Menu
Brizzol
Joining in
Message 1 of 4
Flag for a moderator

Not reaching stated download speeds

Hi 
since I started testing my download speeds rarely have they come close to the 200mps I’m paying for. Last night it was 2 yes two! After resetting my box, almost a daily occurrence it managed 10. Absolute rubbish. Today I used your recommended Speed test and that was below 100.

Come on Virgin pull your finger out and deliver what I am paying for.

0 Kudos
Dali-A
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
Message 2 of 4
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not reaching stated download speeds

Hi

Speed Measured how and on what device(s)? What Hub model do you have?

Cheers

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 3 of 4
Flag for a moderator

If you think that you have a BB speed problem, then to check the speeds coming in to your Hub properly, and whether they match what you should be getting, you cannot rely on wifi tests, - no BB supplier guarantees those - only speeds "to" the Hub are guaranteed. So, you need to do it directly.... that's on an ethernet cable connected computer/laptop with the Hub in modem mode.

So make sure that your device has a gigabit network card (not a 10/100 one or one that is “limited" to that in its settings or you will never get over ~100mbps) and has the most up to date drivers. Use a new Cat6a ethernet cable (old ones do "fail" and Cat6 is best) to connect it directly to the Hub - which you have put into modem mode (see VM website for the "how to") this ensures only your one device is connected. Check speeds like that first.