Menu
Reply
Jim-M7
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
632 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

New Install, Line Stabalisation?

Hi,

I had my connection and broadband installed yesterday, been monitoring the speeds for the last 24hrs and they have been fluctuating wildly, from 220mbps down to 11mbps. Is there normally a time it takes for the line to stabilise? As I don’t know how long to wait before raising it as an issue, as i’m paying for 200mbps.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
629 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Install, Line Stabalisation?

Speeds should be instant and stable.

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

 

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Jim-M7
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
601 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Install, Line Stabalisation?

My BQM 

0 Kudos
Reply
Jim-M7
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
595 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Install, Line Stabalisation?

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11387500005.838256 qam1
21467500005.940256 qam2
31547500005.640256 qam3
41627500005.840256 qam4
51707500005.938256 qam5
61787500005.838256 qam6
7186750000638256 qam7
81947500005.838256 qam8
92027500005.838256 qam9
102107500005.638256 qam10
112187500005.638256 qam11
122267500005.538256 qam12
132347500005.138256 qam13
14242750000538256 qam14
15250750000538256 qam15
16258750000540256 qam16
172667500004.640256 qam17
182747500004.138256 qam18
192827500004.140256 qam19
202907500003.938256 qam20
21298750000438256 qam21
223067500003.738256 qam22
233147500003.538256 qam23
243227500003.738256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.660
2Locked40.360
3Locked40.360
4Locked40.360
5Locked38.960
6Locked38.950
7Locked38.9160
8Locked38.9200
9Locked38.900
10Locked38.950
11Locked38.950
12Locked38.950
13Locked38.960
14Locked38.960
15Locked38.960
16Locked40.340
17Locked40.340
18Locked38.970
19Locked40.350
20Locked38.640
21Locked38.650
22Locked38.950
23Locked38.950
24Locked38.990
0 Kudos
Reply
Jim-M7
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
594 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Install, Line Stabalisation?

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1537000003.725512064 qam2
2462000003.7512064 qam3
3603000003.7512064 qam1
4394000003.725512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Jim-M7
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
593 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Install, Line Stabalisation?

Network Log

Time Priority Description

01/10/2020 20:44:31noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/10/2020 19:05:53Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/10/2020 19:05:47criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/10/2020 19:05:47Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/10/2020 19:05:47criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/10/2020 19:05:46Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/09/2020 23:26:49criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/09/2020 19:47:29noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/09/2020 19:06:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/09/2020 17:21:17noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/09/2020 11:12:10ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/09/2020 10:44:5noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
30/09/2020 10:41:20noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
30/09/2020 10:41:17ErrorDisruption during SW download - Power Failure
30/09/2020 10:38:26noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
14/09/2020 13:12:0noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/09/2020 13:03:23noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
14/09/2020 12:57:39noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:01:33criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/08/2020 11:12:35noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Emma_C
  • 8.28K
  • 512
  • 559
Forum Team
Forum Team
375 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Install, Line Stabalisation?

Hi Jim-M7, 

Thanks for your post and welcome to our community. 

I'm really sorry that your speeds were fluctuating after being installed. I'd also like to apologise for the delay in getting back in touch, we have been busier than normal. 

I've had a look at the back end of things since you posted and it's all looking good from here, have things now improved?

 

If not then please reboot and let us know so we can run some further checks. 

 



 

Emma_C - Forum Team
0 Kudos
Reply
happywithmy350
  • 1.02K
  • 46
  • 137
Well-informed
373 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Install, Line Stabalisation?

Nope - No Line Stabilisation
0 Kudos
Reply
Jim-M7
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
328 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Install, Line Stabalisation?

Hi Emma,

No still having a lot of problems, having done A LOT of research it seems that the issue is that the Hub3 is really poor at traffic management of your wifi devices.

I have had to split the wifi signal into 2.4ghz and 5ghz all the low usage devices are on my 2.4 and the devices that require fast speeds on the 5, this has improved things somewhat but the traffic management is still non existent, i’m getting 220mpbs d/l and 20mpbs u/l on my iphone but only 80mpbs and 4mpbs on my playstation in the same room, the bandwidth management is really poor. I have seen numerous recommendations even on this forum to purchase my own router, but why should I shell out a further £150 because the equipment supplied to me is sub-par.

This is not what your rep promised me on the phone, even suggested that due to the amount of devices I have on my wifi VM would be “perfect” for me. I’m really unimpressed. I was told I was have amazing coverage all throughout my house.

A number of friends were interested in moving to VM when I told them I was getting it and what a great deal I was getting, however since hearing all the, quite basic, problems i’ve been having they’re all steering clear as their current connections are very stable for them.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
324 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Install, Line Stabalisation?

Welcome to the Trials & Tribulations of Wi-Fi

The problem with Wi-Fi is that it can be brilliant at breakfast time and useless by lunchtime and you haven't changed anything, BUT, something, somewhere has changed, then you can spend hours and even days trying to find a fix for something that can be totally out of your control.

If you remove all the internal walls, electronic and electrical devices, metallic pipes and conduits and wrap the whole building in a thick lead shield you will have a good chance of getting decent Wi-Fi from a VM Hub.

Many people have accepted that the VM Wi-Fi is poor and have purchased third party equipment that is much, much more powerful than the VM supplied kit and once set up have wondered why they waited for so long.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply