Menu
Reply
TheChairman
  • 351
  • 2
  • 23
Up to speed
1,462 Views
Message 1 of 134
Flag for a moderator

Noise on the upstream

Morning despite the ongoing single thread issue which Virgin no longer want to deal with if the noise on the upstream has also returned.

I've rebooted the router last night and they went back to 64 Qam this morning they've nosed dived down to mostly 16qam and 32 qam. Single level has also altered but still in spec me thinks.

Log filers show a few T3 but that will when I rebooted it yesterday

1355000000838256 qam28
2203000000838256 qam9
32110000007.938256 qam10
42190000007.938256 qam11
52270000007.838256 qam12
62350000007.838256 qam13
72430000007.638256 qam14
82510000007.538256 qam15
92590000007.538256 qam16
102670000007.138256 qam17
11275000000738256 qam18
12283000000738256 qam19
132910000006.838256 qam20
142990000007.338256 qam21
153070000007.838256 qam22
16315000000840256 qam23
17323000000838256 qam24
18331000000838256 qam25
19339000000838256 qam26
20347000000838256 qam27
21363000000838256 qam29
22371000000838256 qam30
23379000000838256 qam31
243870000007.938256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9280
2Locked38.690
3Locked38.6110
4Locked38.9100
5Locked38.9150
6Locked38.680
7Locked38.6170
8Locked38.980
9Locked38.9140
10Locked38.9150
11Locked38.9110
12Locked38.9120
13Locked38.6240
14Locked38.6180
15Locked38.9110
16Locked40.3280
17Locked38.9260
18Locked38.9240
19Locked38.9270
20Locked38.9270
21Locked38.9220
22Locked38.9160
23Locked38.9140
24Locked38.9290

 

1394000003.6710000000000003512016 qam2
2258000003.7512032 qam4
3326000003.821512016 qam3
4462000003.6710000000000003512016 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
TheChairman
  • 351
  • 2
  • 23
Up to speed
1,405 Views
Message 2 of 134
Flag for a moderator

Re: Noise on the upstream

Checked today and back to 64qam I'll keep an eye on it. Apart from a little packet loss on the BQM the connection looks pretty good. BT of course shows no packet loss.

virgin monitor 030520.jpgbt monitor 030520.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
TheChairman
  • 351
  • 2
  • 23
Up to speed
1,337 Views
Message 3 of 134
Flag for a moderator

Re: Noise on the upstream

This issue seems to have resolved itself but thank you for looking into it. Since nothing has been done there's a good chance it will return at some point.

0 Kudos
Reply
TheChairman
  • 351
  • 2
  • 23
Up to speed
1,313 Views
Message 4 of 134
Flag for a moderator

Re: Noise on the upstream

The issue has returned and back down to 16 qam. Rebooting last night didn't fix it.

Downstream bonded channels Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
13230000008.138256 qam24
21390000009.538256 qam1
31470000009.338256 qam2
41550000009.138256 qam3
5163000000938256 qam4
6171000000938256 qam5
71790000008.638256 qam6
81870000008.638256 qam7
91950000008.440256 qam8
10203000000838256 qam9
11211000000838256 qam10
12219000000838256 qam11
132270000007.938256 qam12
142350000007.838256 qam13
152430000007.638256 qam14
162510000007.638256 qam15
172590000007.538256 qam16
182670000007.338256 qam17
19275000000738256 qam18
20283000000738256 qam19
212910000006.938256 qam20
222990000007.338256 qam21
233070000007.838256 qam22
24315000000840256 qam23


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.980
2Locked38.960
3Locked38.9100
4Locked38.680
5Locked38.9210
6Locked38.9200
7Locked38.980
8Locked38.9110
9Locked40.360
10Locked38.980
11Locked38.940
12Locked38.690
13Locked38.920
14Locked38.950
15Locked38.980
16Locked38.660
17Locked38.960
18Locked38.960
19Locked38.970
20Locked38.980
21Locked38.9110
22Locked38.680
23Locked38.970
24Locked40.36

0

 

0 Kudos
Reply
TheChairman
  • 351
  • 2
  • 23
Up to speed
1,312 Views
Message 5 of 134
Flag for a moderator

Re: Noise on the upstream

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000093.8512016 qam2
2258000653.8512016 qam4
3325999763.8512016 qam3
4462000703.8512016 qam1


The log files show nothing amiss and as you can see by the lack of post RS errors things look okay bar the upstream

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
TheChairman
  • 351
  • 2
  • 23
Up to speed
1,282 Views
Message 6 of 134
Flag for a moderator

Re: Noise on the upstream

Fixed itself during yesterday afternoon however since it keeps happening there's something amiss somewhere.

0 Kudos
Reply
Lisa_CC
  • 4K
  • 236
  • 453
Moderator
Moderator
1,256 Views
Message 7 of 134
Flag for a moderator

Re: Noise on the upstream

Hi TheChairman,

 

Sorry to hear that the issue keeps coming back. I'll reply back to your Private Message so I can take a look at your network details and see if we can get to the bottom of it.

 

Regards,

 

Lisa

0 Kudos
Reply
Lisa_CC
  • 4K
  • 236
  • 453
Moderator
Moderator
1,241 Views
Message 8 of 134
Flag for a moderator

Re: Noise on the upstream

Thanks for the details via Private Message @TheChairman and have managed to locate your account. I've had a big look at your network details and gone to our other  tool also and cannot find any problems. There are no errors and I've tried to be really picky but cannot find anything. What I can see is that there may have been some activity on the CMTS side which may hint at some works being recently carried out but apart from that, there's nothing else.

 

Please monitor your connection and when it happens, let us know so we can check again. You can also try starting a BQM via this link and leaving it running should you start getting problems and post the results here so we have more information to work with.

 

Thanks,

 

Lisa 

0 Kudos
Reply
TheChairman
  • 351
  • 2
  • 23
Up to speed
1,194 Views
Message 9 of 134
Flag for a moderator

Re: Noise on the upstream

Well it's been behaving itself without any issues for since your last post.

0 Kudos
Reply
TheChairman
  • 351
  • 2
  • 23
Up to speed
1,174 Views
Message 10 of 134
Flag for a moderator

Re: Noise on the upstream

LOL router rebooted tonight back down to 16 qam. One error in the network log  downstream fine no post rs errors. I'll leave it overnight and see if it corrects itself.

1393996343.75512016 qam2
2257999443.75512016 qam4
3326001803.75512016 qam3
4462001193.75512016 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply