Menu
Reply
gavjs
  • 9
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
636 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

M500 Fibre - just signed up and seems slower than it should be

Just had my M500 connection setup today and am seeing some issues.

Over wifi, my mobile phone is showing 229.9 Mbps download / 31.5 Mbps upload

Over a wired connection, through an unmanaged gigabit switch connected to the Virgin router, my desktop PC is showing 94.7 Mbps download / 36.74 Mbps upload.

I confirmed in the router that the connection it's seeing to my PC is 1,000 Mbps so I'm not seeing 100 Mbps for a hardware reason.

Does anyone have any suggestions on things I can try to see download speeds closer to the 500 Mbps I'm supposed to be getting?

Many thanks,

Gavin

PS - I have run through the self-help guide on a slow connection

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
627 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre - just signed up and seems slower than it should be

Could you access your router using http://192.168.0.1/ or http://192.168.100.1 for modem mode . You shouldn't need log in, select the 'Check Router Status' option and paste your 'Downstream', 'Upstream', and 'Network Log' tabs? Please copy/paste this data as text, split between multiple posts (Sometimes you have to click 'Post' twice due to an error message).

Could you please create a BQM (Broadband Quality Monitor) here, and post the live link?

 

We can check the router stats, however it is odd that Wifi is faster than ethernet!

I'd suggest plugging a wired device directly into the router, omitting any third party kit, to be sure wired connectivity is ok.

gavjs
  • 9
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
619 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre - just signed up and seems slower than it should be

BQM (just created) - 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/6589c95a9b57814c3e899da1584d2f57c9d43e7b
0 Kudos
Reply
gavjs
  • 9
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
618 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre - just signed up and seems slower than it should be

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13310000006.140256 qam25
22030000005.340256 qam9
32110000005.340256 qam10
42190000005.140256 qam11
5227000000540256 qam12
62350000004.940256 qam13
72430000004.940256 qam14
8251000000540256 qam15
9259000000540256 qam16
102670000004.840256 qam17
112750000004.540256 qam18
12283000000540256 qam19
132910000005.440256 qam20
142990000005.840256 qam21
153070000005.840256 qam22
16315000000640256 qam23
17323000000640256 qam24
183390000006.140256 qam26
193470000006.140256 qam27
203550000006.340256 qam28
213630000006.340256 qam29
223710000005.940256 qam30
233790000005.540256 qam31
24387000000540256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.950
2Locked40.39208
3Locked40.340
4Locked40.360
5Locked40.950
6Locked40.350
7Locked40.350
8Locked40.930
9Locked40.340
10Locked40.360
11Locked40.350
12Locked40.340
13Locked40.340
14Locked40.360
15Locked40.350
16Locked40.950
17Locked40.350
18Locked40.340
19Locked40.350
20Locked40.930
21Locked40.940
22Locked40.950
23Locked40.340
24Locked40.300
0 Kudos
Reply
gavjs
  • 9
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
617 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre - just signed up and seems slower than it should be

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1537000144.675512064 qam2
2394000364.675512064 qam4
3462000414.675512064 qam3
4603000144.675512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
gavjs
  • 9
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
616 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre - just signed up and seems slower than it should be

Just going to check PC directly connected to router in a second. Here's the last log from router....

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

05/10/2020 18:42:30noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 18:23:5Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 15:39:19noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 15:39:2Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:33criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 15:15:43noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 15:15:18Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 14:34:14noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 14:33:43Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 14:33:43criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 14:33:22Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 13:55:33noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 13:55:33ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 13:33:44Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:34criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 12:40:47Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 12:40:19noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 12:40:19ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 12:32:37noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/10/2020 12:32:12Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
gavjs
  • 9
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
614 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre - just signed up and seems slower than it should be

Connecting PC directly to router produced approx same download speed of 94.67 Mbps

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
609 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: M500 Fibre - just signed up and seems slower than it should be

Speed is indicative of either an iffy ethernet cable or the NIC is not set up properly.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
Anonymous
Not applicable
608 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre - just signed up and seems slower than it should be

Although the HUB stats on the face of it look 'ok' the number of errors in the network status is not a good sign.

The BQM will take some time to mature so we can see if there is an issue with your line.

Still odd that wired appears to be limited to 100Mbps!

0 Kudos
Reply
gavjs
  • 9
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
603 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre - just signed up and seems slower than it should be

I've had the box up and down quite a few times through the day as I tried to figure out IP ranges (now solved).

I also checked that my PC has a 1gbps LAN connection (which I believe it does - Intel I-219v).

One thing that struck me as slightly odd - our house had Virgin (or a predecessor) at some point in the past, but the cable has not been used in the 8 years since we moved in. The engineer was able to use that cable, which I was a little surprised by for such a supposedly fast connection.

Agree that it's odd on the wifi / wired connection - logic says there's an issue accounting for at least 100 Mbps somewhere in my wired setup. Although I'm still yet to see 50% of the full connection.

0 Kudos
Reply