Menu
Reply
ewhitey
  • 130
  • 0
  • 10
Superfast
3,281 Views
Message 1 of 99
Flag for a moderator

New install and 1 Gb running slow slow slow

I have a PC with Gigabit connection connected directly to the Hub4 via a Cat 5e Gigabit cable - Distance about 4 to 5 metres.Connected to my hub presently and for all testing are my pc and my iphone 8. I previously had an M600 package with almost identical issues then whilst transiting to the 1Gb package, moved to M200 for about a week and that work flawlessly from start to finish!!! 

I had 1Gb installed last week and haven't got anything greater than 943Mbps but overall average is around 4-500Mbps?

I have used countless speedtests and are generally in unison that my connection is slow - Realspeed Samknows shows anything from 350 to 980 but usually is in the 400's.My upload speeds are averaging around 50, latency around 15 and packet loss always less than 1.0 (last check was -0.121.

Regards wifi, my phone on last check using Samknows was 397 to hub and 319 to phone - Ookla test was 479 up and 49.5 down. Overall any test on my phone will show anything from 69Mbps to 500Mbps sitting right next to the router?

I'm confused as to why a) I'm not getting a decent speed e.g. always over say 850 and b. Why my readings are so widely variable?

Last speed test run/ethernet:
nperf.com: down 246 up 51.63
Fast.com: down 290 up 50
Samknows: down 390 down 293
Thinkbroadband: down 215 up 39.7
Ookla Website: down 351 up 52.84
Ookla Windows app: down 676 up 52.80

iPhone 8 Wifi: Ookla app: down 358 up 43.5    Realspeed Samknows: down 397 down 319

 

0 Kudos
Reply
ewhitey
  • 130
  • 0
  • 10
Superfast
3,278 Views
Message 2 of 99
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install and 1 Gb running slow slow slow

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

253310000002.70000138.983261QAM25625
11390000006.40000238.605377QAM2561
21470000006.50000038.983261QAM2562
31550000006.50000040.366287QAM2563
41630000005.80000338.983261QAM2564
51710000005.40000240.366287QAM2565
61790000005.00000038.983261QAM2566
71870000004.90000240.366287QAM2567
81950000004.69999740.366287QAM2568
92030000004.30000338.983261QAM2569
102110000004.30000338.983261QAM25610
112190000004.19999740.366287QAM25611
122270000004.09999840.366287QAM25612
132350000004.19999738.983261QAM25613
142430000004.50000040.366287QAM25614
152510000004.40000240.366287QAM25615
162590000004.69999740.946209QAM25616
172670000004.59999838.983261QAM25617
182750000004.30000340.366287QAM25618
192830000003.90000238.983261QAM25619
202910000003.70000140.366287QAM25620
212990000003.79999940.366287QAM25621
223070000003.50000040.366287QAM25622
233150000003.20000138.983261QAM25623
243230000002.79999938.983261QAM25624
263710000002.20000140.366287QAM25626
273790000002.29999940.366287QAM25627
283870000002.40000240.366287QAM25628
293950000002.59999838.983261QAM25629
304030000002.70000140.366287QAM25630
314110000002.70000140.366287QAM25631



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

25Locked38.98326100
1Locked38.60537700
2Locked38.98326100
3Locked40.36628700
4Locked38.98326100
5Locked40.36628700
6Locked38.98326100
7Locked40.36628700
8Locked40.36628700
9Locked38.98326100
10Locked38.98326100
11Locked40.36628700
12Locked40.36628700
13Locked38.98326100
14Locked40.36628700
15Locked40.36628700
16Locked40.94620900
17Locked38.98326100
18Locked40.36628700
19Locked38.98326100
20Locked40.36628700
21Locked40.36628700
22Locked40.36628700
23Locked38.98326100
24Locked38.98326100
26Locked40.36628700
27Locked40.36628700
28Locked40.36628700
29Locked38.98326100
30Locked40.36628700
31Locked40.36628700



3.1 Downstream channelsChannel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
33804K1560QAM4096424


3.1 Downstream channelsChannel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
33Locked423.15813519218
0 Kudos
Reply
ewhitey
  • 130
  • 0
  • 10
Superfast
3,273 Views
Message 3 of 99
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install and 1 Gb running slow slow slow

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000044.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM5
23940000044.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM4
34620000043.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM3
42580000044.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM6



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0030
2US_TYPE_STDMA0000
3US_TYPE_STDMA0000
4US_TYPE_STDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
3,271 Views
Message 4 of 99
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install and 1 Gb running slow slow slow

I'm wondering if the spread of power (d/s) of 2.2 - 6.6 dBmV is causing a problem!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
ewhitey
  • 130
  • 0
  • 10
Superfast
3,270 Views
Message 5 of 99
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install and 1 Gb running slow slow slow

Network Log

Time Priority Description

Thu Jan 1 00:01:25 19703No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Wed Sep 1 19:13:02 20215MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Wed Sep 1 21:27:05 20216CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 24; Chan ID: 33; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: 3.;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Wed Sep 1 23:05:43 20213No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
0 Kudos
Reply
adhsmith
  • 50
  • 0
  • 11
On our wavelength
3,257 Views
Message 6 of 99
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install and 1 Gb running slow slow slow

Sometimes it is just the speed test sites that are unreliable, for example when I did SamKnows I got 230Mb to hub but 660 Mb to computer 😄 Often the length of the test is often too short, particularly for wifi where beamforming can come into play.

You have to know which server on a speedtest can provide reliable data.

Approx 940Mb is the speed you should see wired to a PC, assuming it is not some under powered netbook

The max you will see on an Iphone 8 is a theoretical 867Mbps, there will no doubt be some overhead in that which would drop the speed you receive down on wifi 5, I know on my own Wifi 5 laptop I don't often see more than 400Mb from an internet speed test unless I have 160Mhz channels enabled. (Non VM wifi) at which point I can max it.

You could try a wifi site survey and set the router up on a non congested channel and perhaps if you have no old wifi devices just put it in AC mode on Ghz.

ewhitey
  • 130
  • 0
  • 10
Superfast
3,247 Views
Message 7 of 99
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install and 1 Gb running slow slow slow

Is that fixable because currently VM call taker said there's no issues and i can go on the 30 day check?!!!!

0 Kudos
Reply
risc19
  • 897
  • 29
  • 269
Well-informed
3,202 Views
Message 8 of 99
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install and 1 Gb running slow slow slow


@lotharmat wrote:
I'm wondering if the spread of power (d/s) of 2.2 - 6.6 dBmV is causing a problem!

Could be!

A power attenuator could be a easy fix.

ewhitey have you set up a BQM yet?

It may help to illuminate the problem.

You could also try this as a temporary measure...

1. Turn off Smart WIFI

2. Turn off 2.4g WIFI

3. Make sure 5G WIFI channel width is set to 20/40/80.

Retest at close range and pray.

 

My Broadband Ping - Gig1 Modem mode
0 Kudos
Reply
ewhitey
  • 130
  • 0
  • 10
Superfast
3,174 Views
Message 9 of 99
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install and 1 Gb running slow slow slow

Hi there

I'll give that a go later and thanks for your help (and others above).

This evening we disconnected everything and connected the Hub 4 to the cable coming into the house. Then connected my lads laptop, my pc and eventually our two mobiles to test wifi. We tested many times over ethernet and wifi using RealSpeed Samknows then later a few times for luck with Ookla. The results that came back helped us ruled out any "forward" line issues as most of the time, from cable to Hub 4, we had around 7-800 average (never higher than 985 or lower than 387) with fluctuations but i'm assuming these are to be expected? At any one time only one device was connected whether via ethernet or wifi. The download speeds from Hub4 to device were as before pretty low averaging maybe 3-350 Mbps (occasionally lower!). The wifi speeds  on the phones were showing low in the 40-70 range for download speed using Ookla and that's sitting beside the router. 

Next we put the Hub4 into modem mode and linked up my Asus RT-AC86U router. Same tests again and almost immediately there were huge differences. The SamKnows download speeds were (strangely) more consistent - averaging maybe 850Mbps and the Hub to device speed increased by around 200Mbps - The phone wifi speeds went from double to triple figures averaging out around 450Mbps.

I'll continue recording my readings but it appears that the Hub4 just isn't up to the job. VM can send the signal to the Hub4 (but not without fluctuation and and certainly not the 1 Gb advertised - I have only seen 4 figures three times since installation. From Hub4 to device whether ethernet or wifi is just woeful and it's terrible that I have to use another router to carry the can for the Hub4. What annoys me is that all VM will say when you call them is we'll put you on a 30 day Ofcom monitor yada yada - No mention of actually trying to fix the issue and certainly no mention of retaining you as a customer. I've been with VM for over 25 or so years - our line's been there since the NTL days - and I've never been so messed about as I have been over the past month or so. Calltakers blatantly lying, departments not returning calls, people hanging up during calls by "getting cut off", giving faulty email addresses and even cutting our services by mistake leaving us with nothing for three days - It's ridiculous and unacceptable and VM need to get a grip! I will add however that I have the greatest respect and give thanks again to those on these forums who give their time to provide support - I wonder however, how many people are sitting just putting up with what they have and stressing out as they can't come on here and don't have some kind of technical understanding.

Going back a month or so, we had an almost identical issue with our M600 signal and I thought the Hub3 was faulty. Despite crying out for a hub change they basically did nothing except bang on about the 30 day Ofcom monitor then as mentioned, cut our connection by mistake. Our package was reinstalled, more "mistakes" were made and we ended up with a shiny new Hub3 but on M200. Everything then worked fine - stable acceptable speeds until of course it all changed after the 1GB/Hub4 install - Why was that? The caveat VM has is their "minimum guarantee to the hub" meaning they don't need to concern themselves about what happens beyond it. Of course in my case, I'm not even getting that guaranteed speed most of the time, just some of it. It's seems so wrong that I am forced to use another router to get some (not all) of what I'm already paying for but worse still that VM are allowed to get away with it in the first place. At the end of the day, I spent most this afternoon waiting on the phone with VM to yet again be told all we can do is start a 30 day monitor and you can leave if you want. The rest of the day was spent troubleshooting with you guys and with ONLY single devices connected to a Hub by ethernet or wifi, the Hub with its superfast 1Gb connection STILL couldn't put out a stable, acceptable speed - How is this right and how can they say that everything is working fine - Is the Hub faulty or simply not fit for purpose?   😞   

Scc28
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
3,114 Views
Message 10 of 99
Flag for a moderator

Re: New install and 1 Gb running slow slow slow

Just to let you know, as we had similar problems with speed.

Engineer been out and cable needs replacing between our house and VM cabinet 1000m away!

Planned in for 13th this month, will keep you posted.

Simon