Menu
Joining in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

M500 upgrade but slow speed

We have upgraded to M 500 from M 200 But speed is same as before 

I never had speed close to what they advertised maximum we have got was 205 mbs only once usually speed is between 80 and 170 mbs however the upload is ok at @36 mbs  

I contacted vm and after 1 hour on phone reboot of hub they come to the conclusion that my wireless equipment as tablets and tv are not capable of receiving the high speed so I don’t understand and I have been left mort confused than before I called them.

I am not very good at Tehnical terms and I hope that someone can help me.

0 Kudos
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 upgrade but slow speed

The advice you have been given could well be correct.  There's some things we can check to make sure there isn't any underlying speed problem with your cable connection, and some changes to your hub's wireless settings that might help, but before going any further, are you prepared to follow our instructions to get technical data from your hub and post it here, and to make changes to the wifi that we will talk you through for the hub's "advanced settings"?  

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Superfast
Message 3 of 5
Flag for a moderator

I have been informed by Virgin that my account is M200 and should be receiving approximately 200Mbps and a little over that limit.

However, having completed numerous speed tests, I am only getting between 88Mbps - 93Mbps.

Paying £54 per month for a sub-standard account is not my idea of good business, but was forced to sign up with Virgin when I moved to my current location 4 years ago when other phone line Fibre options were not available in my area.