Menu
Reply
gonefishing
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
552 Views
Message 1 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Only getting 230mb not 500

Hey,

I'm only getting about 230mb when paying for 500mp. 

Any ideas how too fix this?

 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
545 Views
Message 2 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 230mb not 500

are you using a wired connection?
0 Kudos
Reply
gonefishing
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
542 Views
Message 3 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 230mb not 500

Wi-fi, but even via ethernet I get about the same.

Surely WiFi can transmit 500mb these days anyway?

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.19K
  • 1.09K
  • 2.63K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
530 Views
Message 4 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 230mb not 500

Surely WiFi can transmit 500mb these days anyway?

It can, but requires a MIMO capable device communicating over the 5 GHz band using 802.11ac protocol and using extended channel widths.  You may need to edit your hub's settings to increase the channel width of the 5 GHz band to "20/40/80".

But that won't help if you're seeing similar speeds on ethernet devices, since that suggest a broadband problem rather than wifi.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.51K
  • 2.41K
  • 4.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
523 Views
Message 5 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 230mb not 500

Andruser is of course correct - but if its the same device getting low speeds when on wifi and ethernet connections I would look for any software on it that's limiting speeds - lots do. Dell's SmartByte for instance, or Antiviral/malware packages, corrupted browser, etc.

Try again with the Hub put into “modem mode” and boot the device into safe+networking mode Test at speedtest.net (not the App!) to your nearest VM server - try on 2 different browsers as well.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
gonefishing
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
517 Views
Message 6 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 230mb not 500

Speed is same on all devices. I've done full factory reset etc and still crap speed.

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
496 Views
Message 7 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 230mb not 500

Could you access your router using http://192.168.0.1/ or http://192.168.100.1 for modem mode . You shouldn't need log in, select the 'Check Router Status' option and paste your 'Downstream', 'Upstream', and 'Network Log' tabs?

We can have a look for any oddities in the stats.

0 Kudos
Reply
gonefishing
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
492 Views
Message 8 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 230mb not 500

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12987500002.440256 qam21
21867500002.240256 qam7
31947500002.240256 qam8
4202750000240256 qam9
52107500001.740256 qam10
62187500001.940256 qam11
7226750000240256 qam12
82347500001.940256 qam13
92427500001.740256 qam14
10250750000240256 qam15
112587500002.240256 qam16
12266750000240256 qam17
132747500001.540256 qam18
14282750000240256 qam19
152907500002.240256 qam20
163067500002.240256 qam22
173147500002.240256 qam23
183227500002.540256 qam24
194027500000.740256 qam25
20410750000138256 qam26
214187500000.740256 qam27
22426750000140256 qam28
234347500000.740256 qam29
244427500000.440256 qam30



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.320
2Locked40.340
3Locked40.960
4Locked40.350
5Locked40.360
6Locked40.990
7Locked40.940
8Locked40.950
9Locked40.920
10Locked40.360
11Locked40.900
12Locked40.350
13Locked40.320
14Locked40.340
15Locked40.350
16Locked40.300
17Locked40.360
18Locked40.300
19Locked40.940
20Locked38.950
21Locked40.350
22Locked40.340
23Locked40.350
24Locked40.30

0

 

0 Kudos
Reply
gonefishing
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
491 Views
Message 9 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 230mb not 500

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1462000005.05512064 qam2
2537000005.1512064 qam1
3326000004.9512064 qam4
4394000004.95512064 qam3


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
gonefishing
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
490 Views
Message 10 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: Only getting 230mb not 500

Time Priority Description

02/09/2020 15:51:36noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/09/2020 15:33:37noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply