Menu
Reply
Sartois
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
426 Views
Message 1 of 29
Flag for a moderator

New fibre broadband is slow (upload and download)

Hi all,

 I'd appreciate any help regarding an issue on my new fibre broadband; since it was installed on Monday things have been somewhat ropey and despite two calls to the support line, nothing has improved although there was, temporarily, a significant improvement.

 Basically, I should be getting (in theory) 100Mb speed although I appreciate that on Wifi I'm unlikely to get near that. When testing via Speedtest.net I've been getting 40Mb on average although that's really varied. After conversation with tech support, and a few router reboots later, the speed was around 90Mb (or even 100Mb) at one point but it quickly dropped back down to 40Mb or so. Still, it did indicate that the wifi wasn't the issue. Indeed, whether on 5Hz or 2.4Hz, the signal strength is good.

 In terms of upload, there's an issue there too - in the Speedtest.net test, it would just freeze at certain points. Given that I'm working from home with Teams calls, etc. this is problematic.

 So...what have I done? I went into the router settings, separated the frequencies, and tried connecting either to 5Hz or 2.4Hz. I also got a Wifi analyser on my phone and picked up the channels that seemed to be quieter in terms of nearby chatter. Here are the results:

5Hz - Default channel: 3.19Mb upload, 3.47 download

5Hz - Channel 36: 14.00 up, 0.00 down

2.4Hz - Default channel: 31.99 up, 4.86 down

 So...oddly, the 5Hz seems to be slower than the 2.4Hz one, despite the fact that the signal strenght is fine for both.

In addition, I ran a tracert command via CMP to the Google servers and I'm getting 'Request Timed Out' on those elements relating to the virginmedia.net 'nodes'. Finally, when doing the Speedtest.net tests I sometimes get a 'Socket error' as well.

So, I'm out of options - any help would be much appreciated. I've done a factory reset so am back to square one again. The download speed is underwhelming, and the upload connection freezes up.

Thanks,

Sartois

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.06K
  • 1.07K
  • 2.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
420 Views
Message 2 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: New fibre broadband is slow (upload and download)

Connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here as text, not screenshots  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.

Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Sartois
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
401 Views
Message 3 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: New fibre broadband is slow (upload and download)

Thanks for taking the time to reply - it's appreciated; here's the results over 3 messages - it wouldn't let me put them all together:

Downstream:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1331000000740256 qam25
22030000005.940256 qam9
32110000005.640256 qam10
42190000005.540256 qam11
52270000005.340256 qam12
6235000000540256 qam13
7243000000540256 qam14
82510000005.140256 qam15
92590000005.540256 qam16
102670000005.840256 qam17
112750000005.840256 qam18
122830000006.140256 qam19
132910000006.440256 qam20
142990000006.540256 qam21
153070000006.540256 qam22
163150000006.840256 qam23
173230000006.840256 qam24
183710000006.540256 qam26
193790000006.540256 qam27
203870000006.440256 qam28
213950000006.140256 qam29
224030000006.440256 qam30
234110000006.340256 qam31
244190000006.140256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.300
2Locked40.390
3Locked40.360
4Locked40.380
5Locked40.340
6Locked40.970
7Locked40.340
8Locked40.320
9Locked40.360
10Locked40.360
11Locked40.950
12Locked40.930
13Locked40.350
14Locked40.3180
15Locked40.3190
16Locked40.9190
17Locked40.950
18Locked40.310
19Locked40.350
20Locked40.370
21Locked40.360
22Locked40.360
23Locked40.980
24Locked40.3150
0 Kudos
Reply
Sartois
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
400 Views
Message 4 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: New fibre broadband is slow (upload and download)

Upstream:

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
13940000045.3512064 qam6
22580007845512064 qam8
33260000045.3512064 qam7
44620000045.3512064 qam5


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0020
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Sartois
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
399 Views
Message 5 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: New fibre broadband is slow (upload and download)

Network Log:

Network LogTime Priority Description
28/04/2021 14:41:53noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:40criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/04/2021 09:02:21noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/04/2021 08:59:55Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2021 14:00:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2021 09:30:24noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2021 08:45:50Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2021 08:27:51ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2021 08:04:38noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2021 07:59:11noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
26/04/2021 07:57:10noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
26/04/2021 07:57:6ErrorDisruption during SW download - Power Failure
26/04/2021 07:54:28noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:09:0criticalNo Maintenance Broadcasts for Ranging opportunities received - T2 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:08:55Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:08:51criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:06:56criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:05:9criticalNo Maintenance Broadcasts for Ranging opportunities received - T2 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:05:3Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:05:0criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Sartois
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
395 Views
Message 6 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: New fibre broadband is slow (upload and download)

