Menu
Reply
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
m4rkw4tkins
Joining in
573 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

My broadband speed is slower than should be

Hi, 

I pay for the 350 broadband and I am getting max 200. I have a device plugged in to the router measuring the speed every 10 minutes and recording it - this is presented below.

How can I improve this or should I be on a lower package and get a refund for the difference for all months paid for this upgrade already? 

2019-10-08 18_56_59-UniFi.png

Thanks,

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13.22K
  • 1.01K
  • 3.08K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
546 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: My broadband speed is slower than should be

start with some info

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labelled - upstream - downstream and the config page

if its an earlier hub button is top right

what hub do you have - you need a hub3 for 350

as to refunds - cross that bridge if you are on 200 

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.65K
  • 201
  • 608
chenks
Community elder
540 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: My broadband speed is slower than should be

ok i see you are using unifi equipment.
are you using a unifi USG are a router? because it will struggle with speeds ~300Mbps

you need to post the stats from the hub rather from your unifi equipment in the first instance.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
alexandermullen
Joining in
536 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: My broadband speed is slower than should be

The minimum guaranteed speed for 350 is 181 Mbps as noted on this link on their website https://www.virginmedia.com/shop/broadband/speeds

So it's highly unlikely they will be able to do anything to improve it by much.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
m4rkw4tkins
Joining in
520 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: My broadband speed is slower than should be

Hi Tony,

Thanks for the reply. 

I am on a hub 3 and on the 350 package, but as someone guessed below, yes I have Ubiquiti USG UniFi Security Gateway and then a POE switch and the cloud key is plugged into the switch. Does the USG really not support speeds > 300? 

If I downgrade my service to 200 - then maybe I can still get same speeds?

Downstream: 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12987500008.338256 qam21
21387500006.938256 qam1
31467500006.940256 qam2
41547500006.940256 qam3
5162750000740256 qam4
61707500007.340256 qam5
71787500007.540256 qam6
81867500007.640256 qam7
91947500007.940256 qam8
102027500007.940256 qam9
112107500007.940256 qam10
122187500007.940256 qam11
132267500007.840256 qam12
142347500007.840256 qam13
152427500007.538256 qam14
162507500007.338256 qam15
172587500007.438256 qam16
182667500007.838256 qam17
192747500007.938256 qam18
202827500007.838256 qam19
212907500007.838256 qam20
223067500008.538256 qam22
233147500008.538256 qam23
243227500008.538256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.6428321414
2Locked38.91355651150
3Locked40.31182451276
4Locked40.91015856016
5Locked40.3876155460
6Locked40.9758854504
7Locked40.3666650874
8Locked40.3624648241
9Locked40.3567645112
10Locked40.3523642769
11Locked40.3512440767
12Locked40.9468038546
13Locked40.3455936221
14Locked40.3453333074
15Locked38.9450930457
16Locked38.9449327838
17Locked38.9462927115
18Locked38.9441924583
19Locked38.9434623699
20Locked38.9430823141
21Locked38.6415321591
22Locked38.6411821404
23Locked38.9403420611
24Locked38.6398420780

 

 

Upstream:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462000494.15512064 qam1
2257999924.05512064 qam4
3325999964.075512064 qam3
4394000004.15512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.65K
  • 201
  • 608
chenks
Community elder
515 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: My broadband speed is slower than should be

easy way to test this.
unplug all your unifi equipment, put the hub back into router mode and do a speed test.
see if you get more than 200Mbps down.

the USG is limited in what it can do with regards to thruput, however you should at least check that you have hardware offloading enabled on the USG. also, if you have QOS enable than you also lose a bit of bandwidth too.

i'm sure i read that if you had more than 200Mbps downstream then you need to go up to a USG Pro, as the standard USG isn't powerful enough to handle much more than that.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13.22K
  • 1.01K
  • 3.08K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
510 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: My broadband speed is slower than should be

downstream levels are good as is the upstream but all those pre and post rs errors could not be helping - reboot the hub to zero them and see if they rise

you are on 350 you say - post the config page to confirm that - just gets one more thing out of the way

and as said take everything out of the equation and just connect a pc to the hub3 and do a speed test - no need to put it in router mode just do the test and yoy can then put everything back - lets see what that says

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
m4rkw4tkins
Joining in
408 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: My broadband speed is slower than should be

Ok thanks Tony. Will try tonight when back home and update the info. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
m4rkw4tkins
Joining in
374 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: My broadband speed is slower than should be

Tony, thanks again for you assistance. 

Here is the config detail:

General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxl35016u-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID1021842
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID1021841
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

I left the hub in modem mode, and plugged in an ethernet cable into spare port and to laptop - but do I need to put the cable in a particular port because didn't get any internet with the one I choose and cannot unplug anything this evening from the hub.

 

Thanks 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13.22K
  • 1.01K
  • 3.08K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
366 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: My broadband speed is slower than should be

well the config confirms you are on 350 so no mistake there from VM - its usually the port next to the coax although on the hub3 other ports have been known to work

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply