Menu
Reply
jneff
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
535 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

M350 Broadband download speeds of <100Mbps

Hello,

I have been trying to troubleshoot my drop in speeds to no avail. I've been on M350 for a while now but last week my broadband felt noticeable slower so I checked my speedtest.net results and they have started dropping to <100Mbps (see attached results). I'm on wired Ethernet in my home and I use a Netgear switch in between the Hub 3.0 and my endpoints. The switch is showing the ports are connected at 1Gbps internally, as do my computers, so there isn't an issue there.

Am I to expect a reduction in speeds given the current pandemic and increased working from home? Or is this a problem that should be fixed? The speeds are less than what Virgin guarantees.

testresults.png

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
530 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350 Broadband download speeds of <100Mbps

Could you access your router using http://192.168.0.1/ or http://192.168.100.1 for modem mode . Don't log in, select the 'Check Router Status' option and paste your 'Downstream', 'Upstream', and 'Network Log' tabs?

At least we can check the stats to rule out an issue with the line.

0 Kudos
Reply
NilZad
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Settling in
504 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350 Broadband download speeds of <100Mbps

Also having a similar Issue, checking speed test consistent sub 100Mbps.  Also on M350.  Checking arose as BT full fibre is about to land in my post code so was looking into the speeds and costs relative to Virgin.  Was shocked to see the sub par, sub average facility based on what I should be getting.  Will monitor over the next few to see If there is a change, but this is poor given the cost and what should be delivered.  If this does not resolve I guess I know what to do request a refund back to the lower M100 tier as that is all I am getting at the moment.  Get the speed back to where it should be if Virgin are able or look very closely at BT full fibre 900 for an extra 6 quid a month.  Virgin needs to get its act together or the migration will be real

0 Kudos
Reply
jneff
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
502 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350 Broadband download speeds of <100Mbps

Thanks for the quick response - here you go.

Screenshot 2020-08-04 at 21.14.58.png

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
498 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350 Broadband download speeds of <100Mbps


@NilZad wrote:

 


If you want assistance please start your own thred.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
jneff
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
496 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350 Broadband download speeds of <100Mbps

Screenshot 2020-08-04 at 21.18.04.pngScreenshot 2020-08-04 at 21.18.14.pngScreenshot 2020-08-04 at 21.18.24.png

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
478 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350 Broadband download speeds of <100Mbps

I can't see all of the data, however there is something 'odd' with one of your upstream channels.

The 'Symbol Rate' is off (2560) and the power level is very low (32dBmV, rather than 3.2 as the HUB reports a decimal off!).

Without seeing the rest of the data I can only assume that this upstream channel is causing issues.

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
472 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350 Broadband download speeds of <100Mbps

also worth checking the network cable has not failed and everything is still reporting 1000 connection. i drop like that doesn't seem like 1 upstream channel but more a drop in the network to 100mbps
0 Kudos
Reply
jneff
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
457 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350 Broadband download speeds of <100Mbps

Thanks both for these replies. Please see attached Downstream and Upstream images, I think these should contain everything. And here is the full Network Log with the two MAC addresses redacted.

Network Log

Time

Priority

Description

04/08/2020 15:34:32

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 21:08:33

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 19:38:22

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 19:38:22

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 19:38:22

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 19:38:22

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 19:38:22

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 18:43:29

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 18:43:29

critical

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 18:43:28

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 18:43:28

critical

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 18:43:27

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 18:43:27

critical

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 18:43:26

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 18:43:26

critical

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 18:43:25

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 18:43:25

critical

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 18:43:24

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 18:43:24

critical

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

02/08/2020 18:43:23

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=mac1_redacted;CMTS-MAC=mac2_redacted;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

DownstreamDownstreamUpstreamUpstream

When you say check the network cable, do you mean the Virgin coaxial cable that connects into the back of the router itself?

0 Kudos
Reply