Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
570 Views
Message 1 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Not getting speeds advertised

I am on the since Dec /2019. I have never achieved more than 90 mbs download speed,I dont even get what Virgin guarantee ie 115mbs, hub details :

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1402750000-5.538256 qam25
2194750000-440256 qam8
3202750000-3.440256 qam9
4210750000-3.940256 qam10
5218750000-3.740256 qam11
6226750000-3.240256 qam12
7234750000-3.440256 qam13
8242750000-440256 qam14
9250750000-440256 qam15
10258750000-3.540256 qam16
11266750000-4.440256 qam17
12274750000-440256 qam18
13282750000-4.540256 qam19
14290750000-440256 qam20
15298750000-4.540256 qam21
16306750000-4.940256 qam22
17314750000-4.740256 qam23
18322750000-4.440256 qam24
19410750000-6.238256 qam26
20418750000-5.740256 qam27
21426750000-6.238256 qam28
22434750000-5.740256 qam29
23442750000-5.440256 qam30
24450750000-6.438256 qam31


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.91667190
2Locked40.929423883
3Locked40.35212804
4Locked40.34359641
5Locked40.35501601
6Locked40.310575892
7Locked40.952401841
8Locked40.36174426
9Locked40.95716547
10Locked40.33612514
11Locked40.33518418
12Locked40.92371287
13Locked40.91978249
14Locked40.31434302
15Locked40.91324345
16Locked40.31308319
17Locked40.31291256
18Locked40.31465147
19Locked38.61354279
20Locked40.31333257
21Locked38.91237177
22Locked40.31200188
23Locked40.31202193
24Locked38.91222144
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.31K
  • 168
  • 304
Superfast
549 Views
Message 2 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting speeds advertised

The power levels on some of your downstream channels are out of spec (-6 to +10 is in spec).

Could you post your upstream data please?

Do you have a device like below attached between your HUB and cable to the wall socket?

One other thing to consider, since you are getting around 90Mbps (Including overheads), is the ethernet connection could be running at 100Mbps, rather than gigabit, which would limit the speed to your device.

Highlighted
  • 23
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
523 Views
Message 3 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting speeds advertised

Hi, as requested also yes I have attenuator attached, and how do I get my downstream channels back in spec. regards
 
Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1462000265.1512064 qam1
2257999815.1512064 qam4
3325999965.1512064 qam3
4393999835.1512064 qam2


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.31K
  • 168
  • 304
Superfast
519 Views
Message 4 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting speeds advertised

Your upstream channels are at maximum power, which has caused issues for others posting on here.

5.1, or 51 as the HUB reports a decimal out, is too high.

What dB value does the attenuator quote? 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
514 Views
Message 5 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting speeds advertised

6 dB Carl

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.31K
  • 168
  • 304
Superfast
511 Views
Message 6 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting speeds advertised

Ok, if you can power off the HUB, remove the attenuator, and screw the cable from the wall directly into the HUB, the downstream power levels will rise by roughly 6dB, bringing them close to 0, or slightly positive, which is what you want.

This will not, however, fix your upstream power levels.

Power the HUB back on and post a fresh set of stats.

Highlighted
  • 23
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
497 Views
Message 7 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting speeds advertised

Sorry for delay waiting for router to restart,
 
Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
14027500000.740256 qam25
21947500001.740256 qam8
32027500002.540256 qam9
4210750000240256 qam10
5218750000240256 qam11
62267500002.740256 qam12
72347500002.540256 qam13
82427500001.740256 qam14
9250750000240256 qam15
102587500002.440256 qam16
112667500001.540256 qam17
12274750000240256 qam18
132827500001.440256 qam19
14290750000240256 qam20
152987500001.740256 qam21
163067500001.540256 qam22
173147500001.440256 qam23
183227500001.940256 qam24
19410750000040256 qam26
204187500000.440256 qam27
21426750000-0.240256 qam28
224347500000.540256 qam29
234427500000.940256 qam30
24450750000-0.240256 qam31


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked40.3150
2Locked40.92113
3Locked40.3912
4Locked40.9910
5Locked40.3130
6Locked40.350
7Locked40.9128
8Locked40.3120
9Locked40.3100
10Locked40.960
11Locked40.3140
12Locked40.940
13Locked40.340
14Locked40.950
15Locked40.980
16Locked40.9130
17Locked40.900
18Locked40.300
19Locked40.370
20Locked40.3120
21Locked40.370
22Locked40.350
23Locked40.930
24Locked40.32

0

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1461999794.6512064 qam1
2257999884.45512064 qam4
3326000124.6512064 qam3
4394000074.6512064 qam2


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.31K
  • 168
  • 304
Superfast
491 Views
Message 8 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting speeds advertised

That actually looks much better, even your upstream power levels (Eat my proverbial hat)!

What are your download speeds like now?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 1
  • 3
On our wavelength
476 Views
Message 9 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting speeds advertised

Very slightly better, I've read that fibre optic goes only as far as the cabinet and that old coaxial cable runs to the house, dont know if theres any truth in that.

Download Mbps
90.18
Upload Mbps
21.25
Will try at different times tomorrow to see if any improvement, cheers for your help Carl
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.31K
  • 168
  • 304
Superfast
472 Views
Message 10 of 47
Flag for a moderator

Re: Not getting speeds advertised

Yep you are correct.

Fibre to the cabinet then copper coax to the home.

This is why you can get power level issues, with it being a hybrid system.

It sounds an odd request, however do you have a wireless device you could try to rule out the 100Mbps ethernet limit I mentioned earlier?

My mobile, for example, can easily get 200Mbps within 8 feet of the HUB.

0 Kudos
Reply