Menu
Reply
ananta108
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
441 Views
Message 1 of 25
Flag for a moderator

New user - poor speed already

HI there. I have a new connection with a brand new hub. The much promised 200+ mbps seem to nothing more than that, a promise. I have been through all the usual with technical support. I do have a gigabit ethernet card and have bought cat6 cable, but no real improvement, that is testing directly from the hub to my computer.

 

I was previously with Vodaphone, although a lower speed of 56+, it was at least stable.

I guess Virgin had a good salesman who convinced me!!

 

No a very happy new customer, as I see lots of similar complaints on this forum

 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
435 Views
Message 2 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: New user - poor speed already

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

 

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
ananta108
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
429 Views
Message 3 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: New user - poor speed already

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11947500001.238256 qam8
21387500000.538256 qam1
31467500000.538256 qam2
41547500000.738256 qam3
5162750000138256 qam4
61707500001.238256 qam5
71787500000.938256 qam6
81867500001.238256 qam7
92027500001.238256 qam9
102107500001.238256 qam10
112187500001.238256 qam11
122267500000.738256 qam12
132347500000.938256 qam13
142427500001.238256 qam14
152507500001.238256 qam15
162587500001.238256 qam16
172667500001.538256 qam17
182747500001.538256 qam18
192827500001.538256 qam19
202907500001.438256 qam20
212987500002.238256 qam21
223067500002.238256 qam22
233147500002.438256 qam23
243227500002.438256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9190
2Locked38.6130240
3Locked38.91180
4Locked38.6120
5Locked38.680
6Locked38.9180
7Locked38.640
8Locked38.9190
9Locked38.990
10Locked38.9120
11Locked38.950
12Locked38.940
13Locked38.990
14Locked38.980
15Locked38.990
16Locked38.980
17Locked38.950
18Locked38.970
19Locked38.640
20Locked38.610
21Locked38.670
22Locked38.6210
23Locked38.9230
24Locked38.9140

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1603000204.575512064 qam1
2462002334.775512064 qam3
3537000884.725512064 qam2
4394000004.875512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA000

0

 

 

 

TimePriorityDescription15/10/2020 09:57:52noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;14/10/2020 08:38:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;13/10/2020 15:50:25Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;13/10/2020 15:50:20criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;13/10/2020 15:50:20Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;13/10/2020 15:50:20criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;13/10/2020 15:50:19Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;12/10/2020 05:54:59criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;12/10/2020 04:03:3Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;11/10/2020 20:11:25criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;11/10/2020 09:46:46noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;01/01/1970 00:01:32criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;08/10/2020 16:02:42noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;01/01/1970 00:01:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;08/10/2020 15:22:50noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;08/10/2020 09:12:50criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;07/10/2020 13:14:40criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;07/10/2020 13:12:38Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;07/10/2020 13:12:33criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;07/10/2020 13:12:33Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

I have only just setup a quality monitor so I will not see any real data yet

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
427 Views
Message 4 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: New user - poor speed already

Still post the 'Live Link'.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
ananta108
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
425 Views
Message 5 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: New user - poor speed already

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
422 Views
Message 6 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: New user - poor speed already

 


@ananta108 wrote:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/view/624ff3bd5c7576ddaa00ebdc291e71a8b77...


404 - Page Not Found


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16.91K
  • 1.32K
  • 4K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
419 Views
Message 7 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: New user - poor speed already

your bqm link does not work - nothing in the levels to show a problem - what speed do you actually get

try a couple of other speedtests

1 - with hub in modem mode 

2 - with pc in safe mode with networking

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
ananta108
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
415 Views
Message 8 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: New user - poor speed already

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/view/624ff3bd5c7576ddaa00ebdc291e71a8b77...

 

tHA IS THE EXACT LINK i HAVE COPIED, oops sorry..I just clicked on it myself from here and it works

I did try in safe mode a few days ago as advised by some guy on the phone, no improvement. Speeds are about 50 to 70, funny thing is that wireless is usually a good speed on my mobile phone.

 

I can't go into modem mode right now as other people are using the router

0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16.91K
  • 1.32K
  • 4K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
409 Views
Message 9 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: New user - poor speed already

link is still wrong - it will work for you as its linked to your account

what speed do you get wireless on the phone - if thats nearer the 200 then it points to your pc

check the gigabit card is configured as that in settings and not as 10/100 - try a different lan cable 

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
ananta108
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
406 Views
Message 10 of 25
Flag for a moderator

Re: New user - poor speed already

Yes about 200 on the phone

I do have a gigabit card and cat6 cable

How do I actually post the link to my quality monitor, by generating graphs?

0 Kudos
Reply