Menu
Reply
jgtimperley
  • 94
  • 3
  • 30
Up to speed
507 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Modem mode issues on Hub 3 firmware 9.1.1912.302

Hi,

I've seen (and contributed to) a number of threads over the past few months on here relating to poor quality on Teams/Zoom and other applications which use UDP.

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Latency-spikes-low-quality-MS-teams-calls/td-p/4477035

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/UDP-issues-on-SuperHub3-collective-thread/td-p/4382720

I've been a long time (3+ years) Hub 3 modem mode user and not had any issues, until the start of October, when Teams/Zoom calls for both me and my Wife (separate computers, both wired, one Win 10 and one MacOS), deteriorated massively. Looking at the router logs, I saw an upgrade to 9.1.1912.302. 

Switching to router mode fixes the issues immediately, as does switching to a slower FTTC backup circuit I have. I also tried modem mode with different routers  attached (Mikrotik, OpenWRT, Fritzbox 7530, Netgear D7000), with the same issues - poor Teams/Zoom calls.

Oddly, I noticed overnight on 11/11 that my Hub 3.0 had reverted back to 9.1.1811.401. To test, I'm now back in modem mode and Zoom/Teams seem much much better. In fact, the overall experience is probably better than 9.1.1912.302 in router mode.

To VM staff - my question is, why did my firmware roll back, and is it likely to stay? Have Virgin realised there's an issue with 9.1.1912.302 and modem mode?

Cheers,

JG

0 Kudos
Reply
Chris_W1
  • 4.06K
  • 185
  • 255
Forum Team
Forum Team
344 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Modem mode issues on Hub 3 firmware 9.1.1912.302

Hi jgtimperley, thanks for the message and sorry to hear that you are having issues with the service? Can confirm if you are still having issues with this? Can you try a pin hole reset and we will send you a private message - Chris 

0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 16.26K
  • 710
  • 1.6K
Alessandro Volta
333 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Modem mode issues on Hub 3 firmware 9.1.1912.302


@jgtimperley wrote:

To VM staff - my question is, why did my firmware roll back, and is it likely to stay? Have Virgin realised there's an issue with 9.1.1912.302 and modem mode?


One would hope but the forum team likely don't have the answer to your question like this...If I can't get VM to answer my question about changes made to WAN DHCP in my area then theirs no hope getting one by who does the firmware for the hub... 

In other words a forum team would need to know a guy who knows a guy.🙄 

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
jgtimperley
  • 94
  • 3
  • 30
Up to speed
310 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Modem mode issues on Hub 3 firmware 9.1.1912.302

Cheers Chris. Things have actually progressed a little since my original post, but I didn't want to provide an update on here as I didn't want to 'bump' the thread to the back of the queue.

Shortly after my post, my Hub 3 actually 'upgraded' back to 9.1.1912.302. I've been running with the same configuration this week (i.e. my usual Mikrotik router with the Hub in modem mode), and MS Teams/Zoom have been OK for both of us all week.

As things are running OK for us at the moment, I'm going to leave things as they are. If I do see any issues though, I'll be sure to try a pinhole reset and see how things go.

Many thanks for your response. I'll reply to your PM anyway, just in case any issues crop up next week and we need to investigate further.
0 Kudos
Reply
jgtimperley
  • 94
  • 3
  • 30
Up to speed
274 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Modem mode issues on Hub 3 firmware 9.1.1912.302

Update to this, for anyone who finds this thread in the future. Chris identified an area-wide SNR fault when he looked into my account, which was scheduled to be resolved by today (and judging by the fact that the service status line is now not reporting the issue, I believe it has been).

This however was not causing the issues I described in my original post, which specifically related to UDP traffic making the SuperHub 3 grind to a halt, which caused issues with Teams/Zoom etc. I'm confident that this SNR fault was unrelated, as my RF (WAN) side stats were all clear (and have actually deteriorated slightly since the area-wide "fix", although everything is still well within spec).

The fix for my issues has been to reduce the amount of background internet-bound UDP traffic on my network. This means not running BitTorrent applications at all (I found that even idling, my torrent client was sending heartbeats to other DHT clients, and this tiny amount of UDP was enough to choke the modem and cause Teams calls to stall). I'm currently back to my beloved modem mode (on firmware 9.1.1912.302) and have daily Teams/Zoom calls with no issues. We also use a 3rd party VoIP service, again with no issues.

Hope this helps anyone who stumbles across this in the future.
Anonymous
Not applicable
265 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Modem mode issues on Hub 3 firmware 9.1.1912.302


@jgtimperley wrote:
Update to this, for anyone who finds this thread in the future. Chris identified an area-wide SNR fault when he looked into my account, which was scheduled to be resolved by today (and judging by the fact that the service status line is now not reporting the issue, I believe it has been).

This however was not causing the issues I described in my original post, which specifically related to UDP traffic making the SuperHub 3 grind to a halt, which caused issues with Teams/Zoom etc. I'm confident that this SNR fault was unrelated, as my RF (WAN) side stats were all clear (and have actually deteriorated slightly since the area-wide "fix", although everything is still well within spec).

The fix for my issues has been to reduce the amount of background internet-bound UDP traffic on my network. This means not running BitTorrent applications at all (I found that even idling, my torrent client was sending heartbeats to other DHT clients, and this tiny amount of UDP was enough to choke the modem and cause Teams calls to stall). I'm currently back to my beloved modem mode (on firmware 9.1.1912.302) and have daily Teams/Zoom calls with no issues. We also use a 3rd party VoIP service, again with no issues.

Hope this helps anyone who stumbles across this in the future.

Not sure if it's relevant to you, however try disabling DHT in the client.

This drastically reduced the 'issues' experienced when reviewing my BQM.

jgtimperley
  • 94
  • 3
  • 30
Up to speed
257 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Modem mode issues on Hub 3 firmware 9.1.1912.302


@Anonymous wrote:

@jgtimperley wrote:
[...]

Not sure if it's relevant to you, however try disabling DHT in the client.

This drastically reduced the 'issues' experienced when reviewing my BQM.


Good shout Carl. For anyone else reading this, disabling DHT is worth a shot, if you still need to use Torrents.

0 Kudos
Reply