Menu
Reply
LordZoltan
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
779 Views
Message 1 of 28
Flag for a moderator

New M500 Customer (from 350) can't get above 300Mbps

Changed the contract the other day, and have been running regular speed tests via Ookla since and am never getting close to 500Mbps.  On the upstream side, however, I consistently hit 36Mbps.

Hub 3.0 is in Modem-Only mode, going into an ASUS RT-AC3200 (yes, via the Virgin-supplied LAN cable!).  PC I'm testing from is then plugged directly into the same router.

Hub used to be laid on its side - but it's not any more.

I also tried factory-resetting the Hub and plugged the PC directly to it - no difference.

I've also been on through the speed troubleshooter via the My Virgin control panel, including running an automated test.

I can only assume it's either something to do with the levels (pasted below for the community's pleasure, thanks in advance!), or just really bad local congestion.

Here are the vital stats from the modem:

Software version: 9.1.1811.401

 

Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	SNR (dB)	Modulation	Channel ID
1	    475000000	    -12.4	        36	        256 qam	    33
2	    219000000	    -7	            38	        256 qam	    11
3	    227000000	    -7.4	        38	        256 qam	    12
4	    235000000	    -7.5	        38	        256 qam	    13
5	    243000000	    -7.7	        38	        256 qam	    14
6	    251000000	    -7.9	        38	        256 qam	    15
7	    259000000	    -8.2	        38	        256 qam	    16
8	    267000000	    -8.2	        38	        256 qam	    17
9	    275000000	    -8.7	        38	        256 qam	    18
10	    283000000	    -9	            38	        256 qam	    19
11	    291000000	    -9.2	        37	        256 qam	    20
12	    299000000	    -9.2	        37	        256 qam	    21
13	    307000000	    -9.5	        37	        256 qam	    22
14	    315000000	    -10	            37	        256 qam	    23
15	    323000000	    -10.2	        37	        256 qam	    24
16	    411000000	    -12	            36	        256 qam	    25
17	    419000000	    -12	            36	        256 qam	    26
18	    427000000	    -12	            36	        256 qam	    27
19	    435000000	    -12.2	        36	        256 qam	    28
20	    443000000	    -12.2	        36	        256 qam	    29
21	    451000000	    -12.2	        36	        256 qam	    30
22	    459000000	    -12.4	        36	        256 qam	    31
23	    467000000	    -12	            36	        256 qam	    32
24	    483000000	    -12.7	        35	        256 qam	    34


Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Locked Status	RxMER (dB)	Pre RS Errors	Post RS Errors
1	    Locked	        36.3	    26431	        5009
2	    Locked	        38.6	    6894	        12994
3	    Locked	        38.6	    10124	        8516
4	    Locked	        38.9	    7743	        7589
5	    Locked	        38.6	    8051	        7056
6	    Locked	        38.9	    9713	        6050
7	    Locked	        38.6	    9539	        4715
8	    Locked	        38.6	    9474	        6748
9	    Locked	        38.9	    9586	        5756
10	    Locked	        38.6	    10494	        5888
11	    Locked	        37.3	    12070	        6822
12	    Locked	        37.6	    13555	        11012
13	    Locked	        37.3	    14143	        5392
14	    Locked	        37.3	    16233	        11281
15	    Locked	        37.3	    17129	        7666
16	    Locked	        36.3	    24023	        2771
17	    Locked	        36.6	    21636	        4710
18	    Locked	        36.6	    20093	        5338
19	    Locked	        36.6	    18982	        5822
20	    Locked	        36.3	    19552	        6716
21	    Locked	        36.3	    24467	        6044
22	    Locked	        36.3	    21636	        5172
23	    Locked	        36.3	    20948	        5133
24	    Locked	        35.5	    47145	        7304

 

Upstream bonded channels
Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	Symbol Rate (ksps)	Modulation	Channel ID
1	    46200049	    4.85	        5120	            64 qam	    1
2	    25800068	    4.725	        5120	            64 qam	    4
3	    32600000	    4.75	        5120	            64 qam	    3
4	    39399982	    4.825	        5120	            64 qam	    2


Upstream bonded channels
Channel	Channel Type	T1 Timeouts	T2 Timeouts	T3 Timeouts	T4 Timeouts
1	    ATDMA	        0	        0	        0	        0
2	    ATDMA	        0	        0	        0	        0
3	    ATDMA	        0	        0	        0	        0
4	    ATDMA	        0	        0	        0	        0

Thanks in advance for any suggestions - even if it's to say 'get an engineer'.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
772 Views
Message 2 of 28
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: New M500 Customer (from 350) can't get above 300Mbps

Your Downstream Power Levels are far too low and will need an engineer visit.

You can contact VM to report your problem using ...

Text service on 07533051809

150 from Virgin landline.

0345 454 1111 from any other UK  phone.

The best time to call is 08:00 to get a UK agent, anything after 10:00 you must realise that you are quite likely to get through to an offshore agent that doesn't speak English as a first language.

Or you can wait on here for one of the VM Staff to pick up the thread but this may take a few days.

In the meantime ...

Go round all the accessible co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some troubleshooting; to start with …

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you can post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

 In the URL box paste the link you copied and then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
LordZoltan
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
767 Views
Message 3 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Customer (from 350) can't get above 300Mbps

Thanks for the response.

Just double-checked the co-ax connections and they all seem tight enough.

Thankfully, I've been running a BQM since the last time my IP changed (well over a year!):

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/95128f8961b76be875d0310fc350546a 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
765 Views
Message 4 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Customer (from 350) can't get above 300Mbps

In the meantime it may be a good idea to carry out a factory reset on the Hub …

DO NOT DO THIS if the password on the base of the Hub is not legible or missing.

Instructions for Hub 3

Disconnect all unneeded ethernet cables from the rear of the Hub.

With the Hub Powered on use a paperclip or similar and do a pinhole reset.

Depress the pinhole switch for a timed 60 seconds then release.

DO NOT reboot the hub but allow it 5 to 10 minutes for it to boot itself up.

Once a steady white and no other lights are illuminated check your system again.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
LordZoltan
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
758 Views
Message 5 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Customer (from 350) can't get above 300Mbps

Yeah I did this a couple of days ago - ~I also ran a speed test via a direct LAN connection to the hub with it in its factory default configuration.

The result was exactly the same speed profile as it is now with it in model-only mode - that was across three different Ookla servers and also the Google speed test and the Thinkbroadband test as well.

0 Kudos
Reply
LordZoltan
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
736 Views
Message 6 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Customer (from 350) can't get above 300Mbps

Hmmm...

So weird thing happened.  I got through to Virgin tech help to book an engineer.  The very helpful lady on the other end of the line remotely changed my hub to Router mode and requested I plugged my laptop directly into it - which I did.

Ran a speed test, peaked at 512Mbps and averaged at 415Mbps.  Ran a couple more tests, the speed went down a bit, but still > 350.  This was *not* what happened the other day.

I take the verbal smacked wrist for connecting via my router like a big boy, whilst switching back to said connection.  I run another speed test through my router this time - 400Mbps again, faster than ever.

Power levels are very similar to before.

So I'm not sure - perhaps I'm underestimating how much the other people in my house are murdering the internet.

I'm satisfied that everything from the Hub out seems to be correct, though - thanks!

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
726 Views
Message 7 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Customer (from 350) can't get above 300Mbps

Can you post your Hub logs again please to see if they have changed.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
LordZoltan
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
721 Views
Message 8 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Customer (from 350) can't get above 300Mbps

Sure thing:

Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	SNR (dB)	Modulation	Channel ID
1		475000000		-12.7			35			256 qam		33
2		219000000		-7				38			256 qam		11
3		227000000		-7.2			38			256 qam		12
4		235000000		-7.5			38			256 qam		13
5		243000000		-7.7			38			256 qam		14
6		251000000		-7.9			38			256 qam		15
7		259000000		-8.2			38			256 qam		16
8		267000000		-8.4			38			256 qam		17
9		275000000		-8.7			38			256 qam		18
10		283000000		-9				37			256 qam		19
11		291000000		-9.2			37			256 qam		20
12		299000000		-9.4			37			256 qam		21
13		307000000		-9.7			37			256 qam		22
14		315000000		-10.2			37			256 qam		23
15		323000000		-10.4			37			256 qam		24
16		411000000		-12.2			36			256 qam		25
17		419000000		-12.2			36			256 qam		26
18		427000000		-12.2			36			256 qam		27
19		435000000		-12.2			36			256 qam		28
20		443000000		-12.5			36			256 qam		29
21		451000000		-12.5			35			256 qam		30
22		459000000		-12.5			36			256 qam		31
23		467000000		-12.4			36			256 qam		32
24		483000000		-13				35			256 qam		34


Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Locked Status	RxMER (dB)	Pre RS Errors	Post RS Errors
1		Locked			35.5		26665			5009
2		Locked			38.6		7025			13032
3		Locked			38.6		10248			8591
4		Locked			38.6		7891			7734
5		Locked			38.9		8147			7091
6		Locked			38.9		9797			6074
7		Locked			38.6		9678			4763
8		Locked			38.6		9624			6813
9		Locked			38.6		9667			5782
10		Locked			37.6		10536			5888
11		Locked			37.6		12194			6864
12		Locked			37.6		13724			11072
13		Locked			37.6		14249			5404
14		Locked			37.3		16358			11281
15		Locked			37.3		17261			7678
16		Locked			36.3		24240			2771
17		Locked			36.6		21859			4710
18		Locked			36.6		20325			5338
19		Locked			36.3		19179			5822
20		Locked			36.3		19745			6716
21		Locked			35.7		24750			6044
22		Locked			36.6		21861			5172
23		Locked			36.6		21180			5133
24		Locked			35.5		47519			7304

 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
707 Views
Message 9 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Customer (from 350) can't get above 300Mbps

Your Downstream Power Levels are still too high, the maximum accepted is 10dBmV but the closer to zero the better.

This needs sorting with an engineer visit or you will be plagued with problems in the future.

The reboot is showing on your BQM at about 14:30 and since then you have no reds up to now, but the yellow (latency) is getting quite high.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
Anonymous
Not applicable
705 Views
Message 10 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M500 Customer (from 350) can't get above 300Mbps

Do you have something like below attached between your HUB and wire from the wall socket?

0 Kudos
Reply