Menu
Reply
vengeanceuk
  • 212
  • 0
  • 15
Dialled in
563 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

M600 poor speeds for weeks

recently i have noticed a massive slide in connection speeds

i've seen it when downloading big files such as nvidia drivers, motherboard drivers, steam updates etc.

below are my stats, i'm wondering if the upwards creeping dBmV is the cause or not as used to be close to 0 across the board?

ive rebooted several times, tried the sh3 in both router and modem mode and doesnt make a jot of difference, when in modem mode i'm connected to a tplink archer ax11000 and i have hit the high speeds m600 is supposed to give, with this setup, but not for a few weeks now, despite VM's test saying nothing is wrong and tech support (well the guy i spoke to anyway) didnt have a clue when i tried to explain the above to him and blatantly swept my comments under the rug to continue down his checklist

 
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
14270000005.938256 qam37
22510000006.440256 qam15
32590000006.138256 qam16
42670000006.538256 qam17
52750000006.338256 qam18
62830000006.538256 qam19
72910000006.538256 qam20
82990000006.538256 qam21
93070000006.338256 qam22
103150000006.538256 qam23
113230000006.638256 qam24
123310000006.838256 qam25
133390000006.638256 qam26
143470000006.638256 qam27
153550000006.538256 qam28
163630000006.538256 qam29
173710000006.638256 qam30
183790000006.838256 qam31
193870000006.538256 qam32
203950000006.338256 qam33
214030000006.438256 qam34
224110000006.138256 qam35
234190000005.938256 qam36
244350000005.838256 qam38


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.6210
2Locked40.330
3Locked38.910
4Locked38.960
5Locked38.650
6Locked38.960
7Locked38.950
8Locked38.960
9Locked38.950
10Locked38.950
11Locked38.950
12Locked38.650
13Locked38.960
14Locked38.950
15Locked38.940
16Locked38.950
17Locked38.950
18Locked38.650
19Locked38.950
20Locked38.660
21Locked38.950
22Locked38.670
23Locked38.950
24Locked38.970
[url=https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/35f088be2cd2a2951bcca5fdf951acc7e4c3b302-15-04-2021][img]https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/thumb/35f088be2cd2a2951bcca5fdf951acc7e4c3b302-15-04-2021.png[/img][/url]
I DON'T work for Virgin Media - All opinions I post here are my own based on best guess and learning from previous experience methodology. If you just want to say thanks > click 'kudos' +☆ If this has also helped answer your question > click 'helpful answer'
0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 4.54K
  • 254
  • 729
Superstar
548 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M600 poor speeds for weeks

Your Hub stats are all perfectly good, and so is the BQM. 

What speed do you get in modem mode with a device connected directly to the Hub? 

0 Kudos
Reply
vengeanceuk
  • 212
  • 0
  • 15
Dialled in
494 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M600 poor speeds for weeks

Screenshot_24.png

 

This has been the average since the end of march, using either coniguration

I DON'T work for Virgin Media - All opinions I post here are my own based on best guess and learning from previous experience methodology. If you just want to say thanks > click 'kudos' +☆ If this has also helped answer your question > click 'helpful answer'
0 Kudos
Reply
vengeanceuk
  • 212
  • 0
  • 15
Dialled in
432 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M600 poor speeds for weeks

i forgot to add that upon inspection of the BQM logs, there have been days where there has been huge blocks of red in the BQM, The one posted was just that specific days.

I just cant seem to find why, all of a sudden, from everything being peachy, it drops to an "untenable level" for the price paid and need to find a resolution.

Unless the SH3 is faulty, then the fault is definitely outside of the property or in the cabling itself.

ALSO, looking around the forums, my "fault" is being reported a lot by many different people in different geographical locations, yet the onsite tests "claim" everything is fine, this is no longer an isolated occurrence but seems to be quite common on the M600 package at the moment

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/061aaa9304aa9e02732ec0eb524e453347...
https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/bec1237a066f78ab8b0d88ab63ed9aaf2a65497c-30-03-2021
I DON'T work for Virgin Media - All opinions I post here are my own based on best guess and learning from previous experience methodology. If you just want to say thanks > click 'kudos' +☆ If this has also helped answer your question > click 'helpful answer'
0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 4.54K
  • 254
  • 729
Superstar
416 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M600 poor speeds for weeks

Are you going to answer my question?

0 Kudos
Reply
vengeanceuk
  • 212
  • 0
  • 15
Dialled in
399 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M600 poor speeds for weeks

the first line of my first response was the answer as far as i was concerned

I DON'T work for Virgin Media - All opinions I post here are my own based on best guess and learning from previous experience methodology. If you just want to say thanks > click 'kudos' +☆ If this has also helped answer your question > click 'helpful answer'
Zach_R
  • 519
  • 20
  • 38
Forum Team
Forum Team
320 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M600 poor speeds for weeks

Hi @vengeanceuk,

Thank you for your post and welcome back to our community forums. We're here to help.

I'm very sorry to hear that you're having some problems with your connection recently. Is this issue ongoing for you today?

If so, are you able to test and confirm if the problem is also present on a wired connection or just a wireless/Wi-Fi connection? You can run a speed test here.

Let us know how you get on.

Thanks,
 



Zach - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
vengeanceuk
  • 212
  • 0
  • 15
Dialled in
296 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M600 poor speeds for weeks

Hi zach, yes the issue is still ongoing

all my tests are done wired

here is todays speedtest result

and todays bqm snapshot

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/d7fe119e12e2d707377e3861197197a18a12dc25-19-04-2021

this has been going on for 3 weeks now with no sign of a cure at the moment.

i believe on m600 the minimum guaranteed is supposed to be in the region of 328Mbps

I DON'T work for Virgin Media - All opinions I post here are my own based on best guess and learning from previous experience methodology. If you just want to say thanks > click 'kudos' +☆ If this has also helped answer your question > click 'helpful answer'
0 Kudos
Reply
Paulina_Z
  • 521
  • 16
  • 34
Forum Team
Forum Team
287 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M600 poor speeds for weeks

Hi @vengeanceuk,

 

Thank you for getting back to us.

 

Can you confirm if these speed tests are being done directly from the Virgin Media Hub or from a third party equipment?

 

Please keep us updated if you can.

 

Thanks,

Paulina_Z
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
vengeanceuk
  • 212
  • 0
  • 15
Dialled in
281 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M600 poor speeds for weeks

Hi paulina,

i can confirm that it has been done both ways, using SH3 as a standalone wired router

and in modem mode connected to a tp-link archer ax11000

before the end of march using the modem mode configuration, i was regularly clocking in at 500-620Mbs down.

then all of a sudden, boom, i've been under 200Mbs since

I DON'T work for Virgin Media - All opinions I post here are my own based on best guess and learning from previous experience methodology. If you just want to say thanks > click 'kudos' +☆ If this has also helped answer your question > click 'helpful answer'
0 Kudos
Reply