Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
391 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

New Installation M500 barely working

Hi. 2 Days ago i had a new installation for M500 Fibre. Internet is barely working. Massive packet losses , lag spikes, ~10-20mbps on speedtests. Its just terrible. I had my previous installation in flat next door with very similiar issues that i already report to them with no respond. For this installation they used the same cable so it must be something wrong with that right?  Anyway bellow some info about my connection etc.


Hub 3.0
Im using Ethernet Cable cat6 ( same as 2 more PC with same issue as i wrote up )
Yes I restarded my Hub already 
Yes i changed my ethernet cables ( even bought new ones  )

BBM screen :

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1139000000-0.740256 qam1
21470000000.540256 qam2
31550000000.240256 qam3
4163000000040256 qam4
5171000000040256 qam5
6179000000040256 qam6
71870000000.540256 qam7
8195000000-0.240256 qam8
9203000000-1.440256 qam9
10211000000-240256 qam10
11219000000-231256 qam11
12227000000-2.731256 qam12
13235000000-2.540256 qam13
14243000000-2.740256 qam14
15251000000-2.240256 qam15
16259000000-2.240256 qam16
17267000000-140256 qam17
18275000000-240256 qam18
19283000000-1.440256 qam19
20291000000-140256 qam20
21299000000-0.540256 qam21
22307000000-0.740256 qam22
23315000000-1.240256 qam23
24323000000-0.740256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.300
2Locked40.900
3Locked40.9170
4Locked40.9110
5Locked40.900
6Locked40.300
7Locked40.360
8Locked40.350
9Locked40.900
10Locked40.350
11Locked31.43552045708
12Locked31.969118526256
13Locked40.350
14Locked40.300
15Locked40.3100
16Locked40.300
17Locked40.900
18Locked40.900
19Locked40.950
20Locked40.950
21Locked40.300
22Locked40.9100
23Locked40.300
24Locked40.3120

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1537000005.1512064 qam6
2603000005.1512064 qam5
3394000005.1512032 qam8
4462000005.1512064 qam7



0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
390 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation M500 barely working

Network Log

Time Priority Description

21/08/2020 12:07:35noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:46:6Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:46:5Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:45:5Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:45:4Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:44:27Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:44:26Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:44:3Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:44:1Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:43:47Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:43:44Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:42:28Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:42:26Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:42:20Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:42:19Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:42:0Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:41:58Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:41:2Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:41:1Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/08/2020 11:40:54Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.53K
  • 491
  • 861
Legend
377 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation M500 barely working

My guess is that you have a lot of noise between your Hub and the street cabinet.

But regardless you need an engineer visit to get it fixed.

You can contact VM to report your problem using ...

Text service on 07533051809

150 from Virgin landline.

0345 454 1111 from any other UK  phone.

The best time to call is weekdays 08:00 to get a UK agent, anything after 10:00 you must realise that you are quite likely to get through to an offshore agent that doesn't speak English as a first language.

Or you can wait on here for one of the VM Staff to pick up the thread but this may take a few days.

 

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
372 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation M500 barely working

Thanks for fast responding. I just called virgin about that. They will look on my connection to max 48h. If its gonna be the same after that time i need to call them, and they will send engineer to check that box etc

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.32K
  • 189
  • 627
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
352 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation M500 barely working

@thestiny you have a bad joint or damaged cable somewhere between the hub and the street cabinet. All you can realistically do is to check all the connections you can get to and make sure they are finger tight and there’s no obvious signs of damage.

This won’t magically fix itself permanently in the next 48 hours, so you will need an engineer visit.

Highlighted
  • 497
  • 25
  • 47
Forum Team
Forum Team
313 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation M500 barely working

Hi there @thestiny 

 

Thanks for your post. Sorry to hear that you've been having these issues with your broadband since upgrading. I appreciate this would be frustrating! 

 

I've been able to locate your account and I can see that you do need a tech visit. I've booked in the next available date for you. Please check here to see if the appointment is suitable for you and if you need to change it, you'll be able to do so there. 

 

Please let us know how it goes and if you need any further help 

 

Thanks, 

 

 

Hollie - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


Highlighted
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
308 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation M500 barely working

Hi Hollie. When im clicking this link its redirecting me to virgin site to my account. Cant see anything there about appointments etc. Anyway im at home all time now, so engineer can come any time soon as possible thanks a lot

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 497
  • 25
  • 47
Forum Team
Forum Team
299 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation M500 barely working

Apologies @thestiny 

 

Please try this link to view your appointment here 

 

Thanks, 

 

Hollie - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


Highlighted
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
184 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation M500 barely working

So i waited 3 days for an engineer and Today he supossed to be here 4pm-7pm but nobody came at all. Nobody called me as well... Im calling virgin for  ~1h now and nobodys picking a phone.. just great ;/

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
176 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation M500 barely working

after 1h of waiting i finally get somebody on the phone. This person told me that the engineer was here but nobody was at home... this is just frustrating because im here waiting. I booked another one for tomorrow. Not a single call on my phone nothing.. Anyway will see tomorrow
0 Kudos
Reply