4.07K
Alessandro Volta
389 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 6 - 20Mb on a 220Mb connection

They don’t lower speeds for unpaid bills. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 4.53K
  • 254
  • 729
Superstar
328 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 6 - 20Mb on a 220Mb connection

The downstream levels were too low, not too high as stated earlier. Without the attenuator they are within spec, so leave it out.  The speeds should be OK now.

Don't rely on the speeds from a game server, use speedtest.net with a wired device to check your speed.

0 Kudos
Reply