Menu
Reply
Wolfclaw
  • 172
  • 4
  • 54
Superfast
741 Views
Message 1 of 26
Flag for a moderator

New M500 Not Getting The Speed

BB-Edin.JPG

M500 now been online for 24hrs, ping is reasonable, upstream seems on target but downstream not as expected, router in modem mode connected to a Asus AC5300 running Merlin firmware.

Issues getting the hub to run modem mode, seemed to just failed to save the new firmware settings and download a configuration file on restart.

Lost count how many times I had to pin reset the thing, previous M200 package always gave me 216Mbps.

Any suggestions welcome.

Wolfclaw-BBM1 

Wolfclaw_0-1610563450071.png

------------------------------------------------
M500 Package
Superhub v3 Modem Mode
Asus RT-AX86U
2.5G CAT 7 LAN
Windows Server 2019

My Broadband Ping - Wolfclaw-BBM1
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
Reply
Wolfclaw
  • 172
  • 4
  • 54
Superfast
739 Views
Message 2 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Not Getting The Speed

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11390000004.437256 qam1
21470000004.537256 qam2
31550000004.937256 qam3
4163000000537256 qam4
5171000000538256 qam5
6179000000537256 qam6
71870000004.937256 qam7
81950000004.638256 qam8
92030000004.438256 qam9
10211000000438256 qam10
11219000000438256 qam11
122270000003.738256 qam12
13235000000438256 qam13
142430000004.538256 qam14
15251000000538256 qam15
162590000005.338256 qam16
172670000005.538256 qam17
182750000005.338256 qam18
192830000005.338256 qam19
202910000005.438256 qam20
212990000005.338256 qam21
223070000005.538256 qam22
233150000005.538256 qam23
243230000005.538256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.35912
2Locked37.65010
3Locked37.6458
4Locked37.6370
5Locked38.6340
6Locked37.3250
7Locked37.6650
8Locked38.6430
9Locked38.6140
10Locked38.6240
11Locked38.6170
12Locked38.6310
13Locked38.9200
14Locked38.9310
15Locked38.6200
16Locked38.9320
17Locked38.6160
18Locked38.9110
19Locked38.9110
20Locked38.9110
21Locked38.9320
22Locked38.9180
23Locked38.9350
24Locked38.9420

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000042512064 qam5
25370000043.3512064 qam2
34620000043512064 qam3
43940001042.5512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID976624
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID976623
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

------------------------------------------------
M500 Package
Superhub v3 Modem Mode
Asus RT-AX86U
2.5G CAT 7 LAN
Windows Server 2019

My Broadband Ping - Wolfclaw-BBM1
0 Kudos
Reply
Wolfclaw
  • 172
  • 4
  • 54
Superfast
738 Views
Message 3 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Not Getting The Speed

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

13/01/2021 17:31:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2021 20:12:45noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:37criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2021 19:19:52noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:37criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2021 18:40:51noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2021 18:30:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2021 18:23:2noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2021 18:20:54Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2021 18:01:57noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
12/01/2021 17:59:56noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:01:48critical16 consecutive T3 timeouts while trying to range on upstream channel 3;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:48criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:28Warning!MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:28Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 23:07:55noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 22:59:0noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
05/01/2021 22:53:22noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
21/10/2020 00:34:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
------------------------------------------------
M500 Package
Superhub v3 Modem Mode
Asus RT-AX86U
2.5G CAT 7 LAN
Windows Server 2019

My Broadband Ping - Wolfclaw-BBM1
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
735 Views
Message 4 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Not Getting The Speed

What speeds do you get at >>  SamKnows << with a direct connection using a Cat 5E or better ethernet cable between the Hub in Router Mode and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?

Then immediately after …

Can you Login to the Hub Settings and navigate to the Connected Devices page - what is the reported 'connection speed’ for the ethernet cable connected device you used for the speed test ?


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Wolfclaw
  • 172
  • 4
  • 54
Superfast
704 Views
Message 5 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Not Getting The Speed

Wolfclaw_0-1610565629230.png

In modem mode, so hub shows no connected devices.

------------------------------------------------
M500 Package
Superhub v3 Modem Mode
Asus RT-AX86U
2.5G CAT 7 LAN
Windows Server 2019

My Broadband Ping - Wolfclaw-BBM1
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
698 Views
Message 6 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Not Getting The Speed

Is that test going through the Asus ?


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Wolfclaw
  • 172
  • 4
  • 54
Superfast
668 Views
Message 7 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Not Getting The Speed

It is, Asus has been rock solid for years with the M200, 5% cpu usage on either core and 300MB free memory, so plenty of spare capacity.

I even tried my 2016 Server which is link aggregated to 2 ports on the Asus, so plenty of bandwidth on that and almost identical results.

------------------------------------------------
M500 Package
Superhub v3 Modem Mode
Asus RT-AX86U
2.5G CAT 7 LAN
Windows Server 2019

My Broadband Ping - Wolfclaw-BBM1
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
633 Views
Message 8 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Not Getting The Speed

Can you test without the Asus in the LAN please.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Wolfclaw
  • 172
  • 4
  • 54
Superfast
600 Views
Message 9 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Not Getting The Speed

Yep, slightly worse, I know the Hub3 hardware has it's issues .. cough cough Intel PUMA !

Any comment on my power levels etc ?

------------------------------------------------
M500 Package
Superhub v3 Modem Mode
Asus RT-AX86U
2.5G CAT 7 LAN
Windows Server 2019

My Broadband Ping - Wolfclaw-BBM1
0 Kudos
Reply
Wolfclaw
  • 172
  • 4
  • 54
Superfast
494 Views
Message 10 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Not Getting The Speed

More quick tests.

Samknows

Wolfclaw_0-1610819688666.png

Speedtest

Wolfclaw_1-1610819810269.png

 

So obviously an issue, not getting 2/5 of speed being paid for, sadly others worse off !

------------------------------------------------
M500 Package
Superhub v3 Modem Mode
Asus RT-AX86U
2.5G CAT 7 LAN
Windows Server 2019

My Broadband Ping - Wolfclaw-BBM1
0 Kudos
Reply