I'm not sure why it's replaced the CM-MAC characters with asterisks, I can manually copy and paste if required.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.06K
  • 1.07K
  • 2.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
348 Views
Message 7 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: New fibre broadband is slow (upload and download)

No, those asterisks are intentional, to keep identifying data like IP addresses, MAC addresses and so forth private, there's no requirement for them when sharing the data publicly as in this forum.  When you post, the software looks for data that matches the format, and replaces it with asterisks, and that's when you see that odd error message - although it's incorrectly worded, that's just showing you the redacted version before it gets posted.

The bad news is that the power levels and SNR are all OK.  Bad news because if they were out, that's an easy fix.  There's a series of troubling errors in the network log, so whilst not on their own clear enough to confirm a broadband fault, they don't persuade me to rule out the broadband.  And if the signal strength is good, that likewise suggests that the broadband could yet be the problem.  So at this point in time, we still don;t know if we're dealing with a wifi fault or a broadband fault..

So, next steps:

First up, do you have a device (or could you borrow one) that can connect to the hub by ethernet cable, to see if speeds over ethernet are poor?  This is important, because VM's protocols tend to assume that the users's wifi environment or devices are faulty rather than taking a more agnostic approach to identifying a fault.  

Second, setup a BQM over at https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality that'll show what's going on with your VM connection.  Post a link to a live, shared graph here and we'll see what's happening.  Usually needs to run for 24 hours before we can draw reasonable conclusions, but the live graph will continuously update so you can do that immediately.

It is worth persevering with this for the next few days, because when VM works, it is acceptably reliable and consistently fast.  But if by the beginning of next week we're no further forward, you might need to consider invoking a cancellation during the 14 day cooling off period, but let's worry about that at the time.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Sartois
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
307 Views
Message 8 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: New fibre broadband is slow (upload and download)

Sorry for the delay in replying, I was having trouble getting my Broadband Quality account sorted out; so...I just did a Speedtest run via my PS4 which is hooked up directly into the hub. The results are not great.

1st run: It hits 100Mbps but then freezes for a good 20 seconds and when it comes to, the average download speed is 35Mbps. The upload test doesn't complete because it pops up with a 'Socket error'.

2nd run: Again, it hits 100Mpbs but then froze for approximately 12 seconds, started again, then froze for at least 40, whereupon it finished the test and reported an average of 38Mbps. Again, with the upload there was a Socket error.

I did actually run it 2 other times and it did the freezing thing, but then the PS4 reported not enough memory, so the whole webpage crashed.

 

I just need to sort out the Broadband link, brb.

0 Kudos
Reply
Sartois
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
292 Views
Message 9 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: New fibre broadband is slow (upload and download)

For the life of me, I can't work out how to embed a live image - it's continually coming up with the invalid HTML error message, whatever variant I'm trying to do. Here's the direct link: https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/a8499a08d1976ea195c057ad8dc73fb851... 

Thanks,

Sartois

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.06K
  • 1.07K
  • 2.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
272 Views
Message 10 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: New fibre broadband is slow (upload and download)

From your test with the PS4, I agree with your diagnosis that it's the broadband not the wifi.

Regarding the BQM link, that's fine - a link to a live chart shows the preceding 24 hours and updates continuously.  If you post a linked image then you either need to insert it via the forum's HTML editor (which is a small amount of faffing), or if it inserts as an unlinked image it won't update.

Can you repost a full set of downstream, upstream and network log again?  I know that's a nuisance, I'm hoping to see evidence of some change that will give us a clue - VM are very poor at taking ownership and resolving intermittent or complex problems, which is why it is often best to try and identify a fault before asking for a technician visit.  And company protocols are that a technician won't be sent out unless there is clear evidence of a fault - your word and my opinion count for nothing, it needs evidence.  The first few hours of the BQM are looking nasty - you shouldn't be seeing those huge latency spikes, we'll get more evidence as that builds through the day, though for a complete picture we'll have to wait until tomorrow. 

I'll flag for the staff to comment in case there's any known problems or anything visible on their systems, but at this stage I'd be surprised if they could see anything that would be clear enough to both assign a technician visit, and for the technician to be able to find and fix.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks