Menu
Reply
splendid_alex
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
505 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

New M350 connection slow

Hi all,

New to virgin media, installed yesterday evening and it's just quite slow. Speedtest.net indicates variable download between about 10 and 47 Mbits/s, though upload is more like 36 Mbits/s which is what I was expecting. Frankly, my old copper phone line FTC connection was this fast (on the download), and better value so if they don't get it fixed I am going to just exit the contract while I am still able to.

I'm a bit surprised they didn't check the connection speed on install, is that normal?

Browsing a few other similar threads I noticed that my RS errors were apparently very high for some channels, happy to post if it might help work out what is wrong. An engineer is coming Saturday though so presumably they can resolve this.

Thanks,

Alex

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
501 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M350 connection slow

How are you connecting your device[s], Wi-Fi or ethernet cable ?


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
splendid_alex
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
499 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M350 connection slow

Desktop PC, gigabit ethernet (the Hub 3 confirms this) directly.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
497 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M350 connection slow

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

 

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
splendid_alex
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
491 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M350 connection slow

Thank you so much for the incredibly swift and helpful reply!

Replies to the requested information are below:

The check service status number indicates no issues in my area.

I've only got one accessible co-ax cable and I've disconnected and reconnected both ends of this, with no change for better or worse.

My BQM 

Downstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1331000000038256 qam25
2203000000-2.936256 qam9
3211000000-333256 qam10
4219000000-1.727256 qam11
5227000000-0.725256 qam12
6235000000-237256 qam13
7243000000-2.237256 qam14
8251000000-4.737256 qam15
9259000000-5.737256 qam16
10267000000-336256 qam17
11275000000-2.537256 qam18
12283000000-238256 qam19
13291000000-3.737256 qam20
14299000000-236256 qam21
15307000000-0.737256 qam22
16315000000138256 qam23
17323000000-0.737256 qam24
18339000000-2.737256 qam26
19347000000-0.937256 qam27
20355000000-0.737256 qam28
21363000000138256 qam29
22371000000-0.937256 qam30
23379000000038256 qam31
24387000000-1.237256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9750
2Locked36.6471331
3Locked33.41788251347
4Locked27.2143664150111230747
5Locked2545390468218319786
6Locked37.6949
7Locked37.6960
8Locked37.327328
9Locked37.3290122
10Locked36.625280
11Locked37.615125
12Locked38.6650
13Locked37.3870
14Locked36.3870
15Locked37.6350
16Locked38.9360
17Locked37.6480
18Locked37.310919
19Locked37.613560
20Locked37.6260
21Locked38.9320
22Locked37.6360
23Locked38.6240
24Locked37.330

0

 

0 Kudos
Reply
splendid_alex
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
490 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M350 connection slow

Too many characters for all the router output so here's the rest:

Upstream

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1602999865.075512064 qam1
2394000175.1512064 qam4
3536999445.1512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000

 

Network Log:

Time Priority Description

06/10/2020 13:22:40Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:22:37Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:22:27Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:22:26Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:22:7Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:22:7criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:22:6criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:22:0Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:21:59Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:21:40Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:21:40Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:21:32Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:21:32Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:21:16Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:21:15Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:21:9Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:21:8Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:21:6Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:21:4Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/10/2020 13:20:32Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
461 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: New M350 connection slow

Starting at the top.

Your downstream Power levels are all within spec but the differential between lowest of -5.7dBmV and highest of +1dBmV is far too big.

You have a large number of Post RS Errors on channels 4 & 5.

You only have 3 Upstream Channels and on 2 of those the Power Level is maxed out at 5.1dBmV.

Basically you need an engineer visit to put things right.

You can either phone in (08:00 is the best time) or wait on here for a few days until one of the VM Forum Staff comes along.

 


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
456 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: New M350 connection slow

In the meantime to see if the system can renegotiate a decent connection and clear the Post RS Errors can you reboot the Hub using this method.

Switch the Hub off using the small switch on the rear of the Hub next to the power cord and pull the PSU plug from the wall socket.

Give it a good 5 minutes put the plug back in and switch the Hub back on.

Allow the Hub a few minutes to fully restart then check your data again.

 


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
SCA1972
  • 5.89K
  • 662
  • 2K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
444 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M350 connection slow


@MikeRobbo wrote:

Basically you need an engineer visit to put things right.

You can either phone in (08:00 is the best time) or wait on here for a few days until one of the VM Forum Staff comes along.


@MikeRobbo Alex stated in the original post that an engineer is already booked for Saturday.

@splendid_alex Engineer should be able to address all the issues that Mike has highlighted, unless there is an issue further up the chain, but the engineer can flag it to the relevant team if that is the case.  Slightly worrying that they installed it in that state, unless this was a self install?

______________________
Scott

My setup: VM TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
splendid_alex
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
440 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: New M350 connection slow

Not a self-install, engineer came and drilled holes in walls, stuck on new wall box etc yesterday evening. As far as testing the line went, he waited for the router to start up with the right coloured light and that seemed to be about it? But I might have missed something so didn't want to blame him. Hence this post really - was just checking I'd not done something wrong somehow/trying to sort it out before an engineer arrived.

Total power off for the Hub seems to have made no difference, speeds about the same.

0 Kudos
Reply