Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 34
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
389 Views
Message 11 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 no where near the Min Guaranteed Speed more like M350

No been on this for over a year and just renewed 18 month contract which was what led to the speed check.

There was a street level fault back in April causing TV problems but didn't check BB speed back then.

Going by SpeedTest results it did once hit 329 Mbps in the last couple of days so it is possible

https://www.speedtest.net/results?sh=6ccaf39b19f02059b5bc10a9b98bd676

image.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.91K
  • 51
  • 268
Problem sorter
381 Views
Message 12 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 no where near the Min Guaranteed Speed more like M350

Ahh ok as per package, I am new to 500Mb/s and i only just available without the package.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.36K
  • 742
  • 1.77K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
344 Views
Message 13 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 no where near the Min Guaranteed Speed more like M350

That time series Speedtest chart validates what you're saying - it should be much, much more consistent.  Can you post the Network log (as always, formatted text)?  Previous posts of Downstream and Upstream data didn't show anything out of the ordinary, I'm wondering if there's a problem that causing your hub to lose its connection on some channels, and that might show up in the log.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 34
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
330 Views
Message 14 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 no where near the Min Guaranteed Speed more like M350

Network Log

Time Priority Description

03/07/2020 11:15:35noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/07/2020 18:18:34criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/07/2020 15:57:27noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/07/2020 15:51:53noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/07/2020 15:20:16noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/07/2020 15:19:13Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/07/2020 06:17:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/06/2020 16:30:20noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-Vcb573b2ee9a9587e.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/06/2020 16:30:20ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/06/2020 09:07:0ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2020 21:15:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2020 14:05:46Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/06/2020 14:05:46criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:24:21Warning!MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:16:35Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:16:7criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:16:3Warning!MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:15:2Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:14:46criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:14:31Warning!MDD message timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 34
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
327 Views
Message 15 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 no where near the Min Guaranteed Speed more like M350

Should have refreshed another 2 - What is the No Ranging response which seems critical. Router/Modem Faulty?

Network Log

Time Priority Description

05/07/2020 07:44:0noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/07/2020 04:18:55criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Also dropped it into router mode with direct Cat6 to PC and checked speed again

Chrome

Edge

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.36K
  • 742
  • 1.77K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
311 Views
Message 16 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 no where near the Min Guaranteed Speed more like M350

No ranging response means the hub is struggling to communicate with the Cable Modem Termination System which is the kit that joins the co-ax network to the fibre optic backhaul to VM's internet gateways.  T3 timeouts aren't unusual, what matters is their frequency and any other surrounding errors or indicators. It COULD be a faulty hub, but that's fairly unlikely - the hubs are for the most part reliable, and performance is usually quite binary that they work or they don't.

I don't like the look of your Network log, but I can't pin it down too precisely.  Looks as though there's been some periods of a few days when things have been smooth, and then it all goes to pot?  I think there's too many T3 timeouts, a few synchronisation and partial service flags, failure to pick up system dates, and lost MDD data.  The MDD errors aren't normally important, but with the other elements I think this suggest a connectivity or noise issue resulting in packet loss, but so far the evidence isn't clear enough to justify me escalating to VM staff.  There's been a few problems with over-subscribed networks lately, and that's another possible cause, but on what I'm seeing here there's no evidence yet of that.

Have you got a BQM set up?  If not and you're thinking "wth is a BQM?", that's a tool over at Thinkbroadband that is free, and looks for latency and packet loss problems on your connection.  Set one up, let it run for 24 hours, let's see what that shows.

Of course, if you're getting tired of this forum-based fault finding, you can of course phone in and tell VM you're invoking their minimum speed guarantee, but the offshore agents aren't always as helpful as they could be for complicated issues.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 8.96K
  • 87
  • 586
Hero
296 Views
Message 17 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 no where near the Min Guaranteed Speed more like M350

Did you try speed test sites other than Edinburgh?

other sites.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 34
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
290 Views
Message 18 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 no where near the Min Guaranteed Speed more like M350

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8.96K
  • 87
  • 586
Hero
283 Views
Message 19 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 no where near the Min Guaranteed Speed more like M350

It gets worse, needs to be checked back to the head end

Highlighted
  • 34
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
262 Views
Message 20 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 no where near the Min Guaranteed Speed more like M350

When there was a street level fault back in april (they said degraded connection water seepage etc) which was causing TV to pix-elate/freeze on certain channels - they replaced the connection and TV problem was solved.(I'm assuming this is one and the same connection at street level?)

ThinkBroadband Speed Test 

Graph 

I think I've set up the BQM now 🤔 - had to turn on respond to ICMP so initial  total packet loss

BQM 

javadudd_0-1593950675143.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply