Menu
Reply
gamester182
  • 15
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
429 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

M500 package downloading at over 500 Mbps until Saturday and now cannot get over 200 Mbps

Hi there

As per subject, I have been using Virgin for a while now on the M500 package and getting almost max speeds for downstream and upstream but now seemingly overnight I cannot get any speed over 200 Mbps.

Before this happened, I was seeing these (great!) downstream speeds regardless of being in router mode or modem mode. My wired laptop would always be 500+ and even my phone connected to my (non Virgin) 5G wifi was going through the Virgin hub and getting around 400 which was brilliant.

I'm very aware of my download speeds as I am a homeworker and have frequent needs to download very large files for work (large DB dump files, VM disk images, etc) and it's extremely noticeable when the speeds are very good or good or just middling. I also noticed something which may be something to do with this when looking at the status pages which I'll post in this thread after this message. The downstream figure (which says "acquired downstream channel" and "locked" next to it) is 9 digits and begins with 2 and I know for a fact that this used to start with a 5 and was 9 digits long. I figured that this was something to do with a maximum download and upload speed, but I have literally no idea how broadband (adsl or fibre or other) works and it seems very strange that this now begins with 2 and I'm seeing my download speeds not going any higher than 200 (as opposed to 5 and 500).

So far I have tried changing from modem to router mode and back, and ever resetting the device from the config pages and going through the password setting and changing over to modem mode again. No difference. I also have repeated speed tests from my laptop while connected directly to the hub in router mode over a short (2 meter) and brand new cat 6 cable, still nothing over 200.

I have no idea what's going on but I have a string suspicion that it has something to do with this new 9 digit "2" figure appearing next to downstream. Any info or advice would be very appreciated.

Please know that I understand getting just under 200 Mbps is still pretty good but it's nowhere near what I *was* getting, and I explicitly took our the M500 package for the extra speed so being limited now to 200 Mbps without any discernible reason or communication to that effect from Virgin isn't an acceptable position for me to be in. I have just recently got my house into a position where I have really good wifi coverage and some additional wired points but to have the Virgin hub fail to deliver the previous over-500 speeds isn't great at all.

0 Kudos
Reply
gamester182
  • 15
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
428 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 package downloading at over 500 Mbps until Saturday and now cannot get over 200 Mbps

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
203000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46200088
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 



0 Kudos
Reply
gamester182
  • 15
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
426 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 package downloading at over 500 Mbps until Saturday and now cannot get over 200 Mbps

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12030000004.538256 qam9
22110000004.538256 qam10
32190000004.540256 qam11
42270000004.338256 qam12
52350000004.338256 qam13
62430000004.138256 qam14
7251000000438256 qam15
8259000000440256 qam16
92670000003.740256 qam17
102750000003.540256 qam18
112830000003.438256 qam19
122910000003.238256 qam20
132990000003.538256 qam21
143070000003.738256 qam22
153150000003.938256 qam23
163230000003.738256 qam24
173310000004.338256 qam25
183710000004.438256 qam26
193790000004.638256 qam27
203870000004.538256 qam28
213950000004.538256 qam29
224030000004.638256 qam30
234110000004.538256 qam31
244190000004.538256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.990
2Locked38.990
3Locked40.3120
4Locked38.9250
5Locked38.9150
6Locked38.9220
7Locked38.9160
8Locked40.3140
9Locked40.3170
10Locked40.3240
11Locked38.6250
12Locked38.9350
13Locked38.9400
14Locked38.9340
15Locked38.9470
16Locked38.9480
17Locked38.9590
18Locked38.9840
19Locked38.91290
20Locked38.91370
21Locked38.61520
22Locked38.62200
23Locked38.62330
24Locked38.62590
0 Kudos
Reply
gamester182
  • 15
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
423 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 package downloading at over 500 Mbps until Saturday and now cannot get over 200 Mbps

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620008838.8512064 qam7
23940000038.8512064 qam8
35369999538.5512064 qam6
46029988838.8512064 qam5



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
gamester182
  • 15
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
421 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 package downloading at over 500 Mbps until Saturday and now cannot get over 200 Mbps

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID11646
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID11645
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
420 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 package downloading at over 500 Mbps until Saturday and now cannot get over 200 Mbps

If possible can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Please post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here straight away.

Instructions for posting BQM Live Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
gamester182
  • 15
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
419 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 package downloading at over 500 Mbps until Saturday and now cannot get over 200 Mbps

Sorry, had to split over multiple replies and got a fair few "invalid HTML" warnings before posting. That's the router info up, hope it helps.

0 Kudos
Reply
gamester182
  • 15
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
403 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 package downloading at over 500 Mbps until Saturday and now cannot get over 200 Mbps

Hope I've done this right, but there's nothing appearing yet.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/ed7a306c1a1dad137243383678f123ac1733d7a0

I've made sure my router is set to respond to WAN ICMP ping.

Edit: I've confirmed I can ping the IP used by this graph, used a Azure cloud VM to test from.

0 Kudos
Reply
gamester182
  • 15
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
384 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 package downloading at over 500 Mbps until Saturday and now cannot get over 200 Mbps

This is a screenshot of my router based speedtest page. It represents the same figures I get when doing a general speed test using Ookla or a couple others. They're generally all telling the same story, regardless of router mode / modem mode, or wiredlaptop->router-virginhubmodemmode or wiredlaptop->virginhubroutermode.

gamester182_0-1609953535518.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
378 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 package downloading at over 500 Mbps until Saturday and now cannot get over 200 Mbps

That is the reason I am asking you to test with the device in Safe Mode with Networking, you may have something working in the background such as AV or Malwarebytes that is slowing things down.

It happens, in a recent thread a user got 500+ in Safe Mode with Networking, he uses Norton AV but his actual PC was the bottleneck because it didn't have the grunt to check every packet of data.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply