Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
469 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

New customer on Ultimate Oomph Bundle, only getting 260Mbps

Hey guys,

I’m hoping you could help me. I rang VM and was on the phone to them for 2 hours they couldn’t see any issues (said everything was green for them) so the only solution they provided me with is raising a complaint with OFCOM on my behalf.

I’m a new customer on the Ultimate Oomph bundle, so I’m supposed to be getting 500Mbps, when I first had it installed I also bought a AmpliFi HD router with 2 mesh points because I’m well aware that the SH3 is sometimes the issue. On the Amplifi router (whether wired or wireless) I was only getting 280Mbps max speed so I stripped the set-up down to diagnose the problem.

I have 2 V6 boxes alongside my superhub, could it be that VM are not provisioning enough into my house, at the time of install I only had one V6 box operating and it seemed to be better, so could it be an issue with the splitter or something? I’m having to diagnose everything myself due to their reluctance to send an engineer out.

I’m in the same room as the super hub, right next to it and I’m getting 220Mbps on my iPhone X - is this normal due to limitations of WiFi or should I be getting the full 500? Also connected my laptop directly to the router with no other devices and I can’t get more than 320Mbps.

Any other ideas?

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.39K
  • 789
  • 1.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
465 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer on Ultimate Oomph Bundle, only getting 260Mbps

Have you disabled smart WiFi and checked that 20/40/80mhz is enabled in the hubs WiFi settings page! ? 

I work for Virgin Media and my posts are my own opinions
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20.96K
  • 1.14K
  • 2.7K
Alessandro Volta
444 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer on Ultimate Oomph Bundle, only getting 260Mbps

And what are your wired speed direct to the hub?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
439 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer on Ultimate Oomph Bundle, only getting 260Mbps

No, I have not. Will have to try that. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20.96K
  • 1.14K
  • 2.7K
Alessandro Volta
433 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer on Ultimate Oomph Bundle, only getting 260Mbps


@jb66 wrote:

Have you disabled smart WiFi and checked that 20/40/80mhz is enabled in the hubs WiFi settings page! ? 


The hub should be in Modem Mode if another router is being used alongside it.

OP - is this the case?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
432 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer on Ultimate Oomph Bundle, only getting 260Mbps

Just did the speed test and getting as follows. 

Wireless: 

101Mbps on my laptop (2 inches away from the SH) 

131Mbps on my iPhone (3 inches away from the SH)

Wired: 

348Mbps

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
428 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer on Ultimate Oomph Bundle, only getting 260Mbps


@gary_dexter wrote:

@jb66 wrote:

Have you disabled smart WiFi and checked that 20/40/80mhz is enabled in the hubs WiFi settings page! ? 


The hub should be in Modem Mode if another router is being used alongside it.

OP - is this the case?


Yes, when I use my own router, SH is in modem mode. 
For now, I’ve taken my router out of the equation as the person on the phone was blaming the router for slow speeds, so for now while I diagnose the issue it’s just the SH. Even while plugged in I’m only getting 350Mbps max

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20.96K
  • 1.14K
  • 2.7K
Alessandro Volta
424 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer on Ultimate Oomph Bundle, only getting 260Mbps

Post the Network, upstream and downstream logs from the hub admin pages 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
410 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer on Ultimate Oomph Bundle, only getting 260Mbps


@gary_dexter wrote:

Post the Network, upstream and downstream logs from the hub admin pages 


Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
483000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
53700000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1483000000138256 qam30
2187000000738256 qam7
31950000006.538256 qam8
42030000006.138256 qam9
52110000006.138256 qam10
62190000005.538256 qam11
72270000005.338256 qam12
82350000004.938256 qam13
92430000004.938256 qam14
102510000004.838256 qam15
112590000004.838256 qam16
122670000004.538256 qam17
132750000004.838256 qam18
142830000004.638256 qam19
152910000004.838256 qam20
162990000004.938256 qam21
173070000004.938256 qam22
183150000004.538256 qam23
193230000004.438256 qam24
20443000000238256 qam25
214510000001.738256 qam26
224590000000.937256 qam27
234670000000.537256 qam28
24475000000138256 qam29



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.930
2Locked38.970
3Locked38.9180
4Locked38.6100
5Locked38.950
6Locked38.960
7Locked38.9100
8Locked38.960
9Locked38.970
10Locked38.950
11Locked38.970
12Locked38.960
13Locked38.640
14Locked38.960
15Locked38.970
16Locked38.6210
17Locked38.990
18Locked38.970
19Locked38.920
20Locked38.920
21Locked38.950
22Locked37.690
23Locked37.6120
24Locked38.680

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1537000004.375512064 qam6
2462000004.3512064 qam7
3603000004.4512064 qam5
4394000004.25512064 qam8



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
408 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New customer on Ultimate Oomph Bundle, only getting 260Mbps


@gary_dexter wrote:

Post the Network, upstream and downstream logs from the hub admin pages 


Network Log

Time Priority Description

05/07/2020 20:17:43noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/07/2020 11:45:1noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/07/2020 04:29:43ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/06/2020 09:03:24noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/06/2020 15:52:36ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/06/2020 09:32:11ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/06/2020 04:50:56criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/06/2020 14:31:8ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2020 13:28:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2020 10:54:57noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2020 10:18:28Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2020 10:18:24Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2020 10:18:24criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2020 10:18:23Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2020 10:18:22criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:00:31criticalTFTP Request Retries exceeded, CM unable to register
01/01/1970 00:00:31criticalTFTP failed - Request sent - No Response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:00:2Warning!ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:00:1Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply