Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 26
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
323 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

No Virgin Support: Slow Speed

First of all, I'm NOT an IT illiterate....dont tell me to restart my PC! I know what I'm talking about.

Checked cables "nice and tight" virgin, rebooted Hub 3. Laptop via a .5m CAT6A cable directly into my Night Hawlk router gives me between 90 Mbps- 170Mbps when I usually get 220Mbps

I love how Virgin 'as if by miracle' always start a subscription off at the correct speed (200+ Mbps) but then over the course of the next 1-2 years you have to always run tests and fight them to get what you pay from (which is 200Mbps) in my case.

When I was on the 100 Mbps subscription it would always slip to 80-90Mbps... the same story of corporate greed trying to hoodwink people who don't test speeds. Funny how over time it never increases, only decreases, isn't it?

After 6 years on Virgin fibre, I see this is a pattern and not a series of mysteries unaccountable incidences...Virgin is the best fibre by far but this little scam is annoying.

Just ran the "test you're system" and "something went wrong" was the result (very informative)...but no customer support so I'm stuck complaining here (sorry). Usually, there's someone on hand to push the button "remove speed throttling for a month" after which time I need to ring them up again and get them to remove the cap while both parties laugh about "how mysterious the whole thing is".

Virgin...FIX MY SPEED AND NOT JUST FOR THIS MONTH or start giving me money back.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20.96K
  • 1.13K
  • 2.7K
Alessandro Volta
295 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Virgin Support: Slow Speed

They can’t go back in time and fix speeds.

As you’re not IT illiterate can you post back the Network, Upstream and Downstream logs from the hub please. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 26
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
283 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Virgin Support: Slow Speed

 

I'm not suggesting they go back in time and fix the issue smarty! I'm pointing out it always slows down, and as a user having to keep Virgin honest is time-consuming and annoying...it never goes up over time does it!

Hub 3 is in Modem mode  (I did say I was using a Night Hawlk as my router)...so in modem mode, I can only see

Downstream status (not a log) and upstream Status (not a log) and the network log (which does not download or upload information...so what is it exactly your asking for?

 

Regards Rueben

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 26
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
282 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Virgin Support: Slow Speed

Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
227000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
53700064
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1227000000440256 qam12
21390000006.338256 qam1
31470000006.338256 qam2
41550000006.140256 qam3
51630000005.840256 qam4
61710000005.940256 qam5
71790000005.540256 qam6
81870000005.540256 qam7
9195000000540256 qam8
102030000004.540256 qam9
112110000004.540256 qam10
122190000004.140256 qam11
132350000003.540256 qam13
142430000003.440256 qam14
152510000003.240256 qam15
16259000000340256 qam16
172670000003.440256 qam17
182750000003.540256 qam18
192830000003.740256 qam19
202910000003.940256 qam20
212990000003.940256 qam21
223070000003.740256 qam22
233150000003.740256 qam23
243230000003.540256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3100
2Locked38.990
3Locked38.990
4Locked40.340
5Locked40.3250
6Locked40.3250
7Locked40.3190
8Locked40.390
9Locked40.3190
10Locked40.3180
11Locked40.360
12Locked40.3110
13Locked40.390
14Locked40.380
15Locked40.360
16Locked40.350
17Locked40.370
18Locked40.960
19Locked40.380
20Locked40.9100
21Locked40.390
22Locked40.950
23Locked40.360
24Locked40.380
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 26
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
276 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Virgin Support: Slow Speed

Furthermore to this, every time this happens I have to jump through all the same hoops of tested cables, restarting hub, explaining the speed testing was not conducted over a wifi connection. Not to mention my router is in the crawl space in my loft so no..it has not been moved since we last chatted about this because I lock the access door.

Only after this game of wearing me down will Virgin finally look into sending some remote test or instructions to my Hub 3 and the problem goes away. 

It has never been a "bottleneck" on my side, yet we have to assume I'm the stupid one, I run through all the hoops and have my time wasted but in the end it's fixed at Virgins end...remotely.

 

The whole process can take about 30-60 mins to do.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20.96K
  • 1.13K
  • 2.7K
Alessandro Volta
250 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Virgin Support: Slow Speed

Post the network log and upstream log as well


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 26
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
207 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Virgin Support: Slow Speed

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1537001954.2512064 qam82
2394000004.125512064 qam84
3462000534.125512064 qam83
4602999864.275512064 qam81


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

02/05/2020 11:00:26noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/05/2020 11:00:18Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/05/2020 10:44:36noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/05/2020 10:44:30Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/05/2020 22:00:2noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/05/2020 21:49:30noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/05/2020 21:49:21Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/04/2020 14:24:9ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/04/2020 17:31:21ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/04/2020 11:13:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2020 12:57:56ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2020 21:53:45ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2020 19:43:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2020 06:49:36ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/04/2020 02:39:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/04/2020 21:14:44ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/04/2020 16:23:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/04/2020 21:03:30ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/04/2020 20:33:56ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;



0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.56K
  • 1.63K
  • 2.65K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
199 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Virgin Support: Slow Speed

Nothing obviously amiss in the Hub data.

So back to first principles and taking your Nighthawk out of the equation for the test..

Can you test speeds with the lappy/computer plugged directly into the Hub (in modem mode). Test at speedtest.net to your nearest VM server - try 2 different browsers.
If they are still low – boot the device into safe+networking mode and try again.

Report back what that gets.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply