Menu
Reply
nridgway
  • 35
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
1,140 Views
Message 1 of 31
Flag for a moderator

M500 Broadband Slow Speed

Hi,

We are getting speeds of about 200-250 - this can be resolved with a modem reset (its in Modem Mode) but after a few hours/days the speed drops again. Upload speed seems to be stable.

We upgraded from M250 to M500 but got better speeds on the old tariff.

Online service checks says that there isn't a problem. 

We use Unifi equipment with CAT7 Cables so I don't think our network os the problem and internal LAN speeds are normal at all times.

Any help or Suggestions.

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
Reply
nridgway
  • 35
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
1,043 Views
Message 2 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Broadband Slow Speed

Checked today still only getting speeds of 200Mbps

Wonder if someone can check my hub stats

Super Hub Logs are:

Item	Status	Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)	
203000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)	
32600000
Locked
Provisioning State	
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	SNR (dB)	Modulation	Channel ID
1	203000000	7.4	38	256 qam	9
2	211000000	7.4	38	256 qam	10
3	219000000	7.3	38	256 qam	11
4	227000000	7.4	38	256 qam	12
5	235000000	7	38	256 qam	13
6	243000000	7	38	256 qam	14
7	251000000	6.9	38	256 qam	15
8	259000000	6.5	38	256 qam	16
9	267000000	6.5	38	256 qam	17
10	275000000	6.5	38	256 qam	18
11	283000000	6	38	256 qam	19
12	291000000	6.3	38	256 qam	20
13	299000000	6.5	38	256 qam	21
14	307000000	6.4	38	256 qam	22
15	315000000	6	38	256 qam	23
16	323000000	6.1	38	256 qam	24
17	331000000	6	38	256 qam	25
18	371000000	6.1	38	256 qam	26
19	379000000	5.9	38	256 qam	27
20	387000000	5.4	40	256 qam	28
21	395000000	5.8	40	256 qam	29
22	403000000	5.5	40	256 qam	30
23	411000000	5.3	38	256 qam	31
24	419000000	5	40	256 qam	32


Downstream bonded channels
Channel	Locked Status	RxMER (dB)	Pre RS Errors	Post RS Errors
1	Locked	38.9	69	0
2	Locked	38.9	86	0
3	Locked	38.9	48	0
4	Locked	38.9	59	0
5	Locked	38.6	75	0
6	Locked	38.9	50	0
7	Locked	38.6	65	0
8	Locked	38.9	93	0
9	Locked	38.9	55	0
10	Locked	38.9	62	0
11	Locked	38.9	82	0
12	Locked	38.9	46	0
13	Locked	38.9	70	0
14	Locked	38.9	228	0
15	Locked	38.6	169	0
16	Locked	38.9	63	0
17	Locked	38.9	38	0
18	Locked	38.9	44	0
19	Locked	38.9	54	0
20	Locked	40.3	97	0
21	Locked	40.3	65	0
22	Locked	40.3	52	0
23	Locked	38.6	66	0
24	Locked	40.3	50	0

 

Upstream bonded channels
Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	Symbol Rate (ksps)	Modulation	Channel ID
1	32600000	36.8	5120	64 qam	5
2	53700000	38.3	5120	64 qam	2
3	39400000	37	5120	64 qam	4
4	46200000	37.5	5120	64 qam	3


Upstream bonded channels
Channel	Channel Type	T1 Timeouts	T2 Timeouts	T3 Timeouts	T4 Timeouts
1	ATDMA	0	0	1	0
2	ATDMA	0	0	0	0
3	ATDMA	0	0	0	0
4	ATDMA	0	0	1	0

 

Network Log
Time	Priority	Description
02/05/2021 10:48:56	notice	LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 10:35:10	critical	No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/04/2021 20:42:38	notice	LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/04/2021 20:42:5	Warning!	LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/04/2021 06:29:52	Error	DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2021 04:46:21	critical	No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/04/2021 04:27:0	Error	DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2021 05:49:9	critical	No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/04/2021 16:27:0	Error	DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/04/2021 11:27:58	critical	No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/04/2021 04:27:0	Error	DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/04/2021 00:03:40	critical	No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/04/2021 16:27:0	Error	DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/04/2021 08:20:38	critical	No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/04/2021 04:27:0	Error	DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/04/2021 17:16:15	critical	No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/04/2021 16:27:0	Error	DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/04/2021 22:16:13	critical	No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/04/2021 04:27:0	Error	DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/04/2021 20:32:21	critical	No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Ayisha_B
  • 2.77K
  • 96
  • 260
Forum Team
Forum Team
999 Views
Message 3 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Broadband Slow Speed

Hi @nridgway,

 

Welcome to our Community Forums and thanks for posting.

 

Sorry to hear you are having problems with slow broadband speeds.

 

Have you carried out a speed test on a wired connection?

 

I have taken a look at your account and there's no area outage that could be causing this. I can see you also rebooted your hub 23 hours ago. 

 

Are you able to take the hub out of Modem Mode so I can carry out further diagnostics?

 

Ayisha_B
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
nridgway
  • 35
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
984 Views
Message 4 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Broadband Slow Speed

Have you carried out a speed test on a wired connection?

Yes - I can also do a speed test directly from our router as we use Unifi equipment. After a modem reboot it goes to normal speed but then drops - currently getting 200Mbps

Are you able to take the hub out of Modem Mode so I can carry out further diagnostics?

I an only do this at an arranged time as we the network is setup to use it in modem mode so will need some changes.

Additional Info

When we had trouble before the engineer said that they had taken the cable from the wrong cabinet - about 300m away. He said it was strange as they is one about 50m away, which they said could be causing problems.

0 Kudos
Reply
Ayisha_B
  • 2.77K
  • 96
  • 260
Forum Team
Forum Team
980 Views
Message 5 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Broadband Slow Speed

Thanks for popping back @nridgway

 

Do let us know when you are able to put the hub in router mode and we can take it from there 🙂

Ayisha_B
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
nridgway
  • 35
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
741 Views
Message 6 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Broadband Slow Speed

Hi,

I've been through the process with an engineer of putting it into router mode, which did not solve the problem.

An engineer was book to come out but the speed recovered the day before so this was cancelled. but as you can see from the attached photo - from the 9/7 the speed has dropped again to around 95mb (we are on M500).

If this is not fixed I'm going to cancel my contract.

As you can see from the graphs - the drop happened on the 5/7 (no hardware of setup was changed at this point)

BTW your online chat is no use, theres a 45 minute queue and when you get through they just tell you to do a reset.

last 10 days

speed.png

Last 45 days

Long termLong term

0 Kudos
Reply
risc19
  • 849
  • 27
  • 253
Well-informed
736 Views
Message 7 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Broadband Slow Speed

Well, for what its worth the power levels and SNR are all within spec at least at the time you took them.

Your network logs on the other hand dont look so clever.

Lots of T3 timeouts suggest some sort of upstream issue, or at the least at certain times of the day.

I take it you turned it off and on again recently, at that would reset the count.

The only things you can do as a customer is a factory reset via the pinhole at the back, and check the coax cable is in good and tight.

Short of that I'm afraid you are in virgins hands.

Unless anyone else here has a better idea?

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Lagfest Modem Mode
0 Kudos
Reply
Corey_C
  • 5.19K
  • 257
  • 446
Moderator
Moderator
724 Views
Message 8 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Broadband Slow Speed

Thanks for your post and welcome to the Community Forums, nridgway,

 

Sorry to hear that you have been having on-going issues with your broadband connection. I have sent you a private message to confirm your account details.

 

Cheers,

Corey C

0 Kudos
Reply
Corey_C
  • 5.19K
  • 257
  • 446
Moderator
Moderator
703 Views
Message 9 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Broadband Slow Speed

Thanks for your message and clearing data protection, nridgway,


I've run some remote diagnostics on your connections, and it does indicate that you are currently being affected by a local area fault for SNR issues ref#F009164076 and we are working to get this sorted as quickly as possible. The current ETA fix time is 23 JUL 2021 09:00. Apologies again for the inconvenience.


Cheers,
Corey C

0 Kudos
Reply
nridgway
  • 35
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
693 Views
Message 10 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: M500 Broadband Slow Speed

So will the Uplink problems be fixed as mentioned above?

How come this has not been found before? We had 3 conversations with your so called technical department who has not seen the fault?

So now we are paying full price for a service that is working at one fifth of what we are contracted to for about 3 weeks? And you have said you will not reduce our bill for the days we are not getting the advertise speed because we are getting some service. 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply