Menu
Reply
AdamCh
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
462 Views
Message 1 of 28
Flag for a moderator

M500 installed by technician, speed is under 2 Mbps

I recently moved my VM broadband on 21/06/21, but couldn't get any internet whatsoever. A technician was sent out today and it took him an hour and a half to fix whatever the problem was. He then left, but as soon as he left I tested the internet speed and was only receiving between 1 and 2 Mbps. I have called VM and they just told me to reset the router and wait 3 hours. In the meantime I have set up a BQM hoping that someone here can help me instead.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/ca2de287eb79a6b4a47f3dd33ae5ebd3ea...

SamKnows with Cat6 ethernet: 

SamKnows 2021-06-24.png

Connected devices:

Connected Devices 2021-06-24.png

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16.94K
  • 1.32K
  • 4.01K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
454 Views
Message 2 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 installed by technician, speed is under 2 Mbps

ahhh reset the router - well that might help - but wait 3 hours - thats garbage but gets you off the phone thinking something is being done or might happen

so what happened after the reset

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labelled - upstream - downstream

if its an earlier hub button is top right

____________________

Tony
AdamCh
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
448 Views
Message 3 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 installed by technician, speed is under 2 Mbps

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13310000004.840256 qam25
22670000004.640256 qam17
32750000004.540256 qam18
42830000004.540256 qam19
52910000004.338256 qam20
62990000004.338256 qam21
73070000004.540256 qam22
83150000004.640256 qam23
93230000004.640256 qam24
103710000004.940256 qam26
11379000000538256 qam27
12387000000540256 qam28
13395000000540256 qam29
14403000000540256 qam30
15411000000538256 qam31
16419000000540256 qam32
174270000004.940256 qam33
184350000004.838256 qam34
194430000004.538256 qam35
204510000004.940256 qam36
214590000004.838256 qam37
224670000004.440256 qam38
23475000000440256 qam39
244830000004.140256 qam40



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.300
2Locked40.340
3Locked40.370
4Locked40.370
5Locked38.960
6Locked38.950
7Locked40.350
8Locked40.360
9Locked40.340
10Locked40.300
11Locked38.950
12Locked40.340
13Locked40.340
14Locked40.360
15Locked38.950
16Locked40.360
17Locked40.300
18Locked38.950
19Locked38.930
20Locked40.950
21Locked38.970
22Locked40.360
23Locked40.3110
24Locked40.340

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030000034.4512064 qam1
23940000034.3512064 qam4
34620000034.3512064 qam3
45370000034.5512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16.94K
  • 1.32K
  • 4.01K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
443 Views
Message 4 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 installed by technician, speed is under 2 Mbps

levels are good - nothing there to complain about - so have you reset the hub and if so what happened whilst forgetting the 3 hours - speeds or lack of are instant

just to be sure its not a config problem post the info from the configuration page

____________________

Tony
AdamCh
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
441 Views
Message 5 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 installed by technician, speed is under 2 Mbps

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID113738
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID113737
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 16.94K
  • 1.32K
  • 4.01K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
422 Views
Message 6 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 installed by technician, speed is under 2 Mbps

config is correct - so back to the reset and test - whats happened with that

____________________

Tony
AdamCh
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
420 Views
Message 7 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 installed by technician, speed is under 2 Mbps

I've already reset the router using the pinhole, these are the results after the reset.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 24.06K
  • 2.54K
  • 4.37K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
417 Views
Message 8 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 installed by technician, speed is under 2 Mbps

Sorry to belabour the point but, note that a pinhole reset on a Hub3/4 can be a bit problematic - so do it (again) EXACTLY this way (not as the VM website says!).

First check all the connections ar all nice an finger tight.  With the Hub switched "on", disconnect any ethernet connections (leave the co-ax connected) and then push in the “reset pin” with the end of a paperclip/thin nail/SIM tray “tool” or similar (bigger items like ball point pen ends may not press it in far enough) until you feel it at the “stop point” and hold it there firmly for a "timed" minimum of 60 seconds do NOT manually restart the Hub at any time. Leave it 10' or so to stabilise and then your passwords/passphrase for both the Hub settings and the Wifi networks will revert to the two printed on the Hub sticker on its base/side/card. Make sure you use the wifi one for devices connecting to the wifi and the settings/admin one to access the Hub

See if that sorts it.


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
AdamCh
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
409 Views
Message 9 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 installed by technician, speed is under 2 Mbps

Ok so I did that and got full speed for about the time it took to do one speed test, then it reverted back to being under 2 Mbps. Very frustrating.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 24.06K
  • 2.54K
  • 4.37K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
406 Views
Message 10 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 installed by technician, speed is under 2 Mbps

Your BQM link seems to be to a static result - can you post the link to "share live graph" as per the TB website says - so we can see what its looking like

Also just in case... try the “free & automated” Service Status number - 0800 561 0061 - which usually gives the most up to date info. on any known faults and tells you of more local issues down to postcode level.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.