Menu
Reply
Sphynx
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
696 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

M500 - Lacking Ethernet/WiFi speeds.

Hey all; Last week I moved to Virgin and got the M500 package. Unfortunately I'm stuck in limbo between 60-120Mbps speeds, on both direct Ethernet connection and WiFi.

I've directly used an Ethernet (Cat6e and Cat6) cable to 2 devices that support 1-2Gbps speeds, averaging around 80 - 120Mbps speeds.

Here's where it's a little odd, I've used 2 mobile devices connected via WiFi and I've had weird spikes from 60 - 100Mbps and on the odd occasion jumps to 200Mbps and It'll go back to average. I've tried a hard reset (Pinhole), and only connected 1 device directly. no change.

Downstream bonded channels/Upstream bonded channels:

Spoiler
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1483000000038256 qam30
21870000002.737256 qam7
31950000002.537256 qam8
42030000002.237256 qam9
52110000001.937256 qam10
62190000001.537256 qam11
72270000000.737256 qam12
8235000000-0.237256 qam13
9243000000-0.737256 qam14
10251000000-0.237256 qam15
112590000000.537256 qam16
12267000000137256 qam17
13275000000138256 qam18
142830000001.237256 qam19
152910000001.238256 qam20
162990000001.737256 qam21
173070000001.937256 qam22
183150000002.237256 qam23
193230000002.438256 qam24
20443000000-0.237256 qam25
21451000000-0.237256 qam26
22459000000-0.237256 qam27
23467000000-0.238256 qam28
24475000000-0.438256 qam29


Downstream bonded channels: Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.900
2Locked37.650
3Locked37.650
4Locked37.650
5Locked37.650
6Locked37.650
7Locked37.640
8Locked37.670
9Locked37.300
10Locked37.600
11Locked37.6110
12Locked37.650
13Locked38.650
14Locked37.660
15Locked38.600
16Locked37.650
17Locked37.650
18Locked37.650
19Locked38.600
20Locked37.600
21Locked37.640
22Locked37.650
23Locked38.630
24Locked38.600
Spoiler
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1394000004.775512064 qam6
2326000004.675512064 qam7
3258000004.55512064 qam8
4462000004.875512064 qam5


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

Network Log:

Spoiler
Network LogTime Priority Description
22/07/2020 19:05:19noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 19:04:28Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:02:13criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 18:25:4noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:33criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/07/2020 12:09:27noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/07/2020 12:09:0Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/07/2020 11:20:57noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/07/2020 11:19:7Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:32criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/07/2020 09:29:10noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
18/07/2020 09:27:3noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
18/07/2020 09:26:59ErrorDisruption during SW download - Power Failure
18/07/2020 09:24:12noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:02:18criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
692 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 - Lacking Ethernet/WiFi speeds.

The stats look ok.

Could you post your 'Configuration' tab so we can check the speeds your HUB is locked to?

0 Kudos
Reply
Sphynx
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
685 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 - Lacking Ethernet/WiFi speeds.

Here's the config;

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxxl500u+voc-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID36234
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID36233
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
676 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 - Lacking Ethernet/WiFi speeds.

Ok, the config looks correct.

Another problem could be oversubscription in your area, but that's not easy to tell unless a VM staff member gets involved.

I assume you get your full expected upload speed?

0 Kudos
Reply
Sphynx
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
664 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 - Lacking Ethernet/WiFi speeds.

Yeah, I think I get my upload speed? It doesn't really change much from 37Mbps, regardless of download speed.

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
658 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 - Lacking Ethernet/WiFi speeds.

Yeah, that's correct.

Not sure then, sorry.

Are both your wired devices Windows 10?

0 Kudos
Reply
Sphynx
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
651 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 - Lacking Ethernet/WiFi speeds.

Win10 Laptop, other is Windows 7 Desktop; both with correct settings in the Adapter/Network configs. Windows 7 is an Intel Ethernet Connection capable of 1Gbps, Win10 is in a similar position.

I've tried speed-testing various times through the day/night even at 1AM in the morning. best I got was 124-130Mbps.

Unfortunately I let the engineer who fitted this last week aware that I was only getting 1/3rd of the minimum spec speeds, but he didn't seem experienced enough to understand why all devices (Including his) were getting varied speeds below min, on his end it was fine though. In the end we decided that we'd just leave it for a week and hope that it rectifies itself.

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
649 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 - Lacking Ethernet/WiFi speeds.

Would you mind trying this site

https://speedtest.samknows.com/ 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Sphynx
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
625 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 - Lacking Ethernet/WiFi speeds.

 Here's the speedtest:

SpeedTestV1.JPG

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
622 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 - Lacking Ethernet/WiFi speeds.

It's very odd!

I'm sure you mentioned it before but to clarify your wired devices are not going through any switches, power adapters of any sort, straight cable?

0 Kudos
Reply