Menu
Reply
jvxister
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
611 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

M500 Fibre Broadband only getting 50mbps

I have a new Virgin M500 connection and a new Hub 3; for the past 7 days my download speeds has been between 25 and 80mbps and upload up to 36mbps only. That is less than 20% of the service I am supposed to get.

My Sky, non-fibre connection is currently faster.

 

All the service checks indicate that there are no errors reported, and get a connection...the speed tests are just poor!

Is Virgin throttling my usage?

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 7.15K
  • 1.36K
  • 2.03K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
608 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre Broadband only getting 50mbps

Hello

Virginmedia do not throttle the connection have not done this for years.

How are you doing the speedtest is it either wired or wireless, wired is always the best option. If wired can you please do the following :-

Can you please post your network stats from the hub
Open a Web browser (e.g. Internet Explorer) and enter the address http://192.168.0.1
Note: If you have enabled Modem Mode on your Hub 3.0 you will need to use 192.168.100.1 instead.
Posting the stats by copy and paste will remove all personal information so no breaches.
Do not login but click on where it says "Check Router Stats" and then copy and post from the following 4 tabs, Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network logs (if they are pasted then all personal information is * out) and we can check your power level, also while you about that can you please go around and check that all connectors to VM equipment are hand tight. Also while doing this please check for any damage to cable, or un-terminated connection without either coax or a terminator.
Also please run "Check service status" at the top right of this forum and call 0800 561 0061 to check for local issues.
Also one think you can do is too signup at https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality and setup a broadband quality monitor which will keep an eye on you connection by sending a small amount of data to the hub asking if it still on.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
jvxister
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
592 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre Broadband only getting 50mbps

Thanks Mike.

I am sitting next to the router and only use wifi.

I get the following:

able Modem StatusItemStatusCommentsAcquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
187000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
53700000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jvxister
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
591 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre Broadband only getting 50mbps

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1187000000840256 qam7
21950000007.540256 qam8
3203000000740256 qam9
4211000000740256 qam10
52190000006.940256 qam11
62270000006.540256 qam12
72350000005.940256 qam13
82430000005.540256 qam14
92510000004.640256 qam15
102590000004.540256 qam16
112670000005.340256 qam17
122750000005.640256 qam18
13283000000640256 qam19
14291000000640256 qam20
152990000006.440256 qam21
16307000000640256 qam22
173150000005.940256 qam23
183230000005.840256 qam24
194430000003.540256 qam25
204510000003.540256 qam26
21459000000340256 qam27
224670000002.740256 qam28
234750000002.740256 qam29
244830000002.540256 qam30

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jvxister
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
590 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre Broadband only getting 50mbps

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3340
2Locked40.921214
3Locked40.3560
4Locked40.3280
5Locked40.9200
6Locked40.3300
7Locked40.3321
8Locked40.9380
9Locked40.3830
10Locked40.3370
11Locked40.3220
12Locked40.3260
13Locked40.9300
14Locked40.3250
15Locked40.9430
16Locked40.3350
17Locked40.3250
18Locked40.9260
19Locked40.3370
20Locked40.9540
21Locked40.3270
22Locked40.9230
23Locked40.9444
24Locked40.930

0

 

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jvxister
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
589 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre Broadband only getting 50mbps

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency, Power, Symbol Rate, Modulation Channel ID

1537000004.55512064 qam2
2603000004.6512064 qam1
3394000054.425512064 qam4
4461999524.5512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jvxister
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
586 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre Broadband only getting 50mbps

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID486490
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



 

0 Kudos
Reply
jvxister
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
585 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre Broadband only getting 50mbps

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID486489
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling Type

BestEffort

 

 

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jvxister
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
584 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre Broadband only getting 50mbps

Network Log

Time Priority Description

28/09/2020 11:49:47noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/09/2020 16:07:25ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/09/2020 04:27:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/09/2020 04:07:25ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/09/2020 08:55:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/09/2020 16:07:25ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/09/2020 03:07:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2020 03:37:25ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/09/2020 11:23:47criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2020 15:37:25ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2020 16:51:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2020 03:37:24ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2020 03:06:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2020 03:05:44criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2020 03:01:14Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2020 03:01:12Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2020 03:01:12criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2020 03:01:11Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2020 03:01:11criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 7.15K
  • 1.36K
  • 2.03K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
571 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Fibre Broadband only getting 50mbps

Hello

Virginmedia only guarantee the speed direct to the router, wireless can be affected by many things that can cause interference, even when close to the hub. There are  a huge amount of variables that can affect the wireless.

My system runs approx 50mbps on the 2.4Ghz frequency and tops out around 250mbs when using the 5ghz frequency.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks